We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please save Redang!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laguna Redang Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Certificate of Excellence
KL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Please save Redang!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

There is no doubt that the beach and marine life is fantastic but what a shame that hotels like Laguna caters towards mass tourism. For those looking for peace and quiet, the Laguna or any of the other resorts along this strech of the beach is NOT recommended. Blaring music whole day & night long(up to midnight!!), karaoke and the millions of tourist were a horror. And there is NO WAY you can run away from the horrific sound of techno!

Meal times was not a pleasure as we were seated amongst the hundreds of other noisy tourist which felt more like a chicken coup with loud clacking chickens! Food was average.

Snorkelling was a nightmare too with at least a hundred other people and a dozen boats at the same place. It was much better to snorkel just at the beach. There were even reef sharks less than a hundred metres from the hotel's beach. Just beware about bumping into one of the dozens of other tourists.

Thursdays and Saturdays are the worst, as there are groups from the ship cruise being shipped in to the Laguna hotel. Needless to say, it was like a circus.

Should you still decide to stay here, a word of warning: If you don't return your towel on the same day, the hotel will call you at 745am to remind you to return it! No consideration at all.

I sincerely hope that our Malaysian government starts taking action against the mass tourism before the island is totally destroyed. Redang is one of THE most beautiful islands and I hope it stays so.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Prinzess_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    428
    148
    35
    32
See reviews for
278
291
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

Redang is a very beautiful island, last year we discover it at berjaya resort (Very beautiful resort)
Laguna is a 2-3 stars hotel, very very bad toilet and shower in rooms.
The food at Sang suria restaurant is very very bad.

Berjaya is 30%-40% more expensive but 200% much better !!!

For information, the food and the rooms in a 3 stars hotel like ibis is better that this hotel !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AxelFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

I just went to Redang last year and stayed in Laguna Redang. I took the 3D2N (inclusive 3 snorkeling trips n meals) package coz it was cheaper. Once in Kuala Terengganu airport, I took the resort airport transfer service (the bus but you have to pay in advance - 2 way: RM 36.00/adult and RM 18.00/child) to Merang Jetty to catch the boat over to the island.

The resort was too crowded with tourists mainly from China, Taiwan & Singapore, too well organized (in a bad way) but the room was spacious... no free wifi. FANTASTIC VIEW with its crystal blue-green waters!!!. There's even a baby shark area not far from the resort, so amazing....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alina6240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

we fell in love with redang when we went to berjaya last year. the beach, the sea, it was fantastic. this year we decided to try laguna instead, well, more like we wanted to try the other side of the island as opposed to the resort itself. we've read the reviews and we were prepared for the whole sha-bang of tourists, loud "boom-boom-pow"s, and the almost "regimental-like" management of the resort. we are happy to report that they are all still there. but despite that, and the fact that the beach service is almost non-existant, we were OK with our stay.

we booked the package with berjaya air for a 4d3n stay. the beach is still one of the best beaches i've seen; white sands and clear blue water. the bad thing is that it's not so private. it's understandable that there are multiple resorts on the stretch but i'd wished laguna's mgmt do something about the boats catering to other resorts that honked and parked right infront of laguna. there are no waiters on the beach attending to you; if you want to order something, you have to go all the way to the main building. you hv to get towels and mats at the pool area. be fast, the mats are very very limited.

there are a number of activities to do. u can snorkel at the bay infront of the resort. snorkeling at the marine park is like floating and bumping into ppl. i guess if you take the open sea snorkeling it wont be that bad. the recreational center has pool tables, board games etc but be prepared to queue to play pool. there are live bands, discos, karoake lounge and other hanging out areas at the other resorts. we didnt try out diving.

To eat at this side of the island is not as difficult or as expensive. you have choices from the "regimented" style buffet [we were shocked with the numbered table and a GUARD at the entrance] and other resorts [lol!]. the food quality at laguna is not that good.

our room was a seaview premier. the condition is good, clean with huge balcony and only three palm tree blocking our view of the sea [lol!]. the bad thing is that we were too near the kitchen and the ktv. we were prepared to deal with the ktv noises but we were not prepared for the cooking noise and smell coming from the kitchen!! next time, i think we'll try the pool facing rooms instead next time.

we will definitely return to laguna but next time we'll probably spend 2 days there to get hyped up and do stuff and then go to berjaya redang to relax and chill out.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citykoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajang
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

the sea is dirty, maybe there's a lot of people. even snorkelling too packed and crowded. 1 boat can fit 30-40 person but there are 5 boats and all the people more than 100 people to snorkelling end up people accidentally kick each other when they snorkelling. the beach near laguna is dirty. even early in the morning we snorkelling and not many people around, but the water is not clear. not many fishes but a lot of dead corals. there's a plastic bag, plastic bottle, canned drinks, rubbish near the sea and even in the sea. unless we snorkelling at the marine conversation which is cleaner and a lot of fishes. the staff clean the beaches every morning but the tourist is the major problem. make it dirty.
room is very basic and not worth for the price. the floor is sticky. my room location near the jetty but need to walk so far to hotel lobby, restaurant and beach. no view and no balcony for us. we pay the same price with other people but the room is terrible.
the food below average, tasteless, everyday same salad and fruits.
swimming pool design are quite nice and not crowded compare to the beach.
at night quite happening, a lot of activities so you won't feel bored.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crystalfairel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedabad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

Wow what a place.
This is just the paradise for the beach lovers. Unarguably the best resort on the beach.
Beautiful setting between the beach and the tropical forests. Beautiful pool area. Very helpful and smiling staff.
For indians there can be food problem, as they do not serve indian food. As we are vegetarian the chef prepared special vegetarian items for us.
The real romance begins in the evening , just sleeping on the reclining sea beds below the stars as u can see them twinkling with music going on in the background. Just so relaxing and romantic.
The rooms are very big and enough for a quad.
The snorkelling trips were amazing as were the fishes.
The place still couldnt come out of my mind till now.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chirag81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

I was filled with so much good opinions about Laguna Redang Island Resort from the TA reviews, only to be met with so much disappointment at the end of my trip... And I will briefly elaborate why:

FOOD:
The food is really like what some had commented in the past TA Reviews that it is like canteen food. It's ok-to-eat food, but inothing to make you feel that you're "on-holiday" kind of experience. I had even booked for a premium food package, only to realise that their chef really couldn't cook well. Their western food, their fish was stiffly overcooked, their lamb was tough and the lamb stench was too much. I didn't even finish my meal and went over to next door resort just to get a RAMLY Burger to satisfy my hunger. In fact, I ended up walking over to next door resort, the Summer Point food stall to eat and have some drinks. They served much better food. And they even have assam Laksa. Nice. Try their Redang Fried Rice with Chicken wings, egg and Keropok.

MUSIC:
The techno disco that played from after dinner time until midnite was really a nightmare. Initially I had thought it was just live band music which should be tolerable. But no, it's the music system's woofer! The boom boom boom rhythmn that you would hear from your bedroom gave me the blaring headache. The Live band music from the beach bar was not good that their voices screeched quite a bit. At night, it was not just one music band playing, there was the beach band resort playing in front of the resort, a disco ktv within the resort, and a beach disco at next door resort! So altogether, I have 3 types of music ringing in my ears when i was trying to get some sleep. Quite horrible.

MASS TOURISM:
It's a really big concern as the stretch of beach resorts at Pasir Panjang, where Laguna is located, seems to be catered for MASS tourism. There are just so many pple going for snorkelling, swimming in the sea with you when you are within the resort or snorkelling in the open sea and marine park. Seriously, I'm cool about swimming with the crowd. But when you see these MANY pple LITTERING the beach, the sea where you snorkle, you get really turned off! I saw all sorts of rubbish on the beach, and floating in the water surfaces. THe smokers, too, just throw their cigarettes and ashes into the waters after they snorkled. This to me was just plain ill-mannered pple who had no love for nature. They spitted at where they swam. I was seriously appalled. Even Bintan Island Indonesia is not as dirty. Imagine the feeling when you are snorkelling, and you see dirts like cigarette ashes or some black dirty things floating on the surface swimming past you, and then you come up of the water with some dirt on your face... it happened. Even before you snorkel, the amount of waste/rubbish you see floating on the water surface as the boat nears the jetty was enough to turn any decent minded person off. Cleanliness of the waters please! Not just for the fish and corals, but also for your own good. Why don't the tourists understand?

I saw that it was no fault of the resort management because they clean up the beach, but it was the tourists! They litter as and when they like, so at the end of the day in the evening, you see the rubbish, but it's clean in the morning after the management cleans up.

It is such a pity, because Redang could have been so beautiful without all the litters going on...

TV CHANNELS:
There are less than 5 channels in the in-room entertainment. They are mainly malay channels, which i thought are catered for malaysian tourists, one chinese channel which plays the summer movie CONTINUOUSLY in a loop, and one english movie channel which only plays at 10.30pm, one short movie a day.

NO PRIVATE BEACH:
Please note that there's really no private beach exclusive to the resort. All the resorts on pasir panjang are sharing same beach as we can all roam around to beaches of other resorts FREELY. So anyone can litter your beach, and you can also litter theirs, if that's the culture.

ROOM STANDARD:
Except for the foul sewage smell that rises to the bathroom when you are showering, i have no complaints for the room. It was with a pretty decent size, clean, and rather spacious.

STAFF:
The staff are only average in terms of services, smiles are not always received, and it just feels like there is no zest or enthusiasm within them. Take a trip to Berjaya Resort, and you'd know what I mean.

On the overall, Laguna like the other resorts on Pasir Panjang Beach, was more like a chalet than a resort. Of course, with the exception of Sari Pacific which looks beautiful with its black and white bungalows. Otherwise, perhaps Berjaya resort is the only decent choice.

I will not return to Laguna Resort again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MyTourPeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Redang
1.6 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 13 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
2.3 mi away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#10 of 13 in Pulau Redang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.4 mi away
Redang Derimba
Redang Derimba
#3 of 17 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
22.1 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#2 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Redang Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Redang Island Resort

Property: Laguna Redang Island Resort
Address: Pasir Panjang, Redang Island | S-5, Wisma Tenang, Jalan Sultan Sulaiman, Pulau Redang 20000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Redang
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Redang Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Laguna Redang Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Redang Island Hotel Pulau Redang
Hotel Laguna Redang Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing