We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does exactly what it says on the tin!”
Review of Hostel Souika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Souika
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Does exactly what it says on the tin!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Firstly if your wanting luxury then please book somewhere else where you pay for it! Having said that, it's very good value. Free Wi-fi, always someone around, well located. Bathrooms are smelly and it takes a while to get hot water downstairs. It is a bit noisy- it's a riad with beautiful tiles- so it echoes right? Some people hang about outside from time to time- just ignore then, Chefchouan is far safer then anywhere else in Morocco.
Breakfast is disappointing and you'd be better off walking to the square itself as it's only 2 minutes. We also bid them down on price from their advertised and if you are very strapped ask to sleep on the roof in the tents. Service was excellent and they even organised our ongoing taxi to Tangier for a fraction of the price.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room without a window as it will be damp- especially in Winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apjozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    32
    22
    7
    11
See reviews for
3
28
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Coming towards the end of our Moroccan travels, we were frugal in Chefchaoen and happy with our return. This hostel is modestly priced and frankly fulfilled our expectations pretty much bang on. With the central location you sacrifice tranquility and consequently found the nighttime noise a bit of an annoyance - to be expected though. The hostel is well-kitted out with a cafe, sofas, a number of showers (although one was ghastly - avoid it (first floor!)). Good provision of PCs, a couple for guests usage - a great help. The hosts allowed us to leave our bags in reception while we were out trekking and to use the showers after we had checked out, which was good of them. However they did write us up a questionable bill and harried us out on our return...

...Aside from all the normalities, there's one guy who is sending this review to the 'very' end of the good scale - Mustapha! The resident Chef / Sherpa / Charmer was the highlight of our trip to Chefchaoen. We were that it was best to leave in the early morning for a mountain trek, and that we would be accompanied by a guide to show us around. Mustapha is a gem of a bloke, having resided in the mountains for his whole life and consequently able to give a frank, interesting and innocent account of his life and the history of Chefchaoen and the mountain villagers. Fearless on our climb, he was a welcome accomplice and calming influence in the midday heat.

I would recommend this hostel, and more specifically a guided mountain trek with Mustapha the hostel's chef, a great character!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt_cooper_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

This place is situated very close to the main square at Chefchouen and at 150 dirahm per night for a cave like double room gives good value for money for the location. shoestring travellers are also able to sleep on the terrace in a Burber tent for less than that. it's a friendly place with lots of young travellers of the kif puffing variety loitering in the communal areas so good for meeting new people. The only real drawback are the shared showers which are like luke warm drool and the toilets which are disgusting and can make the place pong a bit. However the rooms and bed sheets were clean and the staff will help out with arranging basic essentials, like getting your clothes washed in a local river or arranging a grand taxi to Tangiers when you're finally ready to leave "Chouen"

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camberwellian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I foolishly reserved a room for three nights on the basis of good reviews, but left after the first night. The place was freezing, and extremely noisy. The shared bathroom was swimming in cold water I hope was from the shower, but smelt like it was from the toilet.

I checked out the next morning, but was treated very rudely by the guy at check in who demanded I pay for three nights.

The hostel is also a magnet for hash touts, who can be annoying at best, and threatening at worst. If you want to meet other people who are here for a smoking holiday then I guess this place is okay. You'd need to be stoned to ignore the lack of basic cleanliness.

I'm sorry to all this who are raving about it here, but I thought it was abysmal. Spend a night, by all means, but please DO NOT book in advance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank calumpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chefchaouen hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

It is a wonderful place for back-packers. Quite clean, with nice staff and a good breakfast. Excelent to know people from other countries.

The shared bathrooms are not that clean, as everyone use them at the same time and don't expect any privacy there. But besides that, it is really nice and I would definitly go back.

BTW, the city is AMAZING!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreiaAguiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Wonderful place where you can meet amazing people from around the world. It is cheap, perfect for backpackers and you also have a choice - to sleep in a clean and comfortable room with fan or to pay even less and sleep on the terrace under the stars. The pension has a good location, easy to find in the medina, just a few steps away from the main square. It has shared but clean facilities and the only low point is that sometimes there is no hot water. The staff is exeptionaly friendly and helpful and the atmosphere as a whole is amazing! There is no wi fi, but there are several computers with internet connection for the guests. We stayed there three times already and we will definately go back soon.

Room Tip: take a room with a window facing the outside courtyard or street as some of the others have no windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pangaea2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Perhaps my favourite town and hostel in the world.Cheap rates and friendly staff with clean shared facilities, and a fab roof terrace,with views to die for. As a meeting place it is the best, met so many fellow travelers from all over the globe and made many new friends.Also, as it gets cold at night in the Rif mountains the manager kindly supplied me with a heater for my room, which made my stay much more comfortable. I shall be back in Chefchaouen in 2012 and will be staying at the Souika as it is a marvelous place! I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are quieter than the ground floor,stay on the roof if you like camping,it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveWisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 23 in Chefchaouen
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 23 in Chefchaouen
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aline Hostel
Aline Hostel
#6 of 32 in Chefchaouen
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mauritania
Hotel Mauritania
#35 of 59 in Chefchaouen
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Scotlandee
Dar Scotlandee
#23 of 59 in Chefchaouen
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Souika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Souika

Property: Hostel Souika
Address: Rue Souika, Deb Hadi Alami, Chefchaouen, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Souika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing