We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice time at Tarisa resort...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tarisa Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mont Choisy
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice time at Tarisa resort...”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Excellent value for money. Indian food at the Tandoor restaurant is heavenly. Please ignore any feedback on this site about discrimination of Indians etc. - that's just non-sense. We are an Indian family from Bangalore and we were really taken care of very well by the Tarisa staff (esp. Mr. Singh, the F&B Manager, Ravin (loves to say "mein hoon na!") & Shiva (on the Management team)). If I go back to Mauritius, I'll stay only at Tarisa.

This hotel is very close to Grand Bay - Bazaar at Grand Bay is the best place to shop in Mauritius (lots of buses from Mont Choisy to Grand Bay). Very nice swimming pool & jacuzzi. Glass bottom boat ride (free) was really good.

Room Tip: Rooms 201-206 share a big balcony; if you prefer a private balcony, get a room in 3rd floor or >2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sureshv67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    288
    91
    49
    53
See reviews for
170
401
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

- Close to the public beach and resort facilities at beach were nice. The resort offers loads of activities like kayaking glass bottom ride etc.
- Indian food has less options but tasty. Try the Tandoor restaurant. The food is just awesome. Shiva is a good restaurant manager and fun person to talk to. Ashok on the other hand was very stubborn and absolutely had no interest in your concerns.
- Spa & sauna is good, make sure you take the free couple sauna. The staff at spa is very polite and helpful and even offers discounts for honeymooners.
- Indigo staff "openly" discriminates between Indian & French tourists. The Indigo manager even took my plate from the poolside table and kept it at a far away place. Waiter told me poolside tables are "only" for French. After complaining, he gave us & other couples poolside table next day. We could not believe this kind of stuff happens !
- The gym is not maintained well. There are very few machines and weights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yogi_bravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Firstly the location of tarisa just amazing, rooms and room service is also good....and most important thing which i heard of before going to mauritius was discrimination but after reaching mauritius it was nothing, infact in hotel tarisa all staff were very nice....i felt like i m in india. ..gr8 place, good people and amazing hotel tarisa!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr_paragnehete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Considering the price the hotel is very decent to stay. The location of the hotel is Excellent. They have 2 restaurants Indigo and Tandoor. They serve breafkast in Indigo only. And you have an option to choose between Indigo and Tandoor for the dinner. But you need to decide this in the morning only. I saw lots of comments on staffs rude behaviour in Tarisa. I went there with my family (me, wife and 2 kids) and the staff is very friendly and i haven't noticed any racial stuff even once. The staff is very helpful even if you met them outside hotel. I am really impressed with there staff especially Shiva. Yes they have very limited room service but other than that everything was very good about the hotel. Overall it was a great trip somewhat spoilt by our travel agent D'Paul. Tarisa has an excellent location, much much better than other hotels in the North region which are in desserted place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prakash r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moga, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I had recently visited Tarisa Resort. And, to be honest i am really surprised by the services offered by staff over there like Tarisa Resort have a very good Indian Restaurant named "Tandoor". I like the hospitality of the staff; they personally interact with all the guest at regular basis regarding their day to day experiences in Mauritius as well as about Tarisa Resort.One more thing i would like to highlight is the location of the resort;its very close to the beach and its just "FANTABULOUS". They also offer services at the beach like Glass Bottom Boat,Kayak and Pedal Boat and everyone must experience these services because its totally free of cost (nothing is free in Mauritius except these services offered by Tarisa : ) . One more thing I would like to add is that Tarisa Resort offers 2 bottles of water everyday which is excellent because mostly all hotels and Resorts is far away from markets so thats the best part. No other hotel offer this service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parshant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I recently travelled and stayed at this resort on my honeymoon. To be honest after reading the last couple of reviews i was skeptical about this resort, but the experience was amazing.

There are lots of people who have mentioned that there is lot of racism, the staff is rude, no room service and they dont treat indians polietly...but i found the experience exactly opposite.

Let me start by saying that i am an indian and there is no such thing being followed in tarisa.. I repeat there is no racism and certaintly the staff is not at all rude. Mr. Singh the hotel manager is himself an indian and he is very polite and friendly.
All that stuff is written by people who do not know how to follow rules and how to behave.

Let me start by the location.
This resort is at a great location.. It is right in front of the beach.. You get the view of the beach from your rooms. You can get to enjoy a peaceful evening walk or a morning walk on the beach.

The rooms are equipped with A.C, T.V a mini fridge and wardrobes.. plus the other furnishings.
They provide you with 2 bottles of water everyday. And there is no other hotel in mauritius that provides 2 bottles to the guests everyday. In other hotels, you have to pay for water.
The rooms are cleaned everyday and all the towels are replaced.
You feel very comfortable and cosy in the rooms of this hotel.

Now on to service.. they do not have room service and it is mentioned in the brochure that they present you when you enter the hotel. Not only tarisa, but maximum hotels in mauritius do not have room service. If people care just enough to read the brochure they will come to know about this.

Now the most imp thing Food:- Being indian we are very used to indian food and indian taste.. and this is the only restraunt in mount choisy that has a good indian restraunt. The food over here is great. Our friends who had stayed in other resorts used to come over to this restraunt just for dinner as the food in their hotels used to be more european. They cook very decent food and it feels great when you get indian food away from home.
They have 2 restraunts one for indian food (tandoor) and one for european (indigo). People can opt to go in any one of them. If you want to dine in the european restraunt you just have to notify them in the morning so that they adjust accoordingly. But you cannot order indian food while sitting in indigo restraunt.
I saw people dining in european restraunt and ordering indian food. That is againt their policy, people should avoid doing that.

And finally the staff is very friendly and polite. They are very co-operative.

Overall the experience of staying in this hotel was great... and it made our holiday better.

Room Tip: Rooms facing swimming pool or beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muzaffar_shaikh1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Recently spent a week at this resort with my wife.Found the entire experience memorable,Great resort location-Facilities/games and entertainment was absolutely good.

Had the opportunity to meet the manager Mr Singh and also Mr Haroun who were extremely helpful and obliging. Meals were also good with variety and excellent spread.

Great value and great overall stay...

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sathen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mont Choisy
0.3 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
817 reviews
2.3 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,332 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casuarina Resort & Spa
Casuarina Resort & Spa
#4 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Le Grand Bleu Hotel
#7 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
342 reviews
1.7 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
#6 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarisa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarisa Resort & Spa

Property: Tarisa Resort & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, Mont Choisy, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Mont Choisy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mont Choisy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarisa Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tarisa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarisa Hotel Mont Choisy
Tarisa Resort & Spa Mauritius/Mont Choisy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing