We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sleep and great value for money.”
Review of Hotel Azayla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Azayla
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Asilah
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We arrvied in Azayla by train and were un ceromoniously dumped on the train tracks we did not see the station it was that tiny and besides which there were no awaiting taxis so we just walked down the road with the rest of the passengers, eventually Azaylas one and only bus stopped and asked us if we wanted a lift to town for 3 dirhams which we gladly accepted it was going to be such a long walk otherwise!
Be prepared for strangers approaching you and offering rooms, apartments Im sure they were genuine but we preferred to do the approaching in those circumstances, most were just ordainary people offering a room in their own home to us....freindly they are!

We got to Azayla about 7am in the morning so every where was pretty much shut there is only about 3-4 hotels in Azayla as its quite small the first 2 we visited looked horrible and we were thankful they were shut and then we stumbled upon Hotel Azayla and we were so pleased with it from the outside and the inside to.
The ritz it is not however it was very clean and the shower was hot, my bed sheets smelled clean and so did the rest of the hotel, I was very thankfull not to find any cockroaches!
Yes the room needs up dating really but it serves its purpose well, and has sat tv the bed was very comfy to.
There was no breakfast served untill the july season they told us but to be honest I hate moroccan breakfasts of breads and jams, egg and olives anyway.
The best thing about this hotel is the value for money we paid just 250 dirham ( apx 22 pounds) for a double room in the july august season they said it is 350 a double room
The staff were very very humble and polite and I was suprised they spoke english and spoke it quite well. There is a fantastic eatery opposite the hotel as you come out the hotel turn right cross the road approx 10 meters and its just a moroccan eatery called prix reasonable their food was delicious, looks shabby but its clean and the food is so cheap and TASTY!
Definately would go back to this hotel its the best one in Azayla in my view.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bujjeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 37 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2008

We found this place through the Lonely Planet and it turned out to be a mixed bag, coloured no doubt by the fact that during our one night stay we were suffering the full effects of a Moroccan parasite.

Getting from the train station to Asilah town was a bit of an ordeal – with no transport of any kind meeting the train on our arrival we had to trek with all of our luggage along the train tracks to a nearby road where we hailed a grand taxi (an ancient four door Mercedes Benz sedan which we shared with five others!).

Once at the hotel, the staff were amongst the friendliest we have ever encountered, although it helped that we spoke French because little English was spoken (the guys on reception also seemed to speak Spanish). The room was basic but large, had cable TV (a welcome surprise), and was clean enough. Moreover, hot water – something of a rarity in cheap Moroccan hotels – did seem to exist at this place, at least once the staff had switched on the mini boiler in the slightly musty bathroom (though the cleaners and the next guests to use this room probably had worse aromas to contend with).

That said, there were other certain other malodorous shortcomings which were not our doing.

For instance sheets did smell a little funky, as though they may not have been changed for some weeks, and the stench of the nearby sheep could be smelled even above the linen. Breakfast was a limited smorgasboard of filter coffee and bread with butter and jam, but, being ill, we didn’t feel up to it. The receptionist noticed we’d missed out on the croissants so went and got us some. Unable to refuse this kind gesture, we ate his offering and then immediately ran back to the toilet in our room.

Overall, a friendly budget hotel that was more than adequate for one night.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank ebit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlianaFotaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
2  Thank selma t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Plus calme à l'arrière.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chaouni68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: En la primera planta
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yolenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asilah
0.7 mi away
Hotel Al Khaima
Hotel Al Khaima
#5 of 5 in Asilah
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zelis
Hotel Zelis
#3 of 5 in Asilah
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patio de la Luna
Patio de la Luna
#2 of 5 in Asilah
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Tanger
Ibis Budget Tanger
#24 of 44 in Tangier
57 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#1 of 3 in Larache
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar tabia
Dar tabia
#1 of 5 in Asilah
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azayla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azayla

Address: Avenue Ibn Roch No:20, Asilah, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Asilah
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Asilah
Price Range: $40 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azayla 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Azayla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing