We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Difficult to get to” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Beach Kaf Lahmam

Ranked #4 of 4 things to do in Asilah
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a secluded beach south of town.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Difficult to get to”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The beach is long and clean and the water is clear. I went first week in June so there was only one beach restaurant and quite quiet. We got a taxi so far as the road is really bad and then had to walk 40 mins to the beach which was too long. We then hitched a lift back to Asilah in a 4x4 . You can get a horse and cart there and back which I didn't fancy doing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabserella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    12
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“North West Morocco coast and Asilah beaches”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just come back from a 2000km round trip of Morroco with the last 3 days being staying in Asilah with a view to have a nice relaxing beach holiday after the mountains - we read good things about Asilah beach, paradise beach Asilah and the the international beach by Kenitra all of which we visited...

My wife is of Indian heritage and so usually gets stared at terribly if she wears even modest beach wear in Muslim countries, so we like to do our research as to the most 'cosmopolitan' beaches. Anyhow we read good reviews about the quality of said beaches in rough guides - however, I felt compelled to write a review to help others avoid making the same errors we did...

All three of the beaches above are the dirtiest beaches I've ever been to! To the point of being like land-fill sites, you struggle to find a few square meters in which to put down your towel where you aren't lying on refuse. I would also say the sea is also far to wavy and currents too strong for anyone but strong swimmers... admittedly we weren't visiting in August which I believe is their high season, when perhaps there are lifeguards?

I went to the public toilet on the Kenitra continental beach and there was human turds literally carpeting the floor - not even in the cubicles but 6ft away from the toilets all over the floor - it was like walking through a mine field in order to get within range of the hole in the ground to be able to angle a wee in! To me that summed up our experience of beaches on the NW coast.

Even the worst beach in the UK is a thousand times cleaner than any of these places. It made sunbathing by a waste outlet next to Sellafield seem like a blue flag paradise compared to here!

Anyway it was a disappointing end to an otherwise great trip, on the last day we went to Cassablanca - a place the guide book had put us off as a beach location, but we were pleased to find a vast array of beach clubs, where the sand was clean, there were pools, the sea was partitioned off by walls to make it safe for the kids, and also there were women in bikinis and my wife wasn't the only person not wearing a hijab .

Bottom line - If you want a beach holiday that will involve sun bathing and swimming in the sea - go to Cassablanca. If you just want to walk on the beach or surf, the rest of the west coast is very pretty, if you ignore the masses of refuse.

Oh and another thing - don't try and get to paradise beach without either a 4x4 or full excess paid on your rental car - you'll see why!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank couple1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An adventure!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

So the lovely beach right in the heart of Asilah has a sewer flowing into the middle of it - gross! So we decided to check out paradise beach and it was quite the adventure. I honestly don't think anyone could have walked there...its FAR. On the way out, we managed to get a taxi to take us, but he charged for both ways because he had to drive back without anyone. The beach was clean, and very nice - but a little wild. When you get down the hill to the beach, head left, and near the end are less people, and one of the last places to "rent-a-chair" offers a good price, and the chair is worth it when the tide rolls in.

On the way back we opted for the donkey cart ride and wow- what an adventure! First of all HOLD ON FOR YOU LIFE! It was one bumpy ride. And riding on the side of the main highway as giant buses and speedy cars grazed by us was somewhat terrifying....so was the fact that our horse seemed to be spooked by the horns honking at us. Anyway, somehow we survived, and it was worth it. Was it the best beach I have been to? - No. Was is lovely for a public beach in Morocco - YES! :)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellinGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asilah, Morocco
1 review
“Excellent Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

just 6 Km far from Asilah pardaise beach is a excellent beach in asilah.

this beach is not busy.

wonderful view nature and the sea

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank elmosati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Its title 'Paradise Beach' is ironic!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

In no way could this beach be considered to be as stunning as the title suggests. Although the beach does certainly create a stark contrast with the dirty streets of its surroundings, the beach was completely average. My boyfriend and I walked to Paradise Beach from Asilah after being instructed by our Lonely Planet Guide that it was only a short walk south of the medina. However we walked for miles along the coast of Asilah through rubbish tips and dirt tracks to arrive at what others have called 'Paradise'. For me the beach was not far enough from the medina since it still had people hassling you to go in their cafes and hassling you to buy weed. Do not make the mistake as we did of making a special trip to Asilah for Paradise Beach, the beach was distinctively average and definately not a gem in Morocco as many travel guides to suggest.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mdovz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Beach Kaf Lahmam also viewed

Asilah, Tangier-Tetouan Region
Asilah, Tangier-Tetouan Region
 
Asilah, Tangier-Tetouan Region
Chefchaouen, Tangier-Tetouan Region
 

Been to Paradise Beach Kaf Lahmam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing