We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice (a bit crowded) place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Padua, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“nice (a bit crowded) place”
Reviewed July 26, 2007

We spent here our honeymoon, surely we won't forget Pulau Redang.
After landing at Terengganu airport we have been taken to the jetty, there we had to wait ca. 2 hours cause the boat only leaves at fixed times.
The resort is quite big and located in Redang widest beach, there are many other resort so forget about an exclusive place.
Our travel agent had an italian speaking guide in the resort that picked us at the pier and let us reach our room directly skipping the check-in procedure (she also took care of us for the rest of the stay, very helpfull even if english is largely spoken by the staff).
The deluxe sea view room is big and nicely decorated, the bathroom has two separate rooms (toilette and shower), the balcony wasn't huge but we could enjoy a great sea-view.
Not all the deluxe sea rooms have this view, some other couples had deluxe sea that had some huge palms in front of the balcony!

The overall cleanliness is quite ok, but due to the jugle covering all the isle, insects are a problem and even if asked the maid haven't sprayed the door and window daily.
We had a drawback with the fruits and sweet sparkling juice given as honeymoon present, we left the glasses and the empty plate on the table inside the room and found it completely covered by ants. We also found a spider in the shower room.
Anyhow we hadn't other complaints besides these.

Besides the other (poorer) resorts on the same beach there is not an "outside", hence to eat you have to use what is inside the resort, that means the buffet restaurant at the first floor in the main building, the "a la carte" restaurant at the ground floor, the beach bar (that also serve some sandwiches and burgers) and the Warong Food Court near the leisure room.
We only had the breakfast voucher and have been given a free bbq voucher, we enjoyed this option cause we haven't liked the buffet alot, while the bbq was nice (they cook meat and fish at the moment) also the Steamboat Galore we had on our last day was very nice (you need to reserve it before 2pm in the same day).
After a couple of days the resort used the "a la carte" restaurant for breakfast, trying to focus more on western guest, this was very smart cause the upfloor buffet was always very crowded.
My advice is to give a try to Warong Food Court, we enjoyed there alot, less people (the staff usually eat there) lower prices and better food.

The sea is gorgeuos and quite clean, you won't find any coral reef at hand (but many death corals lies on the beach) but there are alot of tropical fishes swimming.
Unfortunately the resorts and many guests do not respect the beach alot, I think Redang won't last for long.
We only went for the marine park tour (with another resort we only spent 20RM instead of 40RM asked by Laguna Resort), the place is beatifully stuffed with tropical fishes but far to overcrowded (the people fed the fishes even if there is a 20.000RM fine and 2 days in jail).

To keep it short, we liked the accomodation, beach and sea (don't understand why some many people stayed at the pool), the staff friendliness and relaxing atmosphere, they might improve the cleaning (even if acceptable, you cannot keep anything edible or just dirty in the room).

  • Liked — location, room view
  • Disliked — insects
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ceccoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    440
    160
    35
    35
See reviews for
302
298
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

Spent 2 nights at Laguna Redang Resort. A very nice resort. Beautiful
beach and very fine white sand. Room was clean and big with a nice balcony. The downside was that we had to beware of monkeys who would steal pieces of clothing if hung out to dry on the balcony. My swimsuit disappeared from the balcony while we were out for lunch.

We were given 3 snorkelling trips but only went for 2. It was a stressful affair because it was such a huge group. Five boatload of snorkellers in all. Snorkelling off the beach on our own was a more relaxing affair. Althought nothing much to see, but if you have bread, you can feed the fish. Plenty of them.

The only thing that we didn't like was the food at the buffet restaurant. It was a hit and miss affair. The food was so-so. There was a bbq dinner on the second night. The meats were overdone and dry. Didn't eat any of those.

Overall, it is a beautiful resort but be prepared for the crowds.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wlhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2007

I went to Laguna Redang with my boyfriend on 2004. This is a really nice resort and beach life compare to Perhentian which I just came back on Apr 2007.

The service, location, room service and scenery and quite good..

Our room is quite big. Even we have only 2 persons stay inside the room but the resort let us stay at the quad sharing room. It is really nice...

The most attractive at Redang Island are the crystal clear water with the very nice marine park which has so many lovely fish and beautiful coral...

I will definitely come back again....

  • Liked — Location, Scene, Service and Room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherry_Tam78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2007

My fiance proposed to me on our first night in Laguna resort. That was a really romantic night and we had a sea view room. The room was just simply awesome. It's spacious, well decorated and very clean. We also had our own balcony where we could watch the sea and chit chat! The beach is beautiful but the snorkelling session we had was not impressive at all. We didn't see much fish and were cramped into a small boat to be taken to the sea. Further, the crowd that day was massive and noisy. The restaurant serves nice and hot buffet but somehow we juz felt we couldn't get much privacy. We had to line up in this massive queue like school children to get our food. During the last day of our stay, my fiance suggested to have our meal in another restaurant to avoid the queue. But we only found out there was only one ala carte restaurant at the lobby in the entire resort. Nevertheless, I would say we really enjoyed our stay in this resort. The room was nice and cosy. There was also a small bar that serves very nice cocktail and at night a good live band on the beach. Laguna redang resort, in short, a good place to have your lie in and wake up to a warm and beautiful beach. A brillliant place to unwind.

  • Liked — nice and clean room
  • Disliked — noisy crowd at times
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank geordiechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battersea, London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2006

We should have realised how it was going to be when we were waiting for the boat to take us out to the island. You go to an arrivals hall & get a boarding pass for you & your luggage before boarding the boat. Once you arrive at the resort jetty you are herded into an arrival hall for a "welcome speech" where it soon becomes clear this is not a holiday resort where you can suit yourself.

This place is so structured, breakfast is served until 9.30am (I'm on holiday!!) lunch is from 12 - 2pm & dinner from 7-9.30pm. If you miss any of these times there is a small local foodstall on the site that opens at 5pm otherwise you will go hungry. The food in the buffet restaurant resembled a poor eat all you like chinese buffet with lukewarm bland food. We were hoping to get a taste of malaysian culture here but failed to find it. We had the option of a la carte on the package we booked & after a couple of days admitted defeat & ordered a la carte for lunch & dinner every day. They do a barbeque every other night, it was like a chicken satay feeding frenzy on these nights, I have never seen so many people consume so much satay, they must have been starving.

The pool here is great but very popular with all the children, who all seem to swim in life jackets? We decided to do one of the boat trips that was included in the package & regretted it as they make you arrive at the jetty half an hour before the boats go to wait for a health & safety lecture. It then transpired that 4 boats from the Laguna were doing the same trip to an island where the turtles lay their eggs (I'm sure they love the boats full of tourists) & another 3 boats from a neighbouring resort, so all in all there were about 250 people in the sea . Not really the chilled snorkelling trip we had in mind. However we then realised that all the kids go on these trips & its a good time to hang out at the pool as they all disappear for a few hours when the trips are on.

After 3 days we asked to leave & were told it was not possible as there were no seats on any airlines to KL & the hotel wouldn't refund us so we had to stay, we then had the fortune to notice another couple eating a steamer (soup based dish with vegetables, fresh fish, seafood, meats & noodles) & were able to order one with 24 hours notice. They really should advertise these on the menu, it was fantastic. The best thing we ate all week. The drinks at the bar were overpriced & small measures & the service was painfully slow.

The beach was beautiful & worth having a walk around the headland to see the other resorts if you tire of the Laguna. We checked out the karaoke & disco one night & realised everyone was taking it far too seriously so we left after a drink.

We booked a premier seaview as this was all that was supposed to be available on the dates we travelled, the only difference with this room was a larger balcony & not worth the extra cost as the balcony is covered so you wouldn't use it during the day anyway. There were 5 tv channels, 3 malaysian, 1 of very olf films & documentaries that were dubbed/edited at the hotels discretion & the last channel was a video of the hotel & facilities that just loops & loops 24/7. The room was cleaned 3 times a day with clean towels every time & a turndown service in the late afternoon. The housekeeping was good.

If you are travelling with children & looking for a structured holiday with a timetable to follow this might suit you. Otherwise I'm inclined to say it bore more than a passing resemblance to Butlins in the South China Sea.

Helpful?
17 Thank doris74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Redang
1.6 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,203 reviews
2.4 mi away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Pulau Redang
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Redang Pelangi Resort
Redang Pelangi Resort
#5 of 12 in Pulau Redang
198 reviews
21.9 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Redang Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Redang Island Resort

Property: Laguna Redang Island Resort
Address: Pasir Panjang, Redang Island | S-5, Wisma Tenang, Jalan Sultan Sulaiman, Pulau Redang 20000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Redang
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Redang Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Laguna Redang Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Redang Island Hotel Pulau Redang
Hotel Laguna Redang Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing