We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Casa Perleta

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chefchaouen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Perleta
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Chefchaouen looks like a fairytale village. But I doubt I would have seen the most beautiful things about it if it were not for Bergonia and her hand-drawn maps. Bergonia is the heart of this place. She is at once a tour guide, protector and hostess. She gives impartial advice, informed by her years spent in the beautiful town. She never sends you in the direction of tourist-only restaurants or rug dungeons. She gave us recommendations that were genuine, and greatly appreciated. She even drew maps with recommendations in her home town of Barcelona for our onward journey!

The Casa itself is lovely. Warm, simple, sweet. It looked well-looked after. Sitting on the rooftop at sunset with a pot of tea was delightful - even if the (freeeee) WIFI signal does get a bit weak up there.

The rooms were clean. I would have loved a bathtub and a fireplace. There was no safe, which I felt a little nervous about. That said, the water pressure in the shower was impressive, and the heating was more than sufficient. And nothing went missing, so I guess the place is pretty safe.

If I had one complaint it would be Bergonia's much-loved dog, who is a little aggressive at times. It made me a bit nervous when passing through reception. But don't let that put you off. Casa Perleta is a gem.

Room Tip: Top floor room is linked to the rooftop - beautiful place to relax. It's also a little bigger th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    117
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
87
274
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

After four days in Fez our stay in Chefchaouen was a welcome retreat from the Medina madness of Fez. It's an easy four hour drive from Fez and you are immediately aware of the laid back atmosphere of the town. On arrival at the centrally located Casa Perleta we received a warm Moroccan welcome from Ismail who was welcoming without being invasive and Begona who supplied the in house entertainment with her wonderful charm and humour. Due to our late booking we experienced two rooms both equally comfortable, best sleep on the whole trip but if you can be on the street side of the riad away from the mosque it will ensure you are less aware of the call for morning prayer. Breakfast on the roof was memorable particularly as I write this review in a dark and dreary England. We also had the pleasure of meeting the resident artist, Dave Arbus, who I used to watch in his previous life as a musician with East of Eden, a welcome bonus to what was a memorable stay, thanks!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank review35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I made the trip up to Chefchaouen and I was glad when we arrived that we booked here. It is a very charming riad. It's clean, felt safe and the staff was very helpful. Having breakfast up on the terrace was awesome and in the morning we got to meet the owner who mapped out a really nice walking tour around the city and through the kasbah. Very glad we booked here and made the trip up. After an exhausting 4-5 hr journey, nothing is better than relaxing in a comfortable room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed in two different rooms. Both were charming, one being simpler, and cheaper, than the other. Rooms and bathrooms were clean. Staff were helpful. The location was good being within easy access of one of the medina gates. Breakfasts were uninspiring. Fresh bread would have been very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

not just clean, but the room also beautiful with moroccan style, mostly in the bathroom. The staff very helpful, you just tell what you need or what do you want to see or even what kind of food would you like to eat. Breakfast on the roof terrace very fresh but if it too cold, you could have breakfast inside on the ground floor. I tried both place :) . ..After spent day in medina, and came back to casa perleta, relaxed and had a tea, and i felt like in home.

Room Tip: If you come for honeymoon, book a room on the top floor. Big room, and big bathroom, and view from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iriana_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limpsfield
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This was the cheapest of our accommodation during our visit to Morocco, and therefore suffered in comparison. The rooms are small and basic, but the air con works well as does the wifi.

The downside is that the terrace is far to small for breakfast. Get there early to have a table. Also we asked for eggs one morning but were told that there were none due to the holiday. Ever thought of buying extra the day before?

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank limpsfieldloafers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and very attentive. There was a group at the hotel that was pretty loud and they spoke to them immediately. The medina can get pretty crowded and the hotel is like taking a deep breath. Relaxing with a great room and attached bath. Also our breakfast was very tasty!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelanseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 23 in Chefchaouen
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#3 of 23 in Chefchaouen
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dar Echchaouen
Dar Echchaouen
#4 of 23 in Chefchaouen
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 23 in Chefchaouen
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Meziana
Dar Meziana
#11 of 23 in Chefchaouen
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Perleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Perleta

Property: Casa Perleta
Address: 68 Avda. Hassan I | Bab el Souk, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chefchaouen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chefchaouen
#2 Family Hotel in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Casa Perleta Chefchaouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing