We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you go to Morocco you have to dine at La Perle”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Perle

La Perle
Ranked #5 of 31 Restaurants in Asilah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $33
Cuisines: American, European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Baza, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you go to Morocco you have to dine at La Perle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed in Asilah the first night we arrived in Morocco and were delighted to discover La Perle which had only been open for a few weeks.The food was incredible, the staff & owners were so welcoming and proud of their establishment (so they should be it's beautiful) and we enjoyed the evening so much that we altered our travel plans in order to go back to La Perle on our last night in Morocco.

During our journey through Morocco not once did we find an establishment that came anywhere near to La Perle - Sad for us travellers but great for the owners & staff who have created the winning formula that has it's fans wishing to return as soon as possible. Good luck La Perle you really do deserve every success.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MatildaK1TZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    26
    10
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best food experience ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Just returned from Asilah where we discovered the most amazing gem.La Perle.Sadly for us we were on last leg of our trip when we went there for lunch only to return later for dinner.As evening was fine we sat on their beautiful terrace.Our meals were served by friendly and efficient staff.Head chef came to speak with us and welcomed our views.We are looking forward to our next trip to enjoy the fine food and wine this gem has to offer.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank carmelk355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real pearl”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

What a surprise to find such a fantastic new addition to the restaurants in Assilah. La Perle is just so different to the other restaurants offeriing French Cuisine with a bit of an asiatic twist. The decor is so warm and intimate and there is also a lovely terrace adorned with flowers in lots of bright colours.When we visited it was lit with beautiful lights and there was a lovely atmosphere with lots of diners eating on the terrace.The toilets which can often be a problem in a lot restaurants are immaculate and include all the feminine essentials.We ordered from the a la carte and the table d'hote menu which is great value with 2 courses for 160dh and 3 courses for 190.dh. I had the traditional fish soup and the grilled sallmon from the menu, both were superb. The fish soup was served with the traditional croutons roux and cheese and it was delicious.The salmon was grilled and served with a beautiful sauce and came with vegetables and potatoes.Himsellf went for the calamar frit which was served with a lovely homemade tartar sauce. For mains he had the monk fish which was served with a beautiful sauce and some rice.. Having visited Assilah on a few occasions in the past we were were not expecting anything special in dining as most restaurants have similar menu's so were thrilled when our friends told us about the new restaurant which is run by the chef/patron. Having a real sweet tooth I was in heaven with the choice of desserts. I had the profiteroles with hot choclate sauce which was included in the menu and they were divine..Himself had the sticky toffee pudding which was also to die for. The service was excellent with attentive and friiendly waiters and they have a great choice of wines including french annd moroccan.and a great list of after dinner drinks.If its good food and service that you are looking in beautiful surroundings then you should visit La Perle.The prices are very reasonable especially if you stick to the set menu.so its definitely worth a trip if you are in the area. We will definitely be back next time we are in Assilah

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Welltravelled1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“La Perle- the best around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We are so happy to be one of the first to review this amazing restaurant that very recently opened it's doors.

La Perle is a true gem of a restaurant, and place to pass an evening in Asilah. So much so that we actually ate there two nights in a row, and would likely do three if we weren't leaving in the morning. A little background might be necessary. We are visiting Morocco for the first time, and had only a rough idea of what the cuisine would entail. We pictured couscous and tangines, and a lot of mint tea. Those images were factual, but we didn't realize that most things would contain seafood. My wife and I both have seafood resistant stomachs, so after a day of eating at local restaurants we had read about in Lonely Planet, or recommended by our hotel manager we were hungry but happy with the idea that we might just lose some American weight on this trip. It should be noted that Asilah, while truly lovely in every way, is not a town focused on food. So, when La Perle was recommended to us by our kind hotel manager, we thought it would probably be one more night of a plate of manchego cheese and perhaps a medium okay tortilla espanol. We were so wrong! For lovers of delicious food and amazing service, La Perle is the place to go in Asilah. The wine list is amazing, and they also make delicious cocktails (though Asilah is beautiful it can be hard to find a drink!), and the attention to detail just perfected a wonderful dining experience. The owners were at the restaurant, and it was fun chatting with them about their travels, particularly where the inspiration for the fantastically prepared dishes came from. The food was a nice blend of French with Thai and Vietnamese accents. My wife had this amazing steak (she is a strict carnivore, so it is a big deal if a piece of meat makes it in her top five, and this one did) and I had a green curry with shrimp. I was concerned about the shrimp, as I mentioned earlier, I have a hard time with fish. But it was delicious and I have been thinking about it all day. The wine complimented the meal fantastically, and we even had very refreshing apperitif to finish the meal off, and a couple of these yummy cookies that just melted in your mouth. To sum things up, the food, the drinks, the service, and the place itself were all a full five star experience. Thanks, La Perle!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natdonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Perle also viewed

Asilah, Tangier-Tetouan Region
Asilah, Tangier-Tetouan Region
 
Asilah, Tangier-Tetouan Region
Asilah, Tangier-Tetouan Region
 
Asilah, Tangier-Tetouan Region
Asilah, Tangier-Tetouan Region
 

Been to La Perle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing