We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very clean and no climatization on winter” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Madrid
Ranked #22 of 55 Chefchaouen B&B and Inns
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
128 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Not very clean and no climatization on winter”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

I was there december 2011 with my 80 years old mother. It was a mistake. The place is a little far from the mais square, not very clean, therrible bathrooms and is not climatized.

I would say there is a hotel at the main square called Parador ( if I am not mistaken) that would have been much better although I heard there is no good place to stay in Chaouen.

Still, if you are young and want a -more or less- proper place and cheap... go for it. They serve breakfast and there is wi fi for free.

Room Tip: At the first floor you may get free wi fi at your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    43
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
6
28
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

I stayed here my first night in Chefchaouen. The room I was in was a little too pink for my taste. The staff was not very helpful. The breakfast was not bad. I found another place to stay for my second night. Don't get me wrong. Hotel Madrid is not a bad place to stay but there are better options in Chef. If you are in a pinch it will do.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtbank75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

It's my second time there. the location is nice, just 5 or 10 minutes walking from the main square. You do have to climb some stairs to go to your room but apart from that it's all good. Will probably stay there next time. Only downside is that it does not have wifi.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noyoudont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

This is a very beautiful hotel. The location is good, and the staff were very nice and helpful. I wasn't sure about the bus timetable and the staff just gave me all the info I needed. I tipped him but he didn't take it and said he just wanted to help. This was very impressive, especially when you are in a country that everyone try to make money from tourists. And it has wifi!! I was in love with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitkitchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

We choose this hotel because of the positive review on the Petit Futé guide. This hotel is clean and quite comfortable, that is exactly what you expect from a budget hotel in Morocco. The hotel has a beautiful Moroccan dining hall, with wooden, painted ceiling and comfortable sofas. The rooms are furnished with canopy beds and they are not featureless. The staff was very welcoming and friendly and this made our staying very well. I forgot my wallet in the living room and a member of the staff collected it. He didn't accept a tip saying that the hotel was my house. Not necessary to say more!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moussafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

My mom, brother, and I stayed in this hotel because of the nice review it was given in Fodor's; however, it was the worst hotel we had stayed in during our entire trip. The triple room was incredibly small with canopy beds which made it feel even smaller. It is quite rainy and cold in Chefchaouen during the winter, but the heater failed to emit even the slightest amount of heat and our room felt damp. Sleeping there and getting ready in the morning was very uncomfortable. The bathroom was horrendous because of the shower being small, only having a handheld showerhead, and not even having a shower curtain; therefore, I didn't take a shower during the two nights we were there.

Besides the room being horrible, the staff was incredibly rude. After coming downstairs to try the breakfast, which was NOT included, I didn't consume anything because the coffee and water for tea were both lukewarm and the food look less than appetising. Later on, one of the staff members said that I ate the breakfast and then demonstrated for me that the beverages were actually hot and couldn't understand why I didn't ask for a hoter beverage. This was the RUDEST a hotel staff member has ever been to my family in any of the places I've stayed across the world.

I will say that the location of the hotel was ok, but It was a quite an uphill walk to the main square and medina area. In all honesty, Chefchaouen was the my least favorite place in all of Morocco and I visited six other cities. Fez, Meknes, and Marrakech were much, much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RenoJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chefchaouen hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Provo, Utah
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

We were so excited to stumble upon such a great hotel so close to the old part of Chefchaouen! The price was right for travelers not wanting to pay the big bucks, but the quality was excellent! En suite bathrooms and FABULOUS breakfast, including fresh squeazed orange juice. The decor on the main floor is wonderful, the decor in the rooms was a little goofy but the beds were nice and the rooms were clean. When I go back to Chefchaouen I am staying at Hotel Madrid without question!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstenmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chefchaouen
0.0 mi away
Ksar Tinsouline
Ksar Tinsouline
#7 of 11 in Zagora
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parador
Hotel Parador
#15 of 24 in Chefchaouen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dar Zman
Dar Zman
#17 of 55 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Joya
Hostal La Joya
#23 of 31 in Chefchaouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Khaldi
Hotel Casa Khaldi
#12 of 31 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madrid

Property: Hotel Madrid
Address: Ave Hassa II, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madrid 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing