We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely oasis”
Review of Hotel Al Alba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Al Alba
Ranked #1 of 21 Asilah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A lovely oasis”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

After a long drive from Fes, we were warmly welcomed to this very nice hotel. The rooms were delightful, all white with dark blue accents. Very much in Moroccan style. We were offered delicious mint tea in the cozy salon, while the owner Luis filled us in on all the amenities and local sights. We opeted for dinner at the hotel and were very impressed with the tasty, innovative menu. My favorite was the sour apple soup with foie. My husband had kefta tajine which was also very good. The next morning we had the excellent breakfast. All in all a pleasant and surprisingly pleasant stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: If you open the window at night expect some traffic noise. The air conditioning and the heater are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indianwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    73
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
83
155
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel with the comfortable and beautifully-designed room and the delicious breakfast with Moroccan taste. But the most valuable part for us was the hotel staff attitude and service to the guests: they are enormously helpful and always response to our series of requests.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

This hotel is in a suburban cul de sac between two major roads and about 25 mins walk from the medina. The beach is only about 5 mins away, but down an unmade-up road used as a lavatory /rubbish dump by animals and probably people, so the hotel is very difficult to find.

Given the limitations of space it is beautifully decorated and well designed to use every spare inch. The double bed was just that, larger than a single but not large. The suite simply bedroom size with a wall dividing half one end. It was comfortable though.
I imagine if the hotel were full the dining room would be very crowded, the garden patch is completly covered with a vine and has room for three tiny tables only. It is a shame that the roof is not available, as in many Moroccan hotels, since spending much time in the bedrooms is a bit claustrohobic.
There has been a lot of trouble taken to provide everything needed and the staff are very pleasant and friendly, one came to find us in town when we were unable to find the hotel. Basic English is spoken. As a base to drive around from ,this would be a nice place to stay, but as a relaxing place to holiday in it might feel cramped.

Room Tip: suite was fairly small, a room might be too small?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin Goodfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alalba, Propietario at Hotel Al Alba, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
We are grateful for the opinions of our clients, all of them serve us to improve the quality that offers our hotel.
About the information contributed in this opinion it is objectively verifiable:
The hotel, according to Google Earth, is placed to 3120 feet (951 m.) of the Medina (10 minutes walking to normal step), to 660 feet (200 m.) of the beach for a clean and paved street (it is possible to go for worse streets) and to 102 feet (31 m.) of the National road N1 (the hotel is seen from the N1); it is placed in the Residential Urbanization (Nakhil) that is, with difference, the most luxurious in Asilah. The hotel has large common zones 2150 foots (200 m2) to avoid the claustrofovia: 2 lounges, 2 dining rooms and 1 terrace with garden and, if you book the Suite Haima, a large terrace with a viewsea. The dining rooms (2) have capacity for, at least, the double of the occupation it it happens of the hotel. The size of the beds is the standard in Morocco (6.5 x 4.6), (2.0 x 1,4), we have also, down request, rooms with beds king sice. The tables of the terrace measure 3.2 x 3.2 (1x1m.). The suites have a minimal surface of 200 square feet (18 meters 2).
With these demonstrable remarks, we hope to dissolve the doubts that this comment may have on future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2011

- excellent location, 5 minutes to the beach, souk is a 5 min drive away
-amazing rooms, beautifully designed
- super clean
- friendly staff who make you feel at home
- lovely eating area
- cater for infants
- gave us a lift to the train station
-Excellent hardworking staff who are obviously very dedicated to what they do. Very friendly and smiley

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mortalcombat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Al Alba hotel about two weeks ago and it was the highlight of our trip to Morocco. The driver greeted us at the ferry in Tangier and took us safely to Asilah. When we arrived, I was immediately impressed by the atmosphere at the Al Alba. It is beautifullyy decorated in traditional Moroccon decor and is immaculately maintained. We were welcomed with traditional mint tea in the sitting room and given pamphlets/ guide books to direct us during our stay. Our hosts spoke French, Spanish and a little bit of English. Our room was large with pretty blue and white accents, stained glass lighting fixtures and luminary lanterns on either side of our queen bed. The window shutters, pillows, curtains and sitting area cushions all coordinated and made the room very rich and elegant looking. It was spotless and the air conditioning made for a very comfortable stay. The 5 course dinner we had the night we stayed was one of the best meals I have ever had. The host served us in the side courtyard which was lit with more beautiful lanterns and had hanging flowers. The two of us enjoyed wine, an eggplant dish, grilled vegatables, couscous, chicken and fresh fruit. I would recommend this hotel to anyone I know!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellabBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

It is a very beautiful hotel. It's as close to a riad as you can get when it's not in the medina. The staff was friendly and wonderful. Breakfast was great. The room was clean and comfortable ... it was even equiped with extra toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo and shower gel.

It's a little difficult to find ... especially in the dark. TIP: Stay on the main road, Once you see the small sign on the right hand side, take the next right off the main road and then the first right into what looks like a group of town houses. If you get to a rotary, you've gone too far.

It's a little out of the way and not convenient to access the medina by foot. But if you have the time or you're looking to get away from the center of town, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charli246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Clean rooms good quality furniture nice shower and bathroom and breakfast in the morning absolute bargain of a place for 50E

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asilah hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azayla
Hotel Azayla
#4 of 5 in Asilah
32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Patio de la Luna
Patio de la Luna
#2 of 5 in Asilah
70 reviews
24.4 mi away
Hotel Al Khaima
Hotel Al Khaima
#5 of 5 in Asilah
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zelis
Hotel Zelis
#3 of 5 in Asilah
57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dar Manara
Hotel Dar Manara
#2 of 21 in Asilah
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
MIA Hostel Asilah
MIA Hostel Asilah
#1 of 13 in Asilah
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Alba

Property: Hotel Al Alba
Address: 35 Lot. Nakhil | Near the Court, Asilah 90050, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Asilah
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Asilah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Alba 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, charming hotel, built with a subtle harmony of forms; a small peaceful corner by the sea. An inn for the traveler who is seeking calm and relaxation. Recently built according to the sober style and serene forms of the Arabic architecture, with nine rooms originally decorated so that they transmit calm and privacy; with welcoming rooms and terraces where to rest and recover the strength; a house with a family touch that tries to offer the traveler an unforgettable place and a reason to come back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Al Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Alba Asilah
Al Alba Hotel Asilah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing