We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slap Dash and poor in all respects including dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Atlas Chefchaouen
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Luckily our group from Estepona only had to stay one night in this awful hotel. It is badly run down and neglected. Its only redeeming point are the views. However it is too far from the village centre and we had to have a taxi. The dinner was diabolical. One piece of dried up chicken. And NO white wine in the hotel. This Hotel should be closed until they have totally refurbished it and trained staff to CLEAN properly. The thumping of a disco nearby did not help matters. Travellers BE WARNED.

Room Tip: dont stay in this hotel
Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank 994susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Atlas Chefchaouen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 161 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

The site on the heights above the city would be something really superb if the Spanish had it to position a Parador. Sadly, Morocco doesn't have them (don't confuse the Hotel "Parador" in this town). The Atlas looks as though no-one has lifted a paint-brush, mop or screwdriver for many years. The corridor leading to our second-floor room was largely unlit, and had wall covering of a rafia/straw material which obviously posed overwhelming problems of cleaning.Our room did not have any of the hidden "horrors" some of the other guests found. It was however very spartan, with 3 coat hangers, a chair which looked as if it was made from wooden palettes, a non-flat screen TV which had only arabic channels, and two acceptable beds. The bathroom was slightly better, with a single basin and a basic shower, but plenty of hot water. There was no fire alarm or evacuation plan. The very small lifts (elevators) gave up the struggle on day 2.
As wine, the bar had only red. It had no ice.
I appreciate that we were in a small town in a poor country, but this was not a problem on lack of resources, merely a lack of supervision, management, effort and interest.
Maybe it is better to visit the town and then withdraw to a different place for hotels.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you want mould in your rooms, faeces on your towel, blood and stains on the sheets, ingrained dirt on the bedroom and bathroom floors, then this is the place for you. I kid you not, this was after we had an upgrade having seen the first room had beds which had recently been slept in. Even watching the chamber maid change the bed with sheets from the trolley you were left with the impression they may have been swapped from another room and had not seen an iron since the time of manufacture.The only good point was the geography, very scenic countryside.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

After being reassured by my travel agency over and over again, I arrived at this hotel with a group of 48 people. Within ten minutes of our check-in, one of the woman came screaming into the reception area waving a towel which had been used to clean someone's bum and was covered with excrement. This was hanging in her bathroom. She was followed by a series of persons who found hairs in their beds, dead cockroaches in their bathrooms, bathroom floors covered in black that smelled of urine, furniture that had never been dusted in ages. The man in reception kept sending the two cleaning women back to resolved the problems but if you do not use cleaning products, a little water will not do anything. The manager was no where to be found and even when phoned, never came to speak with us.

The hotel is in a beautiful location but is a pigsty. I realize that there are cultural differences in what is considered clean but this was above and beyond a question of cleanliness - it was a question of hygiene and insuring that a client of the hotel does not get some horrible bacteria or disease from unclean beds and bathrooms.

Do not frequent this hotel.

Room Tip: There is no good room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo-Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

This is an awful hotel
Freezing cold, damp and filthy
Our room had rags for towels that were wet
The breakfast was minimal and ill considered
A terrible place that has only location to recommend it
Stay in the little city in one of the tiny places

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Camprico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Although most reviews are not flattering we enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Because of the low season the wellness was closed. Very poor menu but very helpful and friendly personel. Safe place for our car.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HenkenCobiDiepeveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

All that this hotel positively - this view of the city. And this view is very beautiful! Everything else is just terrible: dirty room, old and sagging mattress, shabby cushions. And forget about the Internet, it is missing. We had to leave at 8 am, at 7:30 we went to have breakfast. And, of course, breakfast, have not begun to serve. We were fed only after a small scandal. Terrible service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndreiKoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Parador
Hotel Parador
#17 of 23 in Chefchaouen
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 23 in Chefchaouen
118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dar Echchaouen
Dar Echchaouen
#4 of 23 in Chefchaouen
609 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dar Yakout
Dar Yakout
#19 of 23 in Chefchaouen
11 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 23 in Chefchaouen
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlas Chefchaouen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlas Chefchaouen

Address: Rue Sidi Abdelhamid BP 13, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Price Range: $65 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atlas Chefchaouen 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled atop a hill, Chefchaouen, Chefchaouen Atlas offers rooms with balconies and views of the medina or the mountains and an outdoor pool. The rooms have air conditioning and satellite TV. Guests can enjoy local and international specialties at the restaurant of Atlas Chefchaouen and relax with a drink at the bar. On site you will also find a large garden, a paddling pool and a reception 24h/24. The hotel also organizes guided tours of the city on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Atlas Chefchaouen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing