We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rich delight”

Restaurant Tissemlal o Casa Hassan
Ranked #7 of 37 Restaurants in Chefchaouen
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rich delight”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Before leaving on our trip we were recommended this restaurant and upon arrival our hotel also recommended Tissemlal, also referred to as Casa Hassan. The interior was dramatic with a large fireplace and the feeling of a candlelit dinner. The tagine with sweet fruit, which is traditionally a dish served at weddings, was rich, sweet, and unctuous. It was almost impossible to take a bite without closing my eyes. The staff were very friendly, helpful, and efficient. They took our photos with a smile, and gave us a very pleasant experience. This was a meal I will always remember well.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CnJMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    157
    61
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Casa Hassan”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Very good food! Located in the Medina of Chefchaouen. Good service. Nice ambiance.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Miyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We were utterly underwhelmed by Casa Hassan. Fod unremarkable.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank gelpke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fremantle Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Possibly the best food in Chefchaouen....The 80d set menu is excellent value......cosy atmosphere on cold days

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank laflafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangier, Morocco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cannot fault it”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Excellent value at 80 dh for 3 courses. Authentic Moroccan food served in a small riad-type restaurant, just behind the large mosque in Chefchaouen. The starters and desserts are simple but excellent. A special mention for the excellent local goat's cheese, which you can have as a starter with salad. There was a good choice of main dishes. I just had to have the 'Meatballs with Egg in Tomato sauce' which I had seen on TV when Rick Stein filmed a segment of one of his TV shows here in this very restaurant. I was not disappointed. My husband had a tagine with lamb and prunes, and our friend had the tagine of chicken with olives and lemon. Highly recommend this place both for excellent food and value for money.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zohor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Tissemlal o Casa Hassan also viewed

Chefchaouen, Tangier-Tetouan Region
Chefchaouen, Tangier-Tetouan Region
 
Chefchaouen, Tangier-Tetouan Region
Chefchaouen, Tangier-Tetouan Region
 
Chefchaouen, Tangier-Tetouan Region
Chefchaouen, Tangier-Tetouan Region
 

Been to Restaurant Tissemlal o Casa Hassan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing