We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Azaouia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asilah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Azaouia
Ranked #3 of 20 Asilah B&B and Inns
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Best B&B in Asilah! Cosy atmosphere, beautiful decor and rooms that cannot be faulted. The town itself was an adventure of its own with a charm that leaves you wanting more! We had the most wonderful week at this place and am already looking forward to our next trip there. The food was fantastic and the market shops where out of this world we all came home with suitcases full of beautiful artsy jewelry and all sorts of treasures. Starting each day with a gorgeous fresh breakfast and a walk on a stunning quiet beach. Enjoyed the tapas with Portugese and Moroccan wine at night on the rooftop. Great service from the charming owners!

Room Tip: The suite on the terrace is the best and very romantic with chimney.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    14
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
58
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarby, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Asilah is a peaceful town with very laidback citizens and so is this charming guesthouse. After a 4-night stay with our family, we are convinced this was a very good choice. All day long we had thee-service and very pleasant people welcoming us. The rooms are all different and romantic with an abundance of wood for the chimneys. Every morning, a stunning breakfast was laid out and the cosy dining room enchanted by books and music made us stay sometimes far too long inside this place. We hope to be back in the summer, this guesthouse must be great to enjoy the terrasses in the hot weather. Thanks to Caroline and Mustapha our family reunion in Asilah was a succes!! Very pleasant hosts with lots of good advises for adventurous travelers.

Room Tip: There's good wifi in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Alice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I was at this hotel over the Christmas holidays, travelling with friends. Upon arrival around 9am, we were greeted by a very nice woman who was ready to help with cases etc. All the charm was there until we climbed the stairs - me to my room and my friends up to their's on the roof. I had forgotten how freezing these countries can be at this time of the year but the room was like stepping out of an igloo into the freezing ice and snow. A radiator was brought to the room and put onto medium heat - when I put it onto high, it blew all fuses in the Hotel. To boot, there was no hot water. A fire was light the same evening but with wood that burnt so fast, there was no more after an hour. The following evening another fire was lit by the owner's companion and I was told I to switch off the radiator. "No Way" I replied as the room was still freezing. No hot water and cold rooms turn me off very quickly. The owner, Caroline, was pleasant but we only saw her briefly for breakfast the second day. Considering it was obvious we were not happy with the conditions, it might have been a nice idea if she had made an appearance on our last day instead of us "begging" for a price reduction. The photos on Internet certainly over rate this Ryad which if a little more effort was made and full comfort assured, it would be a lovely place to stay especially as it is ideally situated.

Room Tip: The suite where my friends were on the roof top is certainly the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Dar Azaouia is a well located riad (only a few minutes' walk from the Medina), run by a Belgian landlady called Caroline. It's very charming and it looks authentic. It has a very nice roof terrace and, 3 bedrooms and a fairly spacious suite, in which we stayed for 2 nights (a friend travelling with us stayed in the room called "l'Enfant du Sable"which turned out to be rather dark and small). All rooms are equipped with fireplaces. When we got to the riad at about 9 a.m (the taxi ride from Tangier's airport had been previously arranged and took less than 45 minutes and cost 30€),  the rooms were freezing; there was no heating and none of the fireplaces were on (you have to bear in mind that Northern Morocco can get really cold and damp in winter, and the windows in the suite, although authentic, don't fit properly and let the cold air in). So we asked the lady in attendance (we didn't get to meet Caroline until the next morning) if we could have electric heaters which we kept on for the next 3 days (we also made use of the fireplace in the evening). Then, when we tried to have a shower there was no water and we ended up not getting any until the following evening, more than 32 hours later! Apparently there was a problem with the pump, which had to be replaced. We got offered to go and have a shower in a stranger's house nearby but we declined the invitation as the idea of carrying our stuff around didn't really appeal. When we went down for breakfast the next morning (we had told the lady looking after the place that we wanted to have breakfast at about 9), there was nobody around and breakfast wasn't ready. After a few rather embarrassing minutes trying to figure out what we were supposed to do, Caroline finally appeared and once she started preparing breakfast, it got served rather quickly. The food was lovely, varied and homemade. Caroline was very friendly and chatty. The following day, Caroline's partner had prepared breakfast quite early so we could leave for Tangier mid-morning. Caroline wasn't around but still in bed and when we asked him if we could have a discount (the bill came to 300€ for 2 rooms for 2 days which, we understand, is quite expensive for the area and time of year) for the water (or rather lack of it!), we only got 20€ off the total bill, and no apology whatsoever, except that we could have had a shower "elsewhere"! We never saw Caroline again... and our rooms never got cleaned during the 3 days we were there!

Dar Azaouia has, apparently, everything a guest could wish for unfortunately, we didn't get what we had paid for. Pity...!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank J_from_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

A traditional riad with a European touch! A stunningly beautiful place to stay, matched with the most generous of hosts, Caroline. A Belgium woman who has called Morocco home for the past eight years. She is a wealth of knowledge and I recommend that anyone arriving into Casablanca head straight to Asilah to visit Caroline. She will help you prepare your itinerary, give you contacts for great riads along the way and give you the lowdown on the local way of life. The riad was pure luxury. Each of the four rooms is uniquely decorated with their own bathrooms. Breakfast is served on the rooftop and in abundance - absolutely delicious. Mud masks tools are supplied in the bathrooms which have hot water and are incredibly clean. It is located just two minutes walk from the kasbah and the heart of Asilah. It truly was a luscious experience and I cannot recommend it highly enough. After just two nights, we were sad to say goodbye to Caroline.

Room Tip: All rooms are simply stunning and unique. You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammedia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

The view is nice however what is described in the website is not available once you are there
We paid an expensive room without air conditionning TV or wifii
The host was not kind or welcoming as every body could expect
If you want to stay in Assilah in this place check every thing before you pay your bill

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hope66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meknes, Morocco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

This place is falsely advertising their price.
I called to make a reservation with 15 Euro discount offer(which is valid) that they advertised on Tripadvisor. However, the owner on the phone said, she would not honor it since they had only one room left and they wouldn't have a problem to sell it. That's wrong and we are not going to give them our business.

They might have a great place but they should know honesty will last in the long run.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Isha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarAzaouia, Owner at Dar Azaouia, responded to this review, January 23, 2016
Dear misses Isha S,
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review.
I'm pleased you liked the style of our guesthouse although I was hugely disappointed to note that we didn't live up to your expectations. We work hard to make each and every guest's stay special at Dar Azaouia.
This was a highly unusual situation due to the late call from you on new years eve to have a room for the same night and I'm sorry you felt the service we provided was not up to expectation. As you refused to confirm your reservation at instance with a valid creditcard number, we couldn't confirm your booking neither regardless your right for the 15 Euro discount which is correct. And indeed we could sell our last available room to any guest but we certainly need a guarantee to avoid "no show".
We have been honoured to receive many comments from guests about the friendliness and warmth of every member of my team and myself and I'm sorry to note you did not have this same impression on this occasion.
I am disappointed that we didn't have the opportunity to give you a better service as we are committed to ensuring guests leave our guesthouse fully satisfied.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asilah hotels
0.2 mi away
Patio de la Luna
Patio de la Luna
#2 of 5 in Asilah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zelis
Hotel Zelis
#3 of 5 in Asilah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar tabia
Dar tabia
#1 of 5 in Asilah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dar Manara
Hotel Dar Manara
#2 of 20 in Asilah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Al Alba
Hotel Al Alba
#1 of 20 in Asilah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.7 mi away
MIA Hostel Asilah
MIA Hostel Asilah
#1 of 13 in Asilah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Azaouia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Azaouia

Property: Dar Azaouia
Address: Nr 18 Street 6 | Quartier Moulay Idriss, Asilah 90050, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Asilah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Asilah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Azaouia is a charming relaxing house with a quality service and plenty of private space and lounge for hanging out. A meeting point for curious dwellers who are wanting to discover the secrets of Morocco. We are sensible to all our customers' needs and wishes and provide the best soul food, always prepared with care and taste. Breakfasts are served at any time our guests prefer and there's choice in teas, pastries and breads, dates, honey, homemade jams and herb cheeses, arganoil, eggs, fresh fruit and smoothies. The house is at 5 min. from the beaches and has a free parking in front and easy access with a car. You can enjoy your own music and we offer fast wifi. We have 4 rooms, 1 suite with queensize and 3 rooms with triple beds. Each room has his private bathroom with toilet and hot water showers and working chimneys. In summer we serve on the covered terraces. There's view on the sea with a marvelous sunset. A hot Saharaoui-tea and a water pipe with another traveler's story... Welcome to discover. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing