We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but Lonely”
Review of Hotel Al Khaima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Al Khaima
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Asilah
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable but Lonely”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Its a walking distance from the train station, the beach and to the medina. However, If I go back I'd prefer accomodation nearer to the medina. We went in winter so the hotel was quiet and had a cold atmosphere. The staff were friendly and breakfast was basic.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahlika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    29
    24
    19
See reviews for
33
30
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

A nice hotel, granted we were barely there ( it's right across from the beach, and a 15 minute walk along the beachfront from the medina). The rooms were nice, the one I was in had A/C, which I found to be a rare commodity in Morocco. Breakfast was fresh, didn't eat any other meals there. Nice pool.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank specialchick08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at Al Khaima for one night as we drove from Marrakech to Tangier. Our goal was the beach, so we didn't make full use of the facilities (such as restaurant and pool) and cannot say much about them.

Upon arrival, the receptionist asked if we wanted a room with a seaview; we, of course, said yes, and were lucky to have done so, but be warned that they are working on (re-)building the main road to Tangier between the hotel and the sea, not 20 meters from the room's balcony, so the seaview will come at a price in the near future.

The room itself is spacious, but showing clear signs of age. The bed cover had sand in it and the fridge was unplugged, leaving it useless. The toilet seat fell off and the tap was lose in the sink, with pieces of porcelain missing underneath. The shower did not have hot water for the first 10 minutes.

The pool garden has sunbeds and tables and provided welcome shade after a hot, sunny day at the beach. We asked for a late checkout (15:00 instead of 12:00) to enjoy the beach fully before driving to Tangier, but were denied even if the hotel was half empty. Unless we wanted to pay for another night, of course. The receptionist seemed at odds with every guest I saw at the counter and spent the rest of his time nodding behind the blinds of the manager's corner in the lounge.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Asilah hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Room smelt and was damp. Towels were dirty. Public rooms had as much charm as a works canteen. Food was barely warm and bread smelt musty. Vegetarian main course was a handful of boiled carrots and potatos swimming in a thin fishy tasting liquid. Desert was a plate of grapes and plums.
Manager was rude and disinterested at my complaint.
As a single traveller I felt security was poor as room had very dodgy lock and no chain.
In short - avoid.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singletraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Decided to spend a night here on the way to Casa. Thought it would be a nice rest stop after days of travel, however the room filled with mosquitoes made it quite impossible to spend much time there. With the exception of the front desk, the staff was very friendly & accommodating. The grounds are nice enough and the restaurant served good food. The room was the worst part of our stay here. Lukewarm water, uninviting room, mosquitoes ~ need I say more?

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank greenwoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2010

This hotel was superb! At the end of March and the very beginning of Semana Santa, we took a taxi from the Tangier airport stright to this hotel for 300dh. From the very beginning, the front desk help was very friendly, helpful, and welcoming. Our room was quite large and spacious, and spotless, with 3 beds for my mom, sister (who´s 16), and me. The hotel staff honored all 3 of our requests we placed when we made the reservation online, with a beautiful view of both the pool and ocean, as well as a non-smoking room. The staff was very quick to respond when we had a small water issue in the bathroom and offered to move us or anything else we felt was necessary for compsenation. But the issue was resolved in minutes. Nevertheless, the water in the bathroom was nice and hot and the appliances were modern. The complimentary breakfast was quite decent, with a lot of bread and yogurt choices, hard boiled eggs, juices, coffee and milk, while in a sunny dining room overlooking the terrace and pool. It was definitely a good starting off point for our busy days in Asilah. On our second and last night there, the front desk help (the manager and assistant manager) told us that, if we wanted, the restaurant could make us a traditional Moroccan meal of Tagine. There was no pressure, but we were sold! We weren´t disappointed. The food was piping hot and ready for us when we arrived at the time we scheduled with them. The service was great, with 3 courses of a traditional soup, the tagine meal, and desert of delicious oranges with some type of sweet sauce. To top it off, we ordered Moroccan mint tea, which was, like the rest of the meal, to die for. If you stay here, I´m sure they would be delighted to offer a similar meal to you if you ask.

Before booking the hotel, i was nervous about it´s location, as it said it was 1km north of the city. However, the 10 minute stroll from the hotel to the Medina and the rest of the older part of the city was beautiful, as it´s essentially a large and festive sidewalk right along the beaches and the ocean. I had been to Asilah one other time and had never even seen this side of the city, so I was glad to be somewhere a little less centrally located. Also, one of the locals in the Medina said they thought the hotel was home to the only discoteca in Asilah and tehrefore, very noisy. I don´t think we ever head any loud noises, though.

All in all, this hotel was perfect for us in terms of hospitality, service and location. The personalized approach to ensuring the hotel guests were having a great stay really shone through, as the manager talked to us several times, making sure our accommodations were just right. Also, most importantly, as 3 women traveling through Morocco, we felt especially safe and welcome here at Hotel al-Khaima. I WOULD DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimz7011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

we really liked this hotel. It was a ten minute walk from the station , as there were no taxis or buses, just a man with a donkey cart, whose offer we stupidly didn't take up.

The hotel reception people were very friendly and helpful and spoke both French and English. The poolside snack bar made us omelettes and home made pizzas for a very low cost. The rooms are simple and clean each with a bathroom, fridge and TV,. The air conidtioning was good. The centre peice is the pool and verdant garden, a lovely oasis in such a hot dry climate.The pool is very pleasant although as its Morroco, most of the women weren't using it. As women travelling in Morroco we were made welcome and there was no problme in us using the pool.

Its not an international hotel, but thebar did serve us Morrocan beer. the hotel is about 10 mintes walk to the old town but this was fine for us.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank LondonSiusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asilah
24.8 mi away
Hotel Azayla
Hotel Azayla
#4 of 5 in Asilah
33 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hotel Zelis
Hotel Zelis
#3 of 5 in Asilah
61 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Patio de la Luna
Patio de la Luna
#2 of 5 in Asilah
73 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ibis Tanger Free Zone hotel
8.3 mi away
Saif Tarifa Beach
Saif Tarifa Beach
#15 of 44 in Tangier
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Khaima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Khaima

Property: Hotel Al Khaima
Address: Rte De Tanger BP 101, Asilah, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Asilah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Asilah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Khaima 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Al Khaima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Khaima Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing