We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, really can't fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mon Choisy Beach R.
Ranked #1 of 8 Mont Choisy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Places like Mon Choisy Beach Resort make Mauritius a more affordable place to visit without lowering standards. I was looking for a b&b or small hotel for my sister and i to stay on the 2nd week of a 2 week holiday. You get the modern places like this, or i would call the Mauritian style places which are a bit more homely. We have family in Mauritius but we wanted to be by the coast in the North, and we came across this apart-hotel, which for the price and location were great value for money. After seeing all the pictures and reviews it was sold to us.
And upon arriving, i can say we were not disappointed. Modern, clean, stylish, nice gardens, air con, wifi, a great pool and service with a smile. What more could you want? As we have been to Mauritius on numerous occasions, i think staying all inclusive or half board in Mauritius is a bit of a waste as it tends to keep you in the hotel, when there is so much to see. The food in restaurants is of high standard and the street food is amazing (try it all), and the supermarkets and shops are fresh and cheap, and so is the alcohol. We kept our fridge stocked up with water, beer, fruit and bought fresh bread and croissants on a morning. Perfect. That is part of the reason, why i think a place like MCBR is ideal. No over priced mini bar items to worry about. Nice little kitchen, fully stocked, air con and fan in the room. The beds are comfortable, the shower is amazing, if i was to be picky, then they could do with extractor fans in the bathrooms. And the pool was perfect as well, we never had to fight for a place by the pool, there were plenty of beds, a great view of the sea and lovely place to relax.
I prefer the North of the Island, Grand Baie is great, bars, restaurants, banks, shopping centres, street food vendors etc, Perebere beach is probably one of the best in the world and they were both about 10 mins away. I would recommend hiring a car to get around Mauritius, the motorway network makes it easy to get around. MCBR is the other side on Mon Choisy (from Grand Baie), so a bit of a walk if you want to be around there but there is still a very nice beach and plenty of shops in the Mon Choisy area.
I have recommended Mon Choisy Beach Resort to some friends and will definitely be returning when i visit in the new year. Thanks to Sadec and all the staff for helping make our stay as good as it was.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jfad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas A, General Manager at Mon Choisy Beach R., responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,
Thank you again so much for taking the time to write such a detail review and such nice comments on us!
It was a real pleasure and honour to have you stay with us.
We sincerely hope to see you here again in the future!
Warm regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
There are newer reviews for Mon Choisy Beach R.
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 487 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

This block of apartments is right on the beach with the public beach on the one side and a number of properties the other. Between us and the public beach was a construction site that is noisy Monday to Saturday. The enormous salt water pool is beautiful and right on the beach boundry. Rooms are clean and modern with good bathroom ensuites.
Unfortunately there is no beach to speak of. One needs to walk left or right for a considerable time to find beach sand. The right is closer but quite busy. The left is about a kilometer but very pleasant and safe for kiddies. The snorkeling is excellent in relatively shallow water.
This resort (even though the majority of the units don't have sea views) is good value for money but be prepared to take a bus or taxi to the nearest supermarket about five kilometers away. The same applies to restaurants with most choice in Grand Bay

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas A, General Manager at Mon Choisy Beach R., responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Ray,
Thank you do much for such gentle words on our Residence.
It has been a long time since you were here and a lot of things have changed.
We hope to be able to welcome you here again soon.
Warm regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Convinced by all the positive reviews we booked our 7 days trip to Mauritius at this place. The residence is exactly like the photos on all the websites. Rooms are great and the swimming pool is very nice and never crowded. But for us what really made the difference is the excellent service from all the staff. It was really what we appreciated the most. All the way from Justine at the reception, to the lady cleaning our room and the gardener who is really passionate about his garden. All I can say I will go there again as soon as I get a chance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Adamjee, General Manager at Mon Choisy Beach R., responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Justin,
Thank you so much for your very kind words on our little Residence.
The whole team is very touched and hope to be able to welcome you and Anna again very soon.
Warm regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is the first review I have ever left on TripAdvisor and was tempted to do this because of the friendly helpful care we received here. The staff from the security staff and gardner to the manager were most helpful and considerate of our well being. The rooms are very well appointed with all necessary kitchen utensils and the studio apartment was kept spotlessly clean. The well kept pool and poolside area overlooks the beach ideal for a lazy day.
All in all a lovely holiday, would definitely come back.
Thanks to you Mont Choisy Beach hotel

Room Tip: Best ones face the sea
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidTw15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Adamjee, Directeur général at Mon Choisy Beach R., responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

We feel so privileged you wrote such a positive review on Tripadvisor.
The whole staff are grateful you appreciated their kindness and professionalism. Your nice comments are very encouraging. Thank you!

You were also sensible to the comfort and cleanliness of our fully-equipped studios. We are glad you enjoyed your holidays in our Residence!

Of course, it would be a real pleasure to welcome you again soon. Please, do not hesitate to contact us, may you wish to live other "lazy days" by the pool in Mauritius!

Sunny regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This property is quite new with very neat interior, tidy grounds and all in all a fantastic self-catering accommodation choice with 24-hour security.

With accommodation in hot/humid places I just wish they included extractor fans in the bathroom. Otherwise you have to leave the window open and in doing so inviting in lots and lots of mosquitoes and other creepy crawlies early mornings and at night!!!

The staff are very very friendly (many thanks to Sadec the manager, and Jocelyn).

They allowed us to check out almost three hours later than usual, which essentially bought us another day on the beach.

The only negative aspect of the stay there was the very loud construction work next door going between 8am till 5pm (see pics)... very very very annoying and disruptive, but I guess we should have called and checked with the hotel if there was any construction work going on in the vicinity!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor as you get a rooftop patio as well as a normal balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manu_MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas A, General Manager at Mon Choisy Beach R., responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Manyu,
Thank you so much for your nice words on our Residence.
It has been a long time since you were her, a lot of things have changed and the construction next door is an old story!
We hope to be able to welcome you here again soon.
Warm regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The emphasis here is very much on privacy and relaxation. The studio apartments are well appointed with the best bed we have ever slept in! Pool area is serene (its heated not as website says) with access to the public beach if you want it (which is very noisy but fortunately 100m away). The hotel is still some way to Grand Baie being 10 minutes on the bus so its not particularly convenient for eating out and there is very little choice nearby so a car is recommended. Overall we enjoyed our short stay but felt it was lacking in facilities.

Room Tip: garden rooms are more private but lack the ocean view
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonyndcarolnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Adamjee, Directeur général at Mon Choisy Beach R., responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers on Tripadvisor.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our Residence. We are thankful you insist on how comfortable our studios are. You point out the calm that allowed you to relax within the complex.

You also mention our location. Indeed, our Residence is located meters away from the magnificent beach of Mon Choisy and a few minutes away from Grand-Baie. Our guests can thus choose between the quietness of our complex but also the animation of the nearby seaside resorts.

We hope your holidays in Mauritius remain good memories and that we will have the chance to welcome you again soon!

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Our stay in this resort was perfect. First we were very lucky and got a special discount on the room rate, at the normal rate it would have been out of our budget. So excellent value for money. The staff was friendly and helpful, they were always happy to guide us every day and help us discover this wonderful little Paradise Island. Rooms were great and very well cleaned. Kitchenette was perfect to have breakfast. We were out every night for lunch and diner. I very much recommend this place – definitely worth the 5 stars!

Room Tip: Their communicating rooms were great for us and our 2 children
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VishJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Adamjee, Directeur général at Mon Choisy Beach R., responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so flattered by your nice comments on Tripadvisor. Thank you so much for recommending us to other travellers.

We are very pleased to read you enjoyed our fully equipped rooms and our whole range of services. You think we offer an "excellent value for money". We are very grateful. That is what we are working at every day.

What's more, you emphasize on the friendliness and professionalism of our staff. The whole team is very happy to have helped you discover all the places of interest on the island.

We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you again soon!

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mont Choisy
0.2 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
852 reviews
2.4 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,411 reviews
1.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
21.8 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
830 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Pereybere
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mon Choisy Beach R.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mon Choisy Beach R.

Address: Royal Road, Mont Choisy, Mauritius 230
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Mont Choisy
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mont Choisy
Price Range: $75 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mon Choisy Beach R. 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the magnificent lagoon of Mon Choisy, our Apart Hotel is next to the one of the most beautiful and longest beaches where you can swim, snorkel, sail or soak up the north coast sun. A short walk will bring you to a number of activities such as water sports, tennis, horse riding, deep sea fishing or enjoy a drink in the nearby friendly restaurant. This Apart Hotel offers the perfect sun and fun holiday with the swimming pool and beach to laze around, whilst the more fun lovers can head further north, a 10 minute drive to the cosmopolitan coastal town of Grand Bay renowned for its restaurants, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mon Choisy Beach R. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mon Choisy Beach R. Mauritius/Mont Choisy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing