We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Friendly Staff”
Review of Hotel Azayla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Azayla
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Asilah
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great View, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Lovely hotel in Asilah. Nice rooftop deck. Very centrally located and convenient to seeing the city, beach, etc. Friendly staff. TV, AC, and a great view of the ocean from our room.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs, but room 13 has a nice partial beach view. It was quite a climb to get there though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san pablo de buceite
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

With every trip to Morocco docking in Tanger and driving south we stop over in Asilah for the first night and then on our return trip for a couple of nights. The Hotel Azayla is our first choice. This hotel is a basic, cheap hotel situated a few minutes walk from the medina and beach. The rooms are clean, equipped with satalite tv and an air conditioning unit, this doubles as a heater in the colder months, also the rooms are not small, as a couple of reviewers mentioned. Lets be honest the hotel does not charge the earth for staying there and it offers good, basic and extremely clean accommodation. For a one or two night stop-over when travelling through Morocco this hotel is ideal. Another plus is the security of having your car looked after each night and day you are staying there for 20 dirhams a day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank damsonjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NLD
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Nice rooms, small but well equiped with f.e. an airconditioning. Its nicely located just outside the centre, walking distance from the coast, medina and very nice fish restaurants.
Negative points during our stay: no hot water for one day and the internet was not working. In adition we had to pay 20d to parl on the street outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ton_NLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

The rooms are small, but very clean and with a nice street view. It's missing a restaurant but you home deliver anything.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aldoyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We arrvied in Azayla by train and were un ceromoniously dumped on the train tracks we did not see the station it was that tiny and besides which there were no awaiting taxis so we just walked down the road with the rest of the passengers, eventually Azaylas one and only bus stopped and asked us if we wanted a lift to town for 3 dirhams which we gladly accepted it was going to be such a long walk otherwise!
Be prepared for strangers approaching you and offering rooms, apartments Im sure they were genuine but we preferred to do the approaching in those circumstances, most were just ordainary people offering a room in their own home to us....freindly they are!

We got to Azayla about 7am in the morning so every where was pretty much shut there is only about 3-4 hotels in Azayla as its quite small the first 2 we visited looked horrible and we were thankful they were shut and then we stumbled upon Hotel Azayla and we were so pleased with it from the outside and the inside to.
The ritz it is not however it was very clean and the shower was hot, my bed sheets smelled clean and so did the rest of the hotel, I was very thankfull not to find any cockroaches!
Yes the room needs up dating really but it serves its purpose well, and has sat tv the bed was very comfy to.
There was no breakfast served untill the july season they told us but to be honest I hate moroccan breakfasts of breads and jams, egg and olives anyway.
The best thing about this hotel is the value for money we paid just 250 dirham ( apx 22 pounds) for a double room in the july august season they said it is 350 a double room
The staff were very very humble and polite and I was suprised they spoke english and spoke it quite well. There is a fantastic eatery opposite the hotel as you come out the hotel turn right cross the road approx 10 meters and its just a moroccan eatery called prix reasonable their food was delicious, looks shabby but its clean and the food is so cheap and TASTY!
Definately would go back to this hotel its the best one in Azayla in my view.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bujjeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2008

We found this place through the Lonely Planet and it turned out to be a mixed bag, coloured no doubt by the fact that during our one night stay we were suffering the full effects of a Moroccan parasite.

Getting from the train station to Asilah town was a bit of an ordeal – with no transport of any kind meeting the train on our arrival we had to trek with all of our luggage along the train tracks to a nearby road where we hailed a grand taxi (an ancient four door Mercedes Benz sedan which we shared with five others!).

Once at the hotel, the staff were amongst the friendliest we have ever encountered, although it helped that we spoke French because little English was spoken (the guys on reception also seemed to speak Spanish). The room was basic but large, had cable TV (a welcome surprise), and was clean enough. Moreover, hot water – something of a rarity in cheap Moroccan hotels – did seem to exist at this place, at least once the staff had switched on the mini boiler in the slightly musty bathroom (though the cleaners and the next guests to use this room probably had worse aromas to contend with).

That said, there were other certain other malodorous shortcomings which were not our doing.

For instance sheets did smell a little funky, as though they may not have been changed for some weeks, and the stench of the nearby sheep could be smelled even above the linen. Breakfast was a limited smorgasboard of filter coffee and bread with butter and jam, but, being ill, we didn’t feel up to it. The receptionist noticed we’d missed out on the croissants so went and got us some. Unable to refuse this kind gesture, we ate his offering and then immediately ran back to the toilet in our room.

Overall, a friendly budget hotel that was more than adequate for one night.

  • Liked — Friendly and enthusiastic staff
  • Disliked — The funky sheets
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank ebit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asilah
24.8 mi away
Hotel Al Khaima
Hotel Al Khaima
#5 of 5 in Asilah
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zelis
Hotel Zelis
#3 of 5 in Asilah
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patio de la Luna
Patio de la Luna
#2 of 5 in Asilah
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Ibis Tanger Free Zone hotel
23.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Tanger
Ibis Budget Tanger
#28 of 44 in Tangier
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
MIA Hostel Asilah
MIA Hostel Asilah
#1 of 13 in Asilah
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azayla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azayla

Property: Hotel Azayla
Address: Avenue Ibn Roch No:20, Asilah, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Asilah
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Asilah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azayla 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Azayla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing