We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mon Choisy Beach R.
Ranked #1 of 8 Mont Choisy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This beach resort may not be the last word in luxury but I would absolutely recommend it for the reasons below:
1) The price is reasonable especially if booked through Booking.com
2) The room is big and spacious with a balcony, a sizeable bathroom and kitchen and a double bed.
3) They provide free wifi which you can get in the room and pool although there are times where the connection fails but it's not for long.
4) It's right by the beach and also has a pool with umbrellas and deck chairs. It's your choice - swim in the Indian Ocean or in the pool.
5) It comes with pots and pans, an induction cooker, a fridge, plates, bowls, cutleries, glasses, electric kettle, microwave oven so if you get the urge to cook, you can indulge. Otherwise, you can order food from nearby restaurants or eat out.
6) The room is clean, the bed comfortable and room service is daily.

There is a bus stop about 2 minutes-walk but if you don't mind splurging, you can call for a taxi. Taxi fares are 300 rupee to go to Grand Baie per trip. Otherwise, you can rent a car to get around.

One drawback is that the supervisor/caretaker/manager is there only during working hours (9/9.30am to about 5pm) and there is no phone in the room so you need to get to the office to speak to him. If your room is not on the ground floor, you would need to use the stairs as there is no lift available.

They do help to carry your luggage for you though.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slinkay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Adamjee, General Manager at Mon Choisy Beach R., responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor.
Please note that our reception is closed after normal office hours but there is always someone on call 24hrs a day should you require anything.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon at Mon Choisy Beach Resort.
Warm regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    113
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
44
320
24
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at Mon Choisy Beach Resort for 8 nights. Right from the beginning of our trip I knew that we had chosen a good resort. Our flight arrived early in the morning and check in wasn't until 2, so Sadec the General Manager told us that he would take care of our luggage and even gave us 50 rupees to head to Grand Baie to get some lunch and take in some early sight seeing. The bus stop was less than a 5 minute walk from the resort.
When we returned our baggage was in our rooms already. The room was simple, but quite chic. The colour scheme was nice- tiffany blue, white and beige and had the beach vibe throughout. Our room was on the second floor with a garden view. It had a small kitchen with utensils and appropriate cooking ware included already. The king size bed was comfy and the washroom was a good size complete with a rainshower. The balcony was perfect for having meals especially in the morning when you would hear the roosters crow and feel the humidity all around without the full blast of the sun just yet. We ordered breakfast (250 rupees per person- came with sliced bread, jam, butter, croissants, juice, yoghurt and fruit) and dinner (menu in the room had good variety with fair prices) from Stephanies a local restaurant down the street. Richard the owner was super nice and even delivered for us when he was closed once or twice. Wi-fi is offered in the reception area as well as the pool area. I would definitely suggest to bring a laptop or have a smart phone with you to take advantage of this. The pool area was really nice. There was an infinity pool overlooking the ocean. Beautiful palm trees, plants and flowers all around. There was never a shortage for beach chairs and it was the perfect place to get some sun, read, snooze and swimming in. The pool wasn't supervised, however it would have been nice to have a deeper pool. There was a gate in the pool area that would take you out on to the water front. The water was too rocky in the area of the resort, but if you walk a little further down there's a lot of places to go swimming. There are plenty of public beaches on either side of the resort.
Mon Choisy Beach Resort was definitely a really good alternative to all the 5 star resorts in Mauritius. We stayed at a 5 star resort at the end of our trip and we were very happy with Mon Choisy still. Looking back we would have to say that the size of the place is perfect, security was on top of things, it was super clean, comfortable, friendly and very convenient.
Thank you Sadec and Mon Choisy Beach Resorts entire team- Jamie and Catherine

Room Tip: Definitely request an ocean view if possible and a second or third floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heart_2628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Adamjee, General Manager at Mon Choisy Beach R., responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for these very kind words on the Residence and on the whole team here at Mon Choisy.
It is always rewarding for us to see that guest have really enjoyed their stay as it what we work very hard for every day of the year.
We hope to have the pleasure of having you again here soon.
Warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed at the Mon Choisy Beach Resort in the last week of December 2012.

I loved room I was in, it was situated on the top floor which meant I had good privacy, this room also had a great view over the pool and the coast line.

The rooms were cleaned and dishes were washed when I was away so no body knocked on my room door when I was asleep. That was very nice.

Very good value for money, I recommend this resort if you are travelling long distances like I did and don't have a big budget for your stay not only that the kitchenette allowing you to cook your own food which means you don't spend much on restaurant food instead you can spend that money elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALISTER N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Adamjee, General Manager at Mon Choisy Beach R., responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Alister,
Thank for your recommendation of our Residence to future travellers.
It was a real pleasure to have you at Mon Choisy Beach Resort.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We visited this hotel at the beginning of December. It's a self catering resort, so there is a little kitchenette attached. We followed everybody on Tripadvisor's advise with regards to the Super-U and using the Triolet bus a long the main road (MRU25 pp to Grand Baie). The rooms are clean and fairly modern, offering good value for money. The little patio area with a garden view was perfect for enjoying our meals. Television channels are limited though. Free wifi at pool area & reception helped us with planning our activities and this is wonderful extra since we have always had to pay exuberant prices on our travels. Cleaning of rooms was a first for us on a self-catering holiday so this was really awesome! The salt water pool is really beautiful and enjoyable with a spectacular sunset view. The only disappointments were the stray cats which seemed to use the pool sand area as a litter box from time to time. Also, we didn't get to chill outside @ the pool area at nights, when we tried there was a cockroach. But these issues are not specific to the hotel, it is all over the island! Our biggest disappointment was Stephanie Snacks, who overcharged us on a sit down breakfast since we asked particularly for eggs and made the most horrible cup of coffee. We arrived on a late flight so did not have the opportunity to order to the room or figure out an interim plan before our explorations. My advice is take the bus to Grand Baie there are lots of really cheap great establishments serving breakfast. We did hear the rooster in the mornings but found this very funny, and a typical attribute of the contrasts of lifestyle between the locals and luxury hotel environments of Mauritius :)
The most beautiful beach on the North in our opinion as beach bums is just a km or so to the south of the hotel which is Trou Aux Biche. Spectacular! We only managed to get there twice :( because we were intent on exploring the entire Island. There is a great food vendor with extremely cheap lovely baguettes or burgers for only MRU50! Hiring the umbrellas & loungers are a bit pricey @ MRU 400. There are water activities on offer for those interested.
The Mont Choisy Beach itself was nice. It is long ending off with Club Med. Great for a morning run because of the Casaurina trees.
I would definitely recommend this perfectly located hotel with the beautiful pool :)

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view, close to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leila021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Adamjee, General Manager at Mon Choisy Beach R., responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Leila,
Thank you for your review and for recommending us to other travellers.
We do appreciate your positive feedback on Mon Choisy Beach Resort.
We look forward welcoming you again.
Warm regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I visited this hotel last December with my husband. We were checked in immediately and a beautiful sea view room was given to us. The pool was really clean and we enjoyed it a lot. The hotel is very close to a resort from where you can hire a car for yourself. We hired one for three days and my husband drove it himself. It was a very good choice as you can go wherever and whenever you want. The hotel didn't have any restaurant but, the room was equipped with the kitchen, we just need to go to the nearest grocery store and get stuff. And trust me it was value for money staying in this hotel. Will surely return one day....and one more thing its very close to grand bay too, just carry a map with you always, probably 10-15mins drive from hotel. And, yes money exchanger is very near too. Just walk out of the resort and star walking towards your right.

Room Tip: Try and choose a room with sea view on the ground floor. It was our room and I guess the best ones t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diksha3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Adamjee, General Manager at Mon Choisy Beach R., responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your kind words on Mon Choisy Beach Resort.
We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N/A
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had a five day trip to Mauritius. Our first day to the country. The stay at Mon Choisy was comfy, cozy and nothing better to ask for. The service is exceptional and we had a good time. Wifi was free (something that has become a necessity), and food comes easy when ordered from the front desk. The hotel manager Sadec is understanding and thoughtful, making the experience a wonderful and memorable one to have. Housekeeping was prompt, the security and staff were courteous. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anxious88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Adamjee, General Manager at Mon Choisy Beach R., responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We hope to see you soon in Mon Choisy!
Warm Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

firstly, exceptional value for money... as you get very comfy, modern-designed and cool studio. which is very close to the beach
service was exceptional, hotel not crowded, with plenty of room for everyone by the pool.
again swimming pool area : wooden deck, stylish furniture, great layout...
located not far from grand baie with super U(supermarket) is short bus ride away(22 rupees single -december12)
would i come back? - for sure, even though i never visited same place twice, as thought life was too short for it... think this will be exception.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Adamjee, General Manager at Mon Choisy Beach R., responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Alex,
Thank you very much for your kind words.
It really gives a big moral boost to the whole team here to see that we have managed to make your stay a memorable one!
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mont Choisy
0.2 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
817 reviews
2.4 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
21.8 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
768 reviews
2.4 mi away
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mon Choisy Beach R.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mon Choisy Beach R.

Property: Mon Choisy Beach R.
Address: Royal Road (Coastal Road), Mont Choisy, Mauritius 230
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Mont Choisy
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mont Choisy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mon Choisy Beach R. 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the magnificent lagoon of Mon Choisy, our Apart Hotel is next to the one of the most beautiful and longest beaches where you can swim, snorkel, sail or soak up the north coast sun. A short walk will bring you to a number of activities such as water sports, tennis, horse riding, deep sea fishing or enjoy a drink in the nearby friendly restaurant. This Apart Hotel offers the perfect sun and fun holiday with the swimming pool and beach to laze around, whilst the more fun lovers can head further north, a 10 minute drive to the cosmopolitan coastal town of Grand Bay renowned for its restaurants, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mon Choisy Beach R. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mon Choisy Beach R. Mauritius/Mont Choisy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing