We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest place to stay in Morocco”
Review of Kasbah Tebi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kasbah Tebi
Ranked #4 of 30 Ait Ben Haddou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the nicest place to stay in Morocco”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Kasbah Tebi. The house is a traditional Moroccan building house dating from the 11 century and beautifully renovated by Mohammed and his brother using the ancestral way of building. It is an amazing accomplishment. The entire place is quiet and charming. Wherever you look it is magnificent and the surroundings are just as great. Mohammed has taken great care of us during all of our stay. The food is fantastic and the diner with candlelight is just an experience we will never forget. We also had great time after the diner when Mohammed played traditional music with some of his Berber friend! The village (Ksour) of Ait Ben Haddou is unique and there are nice excursions to do from this place. We wish we would have stayed more than 3 nights but we will come back for sure!
Thanks you again to all of you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manolitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    31
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
72
108
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you want the most real moroccan experience while at the same time feeling ' you're home', you have arrived! This is a 11th century kasbah, being carefuly renovated by Mohammed with a clear vision of his berber roots. I can now understand why so many film teams such as 'laurence of Arabia', 'Jesus of Nazareth', 'Kingdom of Heaven','GLadiator' etc etc has chosen this beautiful and authentic site. To have stayed a night right in the middle of this old berber village was a privilige and a serene experience. It all started with Mohammed meeting us at the parking area where he loaded our baggage on his donkey 'Barack' and we crossed the river to get to the kasbah. We decided that our best meal during our 2 week stay in morocco was at Kasbah Tebi, Ait ben haddou. The evening (19 Dec) with some of his berber friends, joining in with their music was special. Thanks Mohammed and we hope to see you soon! Andre, Jackie and Cobus

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

One of the best nights of the entire Morocco trip was definitely spent at Kasbah Tebi. Located in the historical ksar, which is a UN Heritage Site, the Kasbah is a completely unique and wonderful place, cozy and well decorated. Mohamed, who is the owner, was definitely a highlight of the trip. He loves his heritage and culture and is extremely knowledgeable about the ksar and the Berber life. He met us just outside the ksar in the New Village and ushered us to the Kasbah. Upon arrival we received hot mint tea w/ some refreshments, and after we got all settled we were lucky to have a full tour of the ksar, narrated by Mohamed. His hospitality and desire to make you comfortable knows no bounds, and he succeeds on all accounts.

There are only 10 families who currently live in the “old village”, so there is no electricity or modern luxuries, which makes the Kasbah even more authentic and special. Mohamed was kind enough to offer us dinner that was delicious, peppering us with jokes as we ate and answering any questions we had about him, the area and the history of the ksar.

It is so refreshing to meet someone like Mohamed, a businessman who truly cares about what he does. Everything in Kasbah Tebi is infused with love and care, and you can definitely feel it. He is so kind, so service-oriented and so amicable, not to mention extremely hard working and dedicated. He renovated the Kasbah, which was owned by his family, and continues to invest in making it a better place. Meeting him was an absolute pleasure, especially after the hustle and bustle of Jemaa el Fna, the unbelievable stories of aggressive shop keepers in the Marrakesh souqs, and teens who want to get paid for walking you 10 meters to your riad. We felt so welcome and so respected, and it was a great stroke of luck that we came across Kasbah Tebi on the internet.

The Kasbah has been operational for only a year and a half or so, but Mohamed wants to keep it small and personable, even after he completes his several room expansion. I would recommend his place to ANYONE who is passing by Ait Benhaddou or Ouarzazate – definitely stay a night and enjoy the magical surroundings of the ksar and the beautiful Kasbah. I want to stress that the time we spent in Ait Benhaddou was breathtaking, surreal and absolutely delightful, and I strongly recommend it to anyone who loves adventures and doesn’t care to stay in corporate hotels.

Thank you Mohamed for everything!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanushka16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

What more could you ask for than to be the only foreigner in the village of Ait Ben Haddou, sleeping in an 11th century Kasbah with no electricity, under a storks nest?
It's not for everyone, I'll admit that. When I was there (Nov) it's cold at night. No TV, no lights.
But the rooms are nice, clean and big. The food is good. The setting is amazing. I've never been in a place more quiet at night....never. The owner Mohammed is extremely nice and helpful as are the rest of his family.
It's different...in a great way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_O_the_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Kasbah Tebi should be on your list of 100 best places to stay before you die! It was a fantastic experience staying here, sadly only one night was too short. Mohamed and Hassan speak great English, we were made so welcome it felt like we were visiting friends. The Kasbah has been beautifully renovated, there is no electricity but it just adds to the atmosphere. The food was delicious as was the whole experience - we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I'm not sure words can describe kasbah Tebi adequately enough.

It is truly stunning.

Mohammed, who has renovated and runs the guesthouse, took us on a tour of the kasbah which was incredible.

There's no electricity, there are just lots of candles, the rooms are full of character. Best to take a head torch! dinner was great, made and with local ingredients. It was lovely to talk with other travellers who had seeked this special place out.

Being locked in the medina at night and being up before sunrise was magical.

This isn't a place if you are looking for all mod cons. It's just very very special...if I can gather the courage to brave the mountain passes I will definitely be back. I have travelled all over the world , this is a one off place. I hope the electric that's coming next year doesn't spoil the magic.

Special thanks to Mohammed, a lovely person.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arranka27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had booked to stay only one night at Kasbah Tebi, but oh how we wished we'd had at least another night...

The kasbah is easily identified by the stork's nest on one of the towers.
The two brothers who own and run the Kasbah, Hassan and Mohammed, know the art of hospitality and both speak English very well.

When we arrived we were welcomed with berber whiskey and nuts. Kasbah Tebi has a great history and has been the Ait Ougaram family's home for several hundred's of years. Hassan is Ait Ben Haddou's representative for Unesco, the perfect man for the job as they show very well how to preserve the heritage for many years to come.

When night falls the kasbah is beautifully lit with candles everywhere. It certainly adds to the atmosphere and ambience, walking around and having dinner. Mohammed made us a great tajine dinner in the evening.

As wonderful as all this is, nothing can prepare you for the zillions of stars and the milky way above your head. We spent at least an hour stargazing, and could easily have done it for the entire night. Not even in the northern wilds of Canada have I ever seen a show like here!

The ksar of Ait Ben Haddou was smaller than I had imagined it to be, and at the time we were there some minor gate building works were carried out for yet another movie set. Yet this doesn't take any of the character or authenticity away.

There are plans to supply electricity to the ksar, but this would be absolutely sacrilege.
I do believe there are already a few points available, even within the kasbah (electric lights on the terrace but not in use). If it does come I hope that for us tourists' sake they will keep the show with the candles going...

There is plenty of accommodation on offer on the other side of the river in the new village of Ait Ben Haddou, but do you yourself a favour, ignore them and carry on to the ksar: it is a truly memorable experience that you won't easily forget!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mistaya71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ait Ben Haddou hotels
1.4 mi away
Ksar Ljanoub
Ksar Ljanoub
#1 of 3 in Ait Ben Haddou
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Caravane
Riad Caravane
#2 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Bagdad Cafe
Auberge Bagdad Cafe
#1 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Mouna
Dar Mouna
#11 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
229 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riad Ksar Ighnda
Riad Ksar Ighnda
#10 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
345 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kasbah Titrit & Spa
Kasbah Titrit & Spa
#1 of 1 in Tamedakhte
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Tebi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Tebi

Property: Kasbah Tebi
Address: Porte Ait Ougram Ksar Ait Benhaddou | Ksar Aït BenHaddou, Ait Ben Haddou 45122, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ait Ben Haddou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ait Ben Haddou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kasbah Tebi 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasbah Tebi is a unique place, a traditional berber kasbah of 400 years old fully renovated respecting the traditionals technics and materials, by the descendants of its builders : my family. Ideally located in the heart of the ksar Aït Benhaddou, our kasbah as all the old ksar was classified as wordheritage site in 1987 by Unesco. We offer 11 rooms (Standard and Deluxe) spread in single, double / twin and family suite. Our accommodation capacity allows us to host groups of travelers. Ideally located between Marrakech and the desert or Canyons of the High Atlas, Aït Benhaddou Ait is a perfect stage point for a southern morocco Tour. Don't hesitate to come enjoy an unique experience, a magical night, out of time, discover the authenticity of the culture and traditions of the berber from High Atlas, in a warm and romantic setting, completly lit with candles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Kasbah Tebi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing