We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true sanctuary in a beautiful town”
Review of Dar Azaouia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asilah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Azaouia
Ranked #3 of 21 Asilah B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A true sanctuary in a beautiful town”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and it was a great experience. We have stayed in a few riads in Morocco and this is probably the most tranquil and homely. The riad is a small beautiful building and feels more like staying in a private home than a hotel. Not only was the riad beautiful and a tranquil haven from the hustle and bustle outside, but all the people working there were very friendly and really seemed to make an effort to make our stay pleasant! The riad is located in a very central and good location for exploring the souks and the main attractions in the medina. Nearby you will also find lots of restaurants suchas "La Perle d'Asilah" which are great options for lunch or dinner. They paid attention to detail, breakfasts were incredible fresh and delicious, and there was even a bookcradle of (good) books to borrow while we were there. Everything seemed very clean and cared for and what's more, very warm and comfortable, it has a nice roof terrace with a great seavieuw, beautifully lit in the evenings. The best thing however, is definately the food! We had our best lunch and dinner at Dar Azaouia, everything homemade, fresh moroccan bread with starters and dips from any meditaranean country, after huge tajines with the most fresh fish I've ever eaten. I still taste the salty sea watering in my mouth. The poched fish with wild mushrooms is recommended. The desserts are original and the love and care in the kitchen drips from the plates. Well-done for the chef! If I go to Asilah again, I would definitely come back to Dar Azaouia.

Room Tip: Every room is crispy clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Mauro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    15
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
58
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We booked directly after reading the long list of positive reviews - and none of them were wrong: Dar Azaouia is truly a great place to spend a few nights. Unfortunately we only had time to spend there one night. We stayed in the rooftop room which was spacious enough for 2 adults and 2 kids. The bathroom here is indeed special, crafted in the same fashion as they build traditional hammams. The view from the rooftop terrace is splendid, and the room was very comfortable. Catherine, the owner and Simon the waiter were both really nice and helpful. We even had dinner in Dar Azaouila which has proven to be a great choice as the food was superb plus it was a very relaxed way to spend the evening with two kids, tired after a day of sightseeing. Breakfast was also of a very igh standard. You can even park your car in front of the hotel which is practical.
Asilah town by the way is very relaxed and clean whilst still very Moroccan plus you have the Atlantic nearby - it is a great town to stay.

Room Tip: Choose the rooftop room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank travel80000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I wish we'd had a bit more time in Asila--I would've loved to settle in at this house. But we had just one night, on our way out via the Tangier airport. I booked here precisely because the full details of breakfast were listed on the website--I figured anyone who put that much care into the food would also run a fine hotel! And that turned out to be true--every aesthetic detail was lovely (local sea salts in the bathroom, for scrubbing!), and Caroline was an excellent hostess. And not only was breakfast a treat, but we also had a stellar dinner--a great blend of Moroccan and French, creative but still home-cooked, and using all fresh produce.

The drive from Asila to Tangier airport is only about five minutes longer than it is from central Tangier out to the airport, so Asila was a great place to leave from--a pretty, calm town where we felt like we could wind down at the end of a long trip.

Many thanks to Caroline for a great last night--and one of the best on our trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank zlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

A cheerful welcome on arrival, friendly yet professional staff, wonderful food and a beautiful rooftop bedroom suite- all set in the lovely coastal town of Asilah. We selected the town and the accommodation on the strength of the reviews for this riad, and were very pleasantly surprised by the fabulous beach and coastline, quaint streets and friendly people. It really was a little gem, and walking miles along the clean beach, watching the waves crashing onto the shore, was a real pleasure.Caroline was so helpful with tips of where to eat and even drove us to the ferry port for our return to Algiciras. She works very hard and deserves the praise and success- thank you Caroline!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TubbyBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My friend, my two clients and I stayed in Hotel Dar Azaouia. All I can say it is a perfect accommodation for travelers and all visitors to the charming city of Asilah. DarAzaouia is in a good location, just few minutes walking from the medina (old city).The rooms were very clean, comfortable and well decorated based on the tastes of the owner. The owner and host named Caroline made us feels very welcome and were very friendly. The breakfast in the next morning was really tasty. All in all at affordable prices.

Overall, we honestly enjoyed our stay at Dar Azaouia and I strongly recommend it.

Thanks Caroline and we look forward to see you again.

Tours Of Peace Team: Youssef Karaoui

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank toursofpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarAzaouia, Owner at Dar Azaouia, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Always very welcome Youssef and friend, with or without your clients. It was pleasant too to work for you. Your comment gave us a really good feeling and joy for the future of Dar Azaouia.
See you soon, Caroline and the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Four of us stayed here for three nights. Two separate rooms. The place is amazing. Four levels. Our rooms were on the second level. The room we had was extremely clean and the bed comfortable. No hot water issues. The terrace on the third level was huge. If you do stay here I suggest getting the room on this level as you have a semi private patio. Then the top level is another amazing terrace with views of the city. Caroline and her staff were great. They would bring up the breakfast to whatever terrace you wanted to sit on and collect the dishes after. The location of this B&B is great in that it is all walking distance to everything, the Medina is around one corner. The city is alive at night with people walking all over the streets late into the night. The noise wasn't bad as there were not too many vehicles once the people walking took over the streets. This B&B is located just off the main street so not to many vehicles passing by, I would say the only cars on this street were taxis dropping or picking people up. Caroline told us of a great beach, which the taxi will take you to and you can arranged to be picked up at the end of the day. Caroline and her driver took us out to the beach the one day, had a great time.

Room Tip: I suggest asking for the room with the terrace, it is semi private and it would be odd for other gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BurnabyWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Dar Azaouia was the first place we stayed on our ten-day tour around Morocco, and it certainly set the bar very high. The location is perfect - one street away from the old medina with ample parking and safe walking access. The rooms were comfortable and uniquely furnished. And the breakfast was fabulous - far more than we were able to eat, I regret. The owner, Caroline, was the perfect host - not too intrusive but there whenever we needed anything. We were the only ones staying with her that night, so we had the run of the place, and she let us have a second room because sleeping the four of us in the room on the roof terrace (her largest) would have been a bit tight. My only major complaint is the price - we paid 120 euros for the night, which was by far the most we paid for any accommodations in Morocco. For the one room it would have been far too much, but considering we got two rooms for that price in the end, it was adequate. Otherwise, a small complaint are the beds, some of which have footboards and are too small for people over 6 feet tall (183 cm) to sleep comfortably.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. If you have the chance, try out the different beds to find out which one is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JeffinPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asilah hotels
0.2 mi away
Patio de la Luna
Patio de la Luna
#2 of 5 in Asilah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Azayla
Hotel Azayla
#3 of 5 in Asilah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar tabia
Dar tabia
#1 of 5 in Asilah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dar Manara
Hotel Dar Manara
#2 of 21 in Asilah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Al Alba
Hotel Al Alba
#1 of 21 in Asilah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
3.7 mi away
Berbari
Berbari
#6 of 21 in Asilah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Azaouia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Azaouia

Property: Dar Azaouia
Address: Nr 18 Street 6 | Quartier Moulay Idriss, Asilah 90050, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Asilah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Asilah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Azaouia is a charming relaxing house with a quality service and plenty of private space and lounge for hanging out. A meeting point for curious dwellers who are wanting to discover the secrets of Morocco. We are sensible to all our customers' needs and wishes and provide the best soul food, always prepared with care and taste. Breakfasts are served at any time our guests prefer and there's choice in teas, pastries and breads, dates, honey, homemade jams and herb cheeses, arganoil, eggs, fresh fruit and smoothies. The house is at 5 min. from the beaches and has a free parking in front and easy access with a car. You can enjoy your own music and we offer fast wifi. We have 4 rooms, 1 suite with queensize and 3 rooms with triple beds. Each room has his private bathroom with toilet and hot water showers and working chimneys. In summer we serve on the covered terraces. There's view on the sea with a marvelous sunset. A hot Saharaoui-tea and a water pipe with another traveler's story... Welcome to discover. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing