We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious & Lovely”
Review of Dar Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Gabriel
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Dar Gabriel is a wonderful respite from the busy medina. We stayed in a room just off the terrace that was clean and quite comfortable. Each morning we awoke to fresh-squeezed orange juice, bread, jam, cheese and coffee. It was an absolute joy to stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janileigh651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 237 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great little hotel in the Chefchaouen medina. The terrace has a really amazing view of the medina and the mountains. Our room was on the roof level, so we just opened our door and stepped out to the view of the blue medina with the mountains rising behind it - what a way to wake up. The breakfast is served in a cozy room downstairs and during our trip the other travelers were really friendly as well. The staff are very nice and helpful, although remember that you need to have your passport with you if you're American because you have to provide identification at hotels according to Moroccan hotel laws. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evvyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Dar Gabriel is a very friendly and relaxing place to stay. The dar is owned by a family, who live there themselves. The lady of the house makes you some nice breakfast every morning, you can see her baking pancakes in the kitchen. You don't get a key to the dar, you can enter and leave as you please; just knock on the door when you wish to enter. One night, me and my partner arrived at the dar pretty late after a night out; when we knocked on the door the lady of the house came out of bed just to let us in, with a big smile on her face wearing pink pj's.

The dar is located in the stunningly blue center of Chefchaouen.

Room Tip: Try to book the only room with a balcony, same price but a nice place to sit in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThelmaDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

The house is lovely and cozy, our room (on the terrace, nice view!) was spacious and had a huge bed, the location is strategic to walk the medina, the breakfast was just great and the staff is really kind, friendly and helpful.
However, our stay was a little unpleaseant due to the bad weather. We were there for two nights on a cold rainy winter and everything was freezing and wet. The heat was poor, so we asked for an extra radiator. The hostess, Ben, was so friendly and well intended that he gave us one and even offered us to change the room. Anyway, with that extra heat after a few hours the place was warm.
Regarding the shower, two small details: no shampoo and the way the hand shower holder is installed is unconfortable.
According to our experience it seems a bit overpriced, but we're sure that the friendly family atmosphere and all the positive aspects make it a great choice for summer, spring or fall.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay at Dar Gabriel last week! Pen took our booking over email, and provided us with clear instructions on how to find the riad. Ben and his family made us feel most welcome, and we had a very comfortable twin room by the terrace with fantastic views across the peaceful blue town. Breakfast was served in the cosy and stylishly decorated sitting area downstairs (as it can be quite chilly in the morning/evening in Chefchaouen at this time of the year - our room had a heater and plenty of blankets though - and the terrace was lovely and sunny warm during the day), with a delicious selection of Moroccan pancakes, French baguettes, honey, jam, cream cheese, tea, coffee, and of course fresh orange juice. Ben was very helpful when it came to providing us with local advice, orientating us with a map of the medina, and suggesting a nice restaurant where we enjoyed a great lunch. All in all we had a very relaxing stay, felt totally at home at Dar Gabriel, and would love to go back some day! Highly recommended, and good value too.

Room Tip: We stayed in the twin room by the terrace and it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ampelasoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Dar Gabriel is a delight . From the moment you arrive through the door off the hustle and bustle of the Chefchaouen streets you enter an atmosphere of calm and relaxation . A beautifully restored traditional Riad, the bedrooms are stylish and comfortable whilst the living and dining areas offer many different places to relax and chill after a day roaming the street markets that fill the magical streets of the town. It really is a little oasis of calm . Located in the heart of the town activity but near the edge it is easy to take a stroll beyond the town walls in to the surrounding country side . The Hotel is run by a lovely Moroccan couple who offer a wonderful hospitality and sumptuous traditional cuisine. We particularly enjoyed hanging out on the living areas of the roof terrace where we read and relaxed amongst the rooftop views . If you are looking for a stylish comfortable Hotel located in the heart of the town - look no further. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms leading off to the roof terrace are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bruce008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I absolutely loved our stay at Dar Gabriel , we were made to feel so welcome and were looked after so well by Ben and his family. The food was delicious , some of the best we had in Morocco . Our room was on the top terrace which has amazing views and a wonderfully peaceful atmosphere . It was the best part of our whole trip . I would highly recommend a visit to Chefchaouen if only to stay at this lovely hotel .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank verneylucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
31.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 24 in Chefchaouen
169 reviews
31.8 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#3 of 24 in Chefchaouen
530 reviews
31.9 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#1 of 24 in Chefchaouen
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#15 of 24 in Chefchaouen
127 reviews
31.7 mi away
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
#5 of 24 in Chefchaouen
199 reviews
31.8 mi away
Dar Meziana
Dar Meziana
#9 of 24 in Chefchaouen
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Gabriel

Address: Bab souk | Derb El kadi Benq Maimoum souk bad souk gate number 6, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Price Range: $69 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Gabriel is a beautifully restored boutique riad hotel in Chefchaouen, northern Morocco, with seven bedrooms all en-suite. Downstairs is a sitting room heated by a wood burning stove, a restaurant kitchen, and intimate dining room. There are four bedrooms on the middle floor, roof terraces, three more bedrooms with kitchen and chill out space at roof level. Great views across medina and the river valley, with the Rif mountains behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing