We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Al Alba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Al Alba
Ranked #1 of 20 Asilah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you're looking for a quiet respite from the usual Moroccan medina hubbub, Hotel Al Alba situated on the west coast provides just that. Along with fine accommodations in this B&B-style boutique hotel, the staff is friendly and accommodating as can be. If you're an only-English speaker as we are, it may take some effort to get your message across, but it's no big deal and everyone tries very hard. The owner is most responsive via email, English evidently being no issue although she was away during our stay. There's no need to go elsewhere for meals as breakfast (included), lunch and dinner are deliciously served with style on the lower floor where the dining room is adjacent to a communal reading/TV/computer area.

Room Tip: On arrival, we were able to upgrade from a small room with what looked like a queen size bed to a ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    73
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
80
151
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hunnebostrand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Al Alba is special, it has traditional riad appearance. It is very clean and has modern facilities and a very service minded staff. It is located in a extremely friendly and nice city close to the historical monuments Lixus and Msora; the staff can help you to find the rather hidden places.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SverreHunnebostrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed in November 2012 for a night during our stopover in Asilah. The hotel is along one of the main roads and is pretty easy to spot thanks to the huge signs along the road. The bedroom was an absolute delight. Incredibly comfortable and impeccably clean. Dinner was fantastic (though slightly pricey). It's a quick walk to the beach which would probably be lovely during the summer. The downside for us would be that the location of the hotel is about a 15 minutes walk to the medina of Asilah and there are quite a number of roads to cross before getting to the medina. The hotel would be good for drivers as there were plenty of driving maps provided.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linzie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merzouga, Morocco
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Al Alba is a quality hotel located close to the sea, within a residential setting. We were warmly greeted by the hotel owners who were helpful and on hand throughout our stay. Our bedroom was well designed, decorated with light, airy colours and a separate relaxing area. The room contained everything needed for a short stay and the firm, extremely comfortable mattress provided a great night’s sleep.

There is a gentle, easy going ambience within the hotel, the staff are smart, personable and friendly and speak Moroccan, French, Spanish and English. There are comfortable lounge areas with wifi and a separate restaurant in which mouth-watering food is served from a menu which is simple yet creative, an unbelievably good dining experience (see separate review in Asilah restaurant section).

Breakfast was an equally enjoyable affair with plenty of choice and no rush or hurry.

Prices for the hotel stay and the restaurant were reasonable, a relaxing and completely enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed with my wife in October 2012 for one night. The hotel is well managed and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was excellent and there was a nice moroccan living room to have a tea. All that said i would not stay there again if in Asilah. Two reasons for that : first the location is 15 minutes from the medinah of asilah where there are several riads that are more interesting for a stay. And finally i felt claustrophobic in the hotel, the room was nice but had no view over asilah and there was no terrace to look at the sea. It really was a huge problem for me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Perfect for our stay in Asilah. Very well decorated and very good prices. I strongly recommend it. Maps from the region are available and the breakfast was really good. 10 minutes walking from the the old town and very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcelo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Very pretty and very clean, beautifully appointed rooms, good location. For us the hotel was too 'Spanish' - you could have been in Andalucia!
Unfortunately although there was a seemingly large menu, there was nothing for vegetarians and when asked if they could do anything for us the staff shrugged and suggested we go elsewhere to eat, which we did!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asilah
0.5 mi away
Patio de la Luna
Patio de la Luna
#2 of 5 in Asilah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
24.4 mi away
Hotel Al Khaima
Hotel Al Khaima
#5 of 5 in Asilah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
48.2 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#3 of 24 in Chefchaouen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zelis
Hotel Zelis
#3 of 5 in Asilah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dar Manara
Hotel Dar Manara
#2 of 20 in Asilah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dar tabia
Dar tabia
#1 of 5 in Asilah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Alba

Property: Hotel Al Alba
Address: 35 Lot. Nakhil | Near the Court, Asilah 90050, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Asilah
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Asilah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Alba 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, charming hotel, built with a subtle harmony of forms; a small peaceful corner by the sea. An inn for the traveler who is seeking calm and relaxation. Recently built according to the sober style and serene forms of the Arabic architecture, with nine rooms originally decorated so that they transmit calm and privacy; with welcoming rooms and terraces where to rest and recover the strength; a house with a family touch that tries to offer the traveler an unforgettable place and a reason to come back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Al Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Alba Asilah
Al Alba Hotel Asilah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing