We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy room, delicious food and special language classes”
Review of Dar Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Gabriel
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Beautifully decorated Riad with an exceptionally friendly and humourous host. We spent our very first two nights in Morocco there and it hardly gets better than this. The room was on the smaller side but comfortable. We stayed in one of the roof terrace rooms, from where you can enjoy spectacular views across the beautiful city and the surrounding mountains. The food was another highlight and Ben provided great entertainment and helped us learn Moroccan Arabic bzien bzef - makayin mooshkin!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dirk G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 237 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2012

My partner and I sayed at Dar Gabriel for our honeymoon last year. The hotel manager Ben and his family made us feel instantly relaxed and at home. The hotel was decorated in a beautiful Moroccan boutique design and the food was the best we had in the country. The hotel is perfectly located to access the rest of the city and the roof terrace means you get the views and a cool spot to watch sunrise or sunset. I would whole heatedly recommend Dar Gabriel as it made our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aetam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I love Chefchaouen, so my review may be a little biased!! Seriosuly though, this was a wonderful little spot for the price we paid and the service we got for our 3 night stay over New Year weekend. We had a little trouble finding the spot, but that was only because we were in a hired car, and road signage is non-existent in Morocco, but, with a few questions to a local, we were planted on the doorstep, and is actually as per directions on website. Lovely little nooks and crannies to put feet up and read a book, or get warm by fire. Terrace also has various different spots to hand out and enjoy the view. All beautifully and rustically decorated, making this spot quaint, enjoyable, comfy, and close to everything.

Breakfast was very good (and seems to have improved since earlier reviews) as we got fresh squeezed orange juice, and a banana with loads of bread, crepes jams and butter, and a huge pot of coffee and hot milk (very nice touch).

Ben was a super host, and even though english is not strong, we still got to have a laugh and communicate what we needed. Nothing was too much, and we even made arrangements for laundry to be done. I got so cold one night sitting for dinner (they do need to make additional arrangements for other heaters, if you are not the first to the fireplace!) that Ben slipped me into a djelleba to keep extra cosy, and was so appreciated ( used it the whole time we stayed there!)

Dinner was superb - my best salads the whole trip around Morocco. We were stuffed after each meal. Remember to tell them in the morning if you will be in for dinner as a matter of courtesy,a s the ladies work really hard.

Dont forget to hand in your key if you want your room serviced. We stayed in the Hboba room on the terrace. It was cosy. The shower/basin/toilet are all combined in one, which we did not mind, for the price we were paying. Was great to have peace and quiet, and step out into winter sun when we wanted to, and see the lovely views over Chef. Hot water. Cupboard and shelf space. Extra blankets if you need, but room was warm.

There is a small safe to lock away passports if you really feel the need to.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms will be good in winter, may be too hot in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wolery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Situated high up in the medina, Dar Gabriel commands a magnificent view over Chefchaouen and the Rif mountains beyond. The sprawling rooftop has been designed with both communality and privacy in mind; one can hide away and relax in the sun even when the place is teeming. The rooms are clean and spacious. Hot water abounds. Ben, the manager, is a flawless and friendly host. His wife is an exquisite chef. My one qualm is that the hotel doesn't have internet, which some may see as an opportunity to escape the usual hurly-burly. All round, this is a blissful hideaway in a beautiful town.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Lovey little hotel, with hints of a riad about it. Nicely restored. The rooms up on the terrace would be very hot and do not have a decent bathroom. We asked to move to another room & this was accomodated to our relief. The owners are not Moroccan & live abroad. Finding it initially was a challenge. For a short stay it is absolutely lovely. Mountains at the back & a view of Chefchauen from the terrace. Inside the medina & close to the Kasbah. Well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Check on line the pictures. It snows here in their winter, & would be very hot in summer. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed three nights at Dar Gabriel and very much enjoyed it. The rooms were clean and comfortable - you have to hand in your key if you want your room cleaned. Given the state of the teen-agers' room, it was probably just as well that it was not automatically cleaned every day! The house manager and other staff do not speak fluent english, however they spoke enough to communicate all that we needed to know, particuarly as they were also able to speak french. They organised us a taxi to move on to our next destination.

The evening meals were excellent - in particular the soup, which counts as among some of the best soup I have eaten in a long time.

Chaouen itself was very enjoyable, it seemed very peaceful and non-hassling after the chaos of Fes. A real highlight was a stroll into the hills when we saw a flock of 10 golden eagles.

We had rooms on the terrace, which was great because we could just step outside to enjoy the sunshine or the stars (and the rain as well!); however I suspect that these rooms might get quite hot in summer.

I would definately recommend Dar Gabriel to other visitors.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed at Dar Gabriel for 2 nights. The house is nicely restored, the room is nice and the rooftop terrace is beautiful. The owner was not there and only the staff is there but he does not speak English well and it is a bit of a challenge. The location is great and you can easily locate it.
However, there are a few things that we are not happy about :
1. The room is not cleaned on a daily basis
2. The breakfast is poor. We only have some bread/crepe, jam, butter and coffee/tea, very basic.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeeLSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
31.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#6 of 24 in Chefchaouen
172 reviews
31.8 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 24 in Chefchaouen
541 reviews
31.9 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#3 of 24 in Chefchaouen
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 24 in Chefchaouen
130 reviews
32 mi away
Dar Yakout
Dar Yakout
#16 of 24 in Chefchaouen
22 reviews
31.8 mi away
Dar Echchaouen
Dar Echchaouen
#4 of 24 in Chefchaouen
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Gabriel

Address: Bab souk | Derb El kadi Benq Maimoum souk bad souk gate number 6, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Price Range: $70 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Gabriel is a beautifully restored boutique riad hotel in Chefchaouen, northern Morocco, with seven bedrooms all en-suite. Downstairs is a sitting room heated by a wood burning stove, a restaurant kitchen, and intimate dining room. There are four bedrooms on the middle floor, roof terraces, three more bedrooms with kitchen and chill out space at roof level. Great views across medina and the river valley, with the Rif mountains behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dar Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing