We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient place to stay in Chefchaouen” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Zman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Zman
Ranked #17 of 55 Chefchaouen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Convenient place to stay in Chefchaouen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Me and my two friends stayed here for 2 nights in September. We had actually picked another place to stay, but the taxi driver dropped us off outside of the medina and the first place we saw was Dar Zman. We were hot and exhausted, so we decided to give it a try. It was a good choice. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The decor is nice and the the rooms were clean. The breakfast on the top floor was top notch. Also, it is perfectly located to walk to the main square and explore the medina and close to the petit taxi area. The only reason why I didn't give an "excellent" review is our room (triple room) had windows that opened to an inner space that gave off a sewer smell. If there had been a working a/c unit, then we could have shut the windows, and kept out the smell. Really, once you were in the room for a few minutes, you just got used to it and forgot about it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravels604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    31
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
44
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Tucuman, Argentina
Level Contributor
833 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Dar Zman is a typical guest house - in Moroccan style. It is very near the old medina of Chefchaouen. The location is great for exploring the town and surrounding areas. There are 8 rooms, every one different from the other!
The staff is friendly and polite. The room we stayed in was amazing! En suite, huge comfy bed, stylish and luxurious! Eastern style!
I got upgraded to a bigger and better room as the TV of the room we had booked was not working at the moment.
The whole atmosphere and decorations of the Riad makes you feel so comfortable & welcome!
I was even given a small carpet as a present by the girl at the reception!
Breakfast was excellent too! Everything is prepared when you are ready to have breakfast, so everything is fresh. Lovely breakfast indeed! Moroccan pancakes, freshly squeezed orange juice, delicious coffee, butter and other vey tasteful things! Excellent really!
Spotlessly clean! Free wi - fi connection in the reception area.
Stayed 2 nights and would happily have stayed longer. I highly recommend this place! Would go back? You bet!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed two nights with partner in July. Room was clean and tidy. As with other reviews the bathroom is small but did the job. Breakfast was also pretty good. Staff were helpful and offered assistance where they could. overall no complaints and of a good standard. Also very easy and quick to main square...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albymorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
315 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

We got a small room but it wasn't matter for us, air-conditioned, good breakfast, gorgous interior, perfect location, friendly staff!

Room Tip: any room will be good for anybody!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reembom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

My husband had a wonderful time in Chefchaouen, and we were so glad we stopped for a day. The beautiful blue city and the Rif mountains were just phenomenal. And after a long day of walking around the town, we came home to a cozy and clean Dar Zman. We had an amazing breakfast in the terrasse with an amazing view overlooking the mountains. We highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Contact the Dar or book it online
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8achan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

Though slightly tucked away, and a few stairs to reach the entrance, the location near the medina was perfect for exploring the beautiful city. The rooms are small but comfortable and clean, the staff was very helpful, the breakfast on the rooftop terrace with views of Chefchaouen and the surrounding mountains was delightful, and the city itself was stunning. We strongly recommend Dar Zman and Chefchaouen.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulNaecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosseto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

We were lost in Chefchaouen, all the riads we saw on internet were overbooked..at least we casually found Dar Zman: small but very intimate. From its terrace you can relax seeing the sunset and the mountains. Excellent breakfast (the best found in morocco) with italian coffee. But most of all the staff is grat: Mohamed Ajeliyan is the best.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ma2teo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#8 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#13 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 mi away
Dar Gabriel
Dar Gabriel
#10 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Echchaouen
Dar Echchaouen
#4 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Annasr
Casa Annasr
#12 of 55 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zman

Property: Dar Zman
Address: Av. Hassan II Bab El Hammar, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Zman 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zman is a guest house which has a Moroccan style, located in the old medina of Chefchaouen. It contains eight rooms which are all air conditioned and equipped with Private bathroom and TV. Each room is different from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Dar Zman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing