We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what a riad in this price range should be”
Review of Dar Zman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar Zman
Ranked #16 of 59 Chefchaouen B&B and Inns
Pittsford, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exactly what a riad in this price range should be”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Dar Zman is exactly what an economy Moroccan riad should be -- a traditional guest house, very affordable, comfortable and above all, friendly. Well located at the Bab El Hammar entrance of the medina (across from the Hotel Madrid if you're arriving by taxi), Dar Zman's rooms are cozy and well decorated -- I has the Safia room in the main photograph, and it was on the small side but just fine. Good heater (a must for wintry Chefchaouen nights), lots of hot water, a small t.v. and great wifi reception. Breakfast upstairs was "Moroccan continental" with savory local goat cheese, Moroccan crepes and stout olive oil for bread dipping. Best of all were the friendly and helpful staff. Worth a return visit!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjouan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    34
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
48
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mijas, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed just a night in this dar, but must say we liked it a lot. The room was small, but nicely decorated, and ok, the shower was tiny, but the atmosphere of this place was just worth the stay. The bright blue, the nice tiles and accessories are just beautiful. I hope to go back there on our next trip to Chefchaouen. Travelled in June 2012 (cannot select that option in the box, sorry).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japekan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A small and cosy hotel. The location is great as it is in the medina, but in the same time it is close to a main gate of the medina and a road. The staff is very helpful and welcoming. The quality/price ratio is the best in Chefchaouen, where some hotels don't hesitate to increase prices above what they present in their websites (see my review on Dar Meziana that I strongly recommend to avoid).

Room Tip: Avoid room that have windows on the main road, a lot of noise have been reported.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fouad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a small and comfy hotel right next to the main square of Chefchouen's medina. It is not very expensive and the rooms are nice and well decorated in a traditional-ish way :)

The shower in my room was a bit small but nothing you can't live with.

Breakfast was good and plentiful with a great view from the top of the hotel :)

Room Tip: There are some other reviewers that say that the ground-floor room is no good, I stayed in the ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our room - IN the lobby - is fine at face value. But once you move in the noise and the smells all start to add up. EVERY guest who uses the bathroom can be heard from this room. EVERY guest who knocks on the door can be heard from this room. EVERY conversation in the lobby may as well be in this room. And then the smell. Each time a guest uses the toilet or sink or shower - it pushes sewer gas up through our drain (in the room smelling it as I write.) Then there is the sound of the "pump" that pushes water up to the higher floors. It sounds like glaciers making love. Really. Hot water is sketchy too - my wife is currently FREEZING in the shower.

The staff were great though. Also kind of pricey for what you get. Deck is just a single table so if you aren't the first one there - you are out of luck.

Maybe this is BAD room. But with so many other cheaper choices - take a pass on Dar Zman.

Room Tip: I guess if you MUST stay here - get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

There are some good points with this hotel (good location, pretty terrace) and if the price were cheaper, I'd recommend this place for these features alone. However the negatives far outweigh the positives here in my view. You can't open the windows because it smells like sewage (just disgusting), which if you're a fan of air-con fan is fine, but in a place which is known for it's fresh mountain air just feels depressing. The staff here can be terribly rude. The woman at reception will never return a smile and when she brought me the wrong breakfast (even though I had re-explained I had allergies just minutes before and they had agreed it was fine) she pretended she didn't speak much English for the first time (please), then she finally said she understood but then just shrugged and walked away. I was left with nothing i could eat. For a 40+euro a night hotel, this is just appalling customer service. On top of this, the hot water is very temperamental and you can end up having no choice but to have a cold shower. At this price, find somewhere else - chefchaouen is all about relaxing, which this hotel certainly is not.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guetteurmelancolique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Located at the edge of the Medina so you taxi drop off is convenient. Nice staff but limited in helping with the air conditioning unit. It was 32 degrees Celsius in our room today (June)! They said we'd have to open the windows but it was during the day and hot outside. At nite it was too noisy until after midnight. The hot water worked about 5 minutes out of the 3 nights we were here. The shower head didn't stay on the holder. The tv cut off (overheated?) after an hour. Nice breakfast prepared by 2 hotel staff in the morning. Great view of the city. Clean. Great decor. Free Internet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BocaCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 23 in Chefchaouen
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 23 in Chefchaouen
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#3 of 23 in Chefchaouen
114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Annasr
Casa Annasr
#13 of 59 in Chefchaouen
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aline Hostel
Aline Hostel
#6 of 32 in Chefchaouen
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zman

Property: Dar Zman
Address: Av. Hassan II Bab El Hammar, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Zman 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zman is a guest house which has a Moroccan style, located in the old medina of Chefchaouen. It contains eight rooms which are all air conditioned and equipped with Private bathroom and TV. Each room is different from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dar Zman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing