We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and inviting rooms and staff”
Review of Dar Meziana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Meziana
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I'm at the Dar now sitting in front of the fire, and the manager just invited me to share his lunch with him. The staff is lovely, the rooms are charming. But they are basic, and the beds are hard. This blue hilltop town is worth the trek, and this is reportedly the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skardm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 219 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on the advice of our guidebook which said that this riad is absolutely perfect and I would have to agree! It’s a beautifully decorated riad, with friendly and helpful staff who speak English. They have a fireplace which was nice in February in the mountains and the room had a good heater. Very easy to find and well-marked – though I’d recommend coming from Bab Souk as the riad is a bit closer to this than other medina entrances. Possibly the nicest roof of any riad where I’ve ever stayed, with great views. Great breakfast – the traditional Moroccan breads but they also made eggs (which is unusual to find in a riad breakfast). They gave us a choice of two rooms and we chose one on the bottom floor, but it wasn’t noisy at all. Great water pressure. Overall, a great value compared to riads where I’ve stayed in other cities. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenjamie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is probably rarely a problem in Morocco, but we could never get warm in this lovely place. The heater did not work in our room, so the hotel moved us to another room, where the heater did work. But the common areas, which were authentically and interestingly decorated, we're kept cold. The staff wore coats and hats indoors the two days we were there. But they were welcoming and helpful, offering good directions and restaurant tips, as well as arranging onward travel and assisting us out of he medina with our luggage. A great location in the heart of the medina. Also a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was the first time I and my wife had experienced a Dar! To our surprise this was a cute little "Bed and Breakfast" type Hotel with no more than 5 to 6 rooms. The receptionist, porters, cooks, etc. were the same folks (appeared to be a family) and worked very efficiently. Our room was really very neat and clean but with a interesting twist. The room was cute and small cut right into the mountain. We had a couple of locations near the bed where the rock facade popped right into the room through the white-washed wall. It felt as if we were sleeping in a four star cave! In the morning we came down for breakfast and we were asked if we would like to do the breakfast on the roof terrace. A great breakfast was presented to us on the roof terrace with spectacular view. We stayed in this hotel for two nights and completely enjoyed the Dar experience. We agreed to stay here again if we visited Chefchaouen again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This was by far my most favourite stay in morocco, beautiful scenery felt very safe, just make sure you make the most of this amasing town because for such a small place there are lots to see, we did borrow a member of staff to take us round to show us the sights, but was well worth it!! A very magical little place! :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiler2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Wow!!! I insisted when I got to Chefchaouen that me and my friend stayed somewhere amazing, and I wasn't going to settle for anything less than perfect. So I had a look on Tripadvisor and this is one of the places that came up, and boy am I glad we went. Located nearer the top end of the Chefchoauen medina, the rooftop terrace overlooks the whole of the Blue city.

Staying in November, in the quiet season we were very lucky to have the place to ourselves for two nights. The Riad itself is one of absolute beauty, and every aspect of it has been designed and thought about carefully to suit your every need. Although, it may be at the top end of some peoples budgets, if you require a perfect stay with zero regrets this is the place to be. The staff are so lovely and helpful (Massive shout out to Naoufal, who made our stay and looked after us very well). The rooms are gorgeous and the bed we stayed in was one of the comfiest in Morocco. The room we chose didn't have view but we chose it due to its proximity to the terrace which was a perfect place to relax after a long day out in Chefchaouen.

We had a beautiful breakfast on the terrace every morning, staring out at the stunning Rif mountains around us. We had lovely hot showers everyday. Bare in mind at this time of year (November) it can be quite cold in the mountains. We were looking at about 4 degrees when we were there.

We found that Chefchaouen was the real Morocco, where no-one tried to charge us crazy European prices because we were tourists. We really found our home here in Morocco. And we will only come back to Morocco due to our great experience here.

Like many before us, we will never forget our stay here. And when we come back to Chefchaouen we will only be staying here.

Room Tip: Paying the extra for one of the larger rooms will definitely be a must for us next time. It would de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at this riad for 2 nights in October 2012. We had room at the terrace. This room had a queen size bed, firm and comfortable with decent linens. Bathroom was reasonable size with strong hot water. Wifi was free and had good connection.

Breakfast served at the roof terrace, food was good, fried pastries, cakes and baguette, butter, jams and honey, fried eggs, coffee and tea. Dinner, which was included in the restaurant of the sister property – Casa Hassan, some good food choices there, we like the classic dishes such as couscous and tajine of meat.

The location of this riad is convenient, takes about 8 minutes to get to the town square. Chefchaouen is a very relaxed city, to my options; it is good to spend 1-2 days here.

Note:
This riad has many levels and steps are deep, and in some parts steps are narrow. Asking for lower level room if you have problem dealing with these stairs.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#2 of 24 in Chefchaouen
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#3 of 24 in Chefchaouen
540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 24 in Chefchaouen
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 24 in Chefchaouen
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Yakout
Dar Yakout
#15 of 24 in Chefchaouen
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Echchaouen
Dar Echchaouen
#4 of 24 in Chefchaouen
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Meziana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Meziana

Address: n 07 Rue Zagdud | Bab Souk, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Price Range: $69 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Meziana 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you very much for your interest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Meziana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Meziana Chefchaouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing