We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice if you go in low season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Venezia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really nice if you go in low season”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at Laguna Redang for five days in the second week of October (that is, after the Chinese holidays, so it was low season and not many guests around, probably just 150)

Here is what we LIKED of this resort:
- very well organized
- by going there on low season, there is space for enjoying both the beach and the swimming pool
- the package already includes the snorkling trips
- at the buffet restaurant, they try to make you sit every time in a different area, so you can try all views (the earlier you get there, the most probable it is that you get tables facing directly the seaside)
- the rooms are spacious
- you can already do some simple snorkling in their side of the beach and see some fishes
- you can take some nice, long walk along the beach
- the view from our room (pool side, second floor)
- diving course (1 to 1 since not many other tourist)


This what we did NOT LIKE:
- the food in the buffet restaurant tends to repeat itself and the quality is the one of a school canteen (i.e. extremely average). We stayed there five days and towards the last day we sort of had enough of it - so keep this in mind if you plan there a long holiday.
- bedding (i believe there may be some bed bugs, as in humid climate that is very normal, unless you often expose the blankets/pillows to the sunshine or you keep the air con on all the time)


TO KEEP IN MIND:
- the personal space can get to a barely minimum during high season, as this resort can easily host 500 people (but there is only one swimming pool and a limited number of sunbeds on the beach)
- this resort caters Chinese customers, this comes with a number of issues if you are not used to the way Chinese tourist go on holiday
- the food is Malaysian/Chinese/sometime Indian. Do not expect fancy dishes or international cuisine (well, they do cook some pasta, french fries...)
- I've seen a staff in action in the swimming pool to rescue a lady in need, but cannot really say if they had people all the time to check out the people swimming in the sea


OVERALL:
given the above LIKE / DISLIKE / THINGS TO KEEP IN MIND, we had a very nice time and enjoyed our time there.

Room Tip: Loved the pool side view (upper floor) Seaside rooms can be very noisy due to the band playing ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Italia_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    446
    161
    35
    35
See reviews for
307
302
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Redang, what else can I say, famous for it's diving sites and soft sands.. had so much fun enjoying their beach life! but here is the review about their rooms and location of the area...

Room
Size : Big enough, with 4 single beds, even if you booked a twin bed room :)
Toilet : Decent, but lack of toiletries, they don't provide toothbrush and such, so you have to bring yours! only Shampoo and Shower Gels
TV : Normal old school fat and small TV and the whole day you will be watching the Richie Ren and Sammi Cheng movie.
View : My room is facing the pool so it's alright, the balcony is decent!

Resort
Breakfast : The variety here is really good, the nasi lemak is great for a resort standard, there is not much food around so make sure u stack up a little on your food intake here or bring along some snacks for supper goers.
Pool : Decent, cause i didn't spend time in it. (When there is a beautiful beach, why would you wanna spend time in a pool?)
Beach : Wowowow, one of the best i've seen and it's really really good!! super soft sands, and best of all, it's clean!! Rare sight in Malaysia so I have to give them a huge applause for keeping it that way!!
Staffs : Very helpful as we have some unfortunate incidents which they have doctor on standby but only from certain time, which you may ask them at the reception at any time!

Overall, I truly enjoyed the time spent here, whether it's a company event, couple or for honey moon, i would say if you like beaches, you would love it here.

P/S : Only downside for party people, all alcoholic places closes at 12am! so get yourself drinking early!! there is a club down the beach, just follow the music!! :)

Room Tip: Get a floor higher, as the lower rooms are bound to get morning sounds and such!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chee Hooi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at Laguna for 3 nights, 4 days - the food is buffet, there are no other restaurants available. There is no alcohol served at the restaurant and the food is mediocre. The rooms were not very clean, but manageable, while the service staff were quite friendly and helpful. The pool is nice to look at, though the water is really warm. The ocean water is clean and very pretty. Not bad if you don't have any major expectations!

Room Tip: Rooms next to the pool are louder, but at least you are close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Yes, our 3rd visit so we feel like 'old hands' with the booking system, ferry, meal times etc etc. On arrival at Laguna jetty, we missed the initiation talk - once is enough! Our room was ready for us & we had everything sorted by lunch time.

As per my previous reviews, good large room (for 2 people), same bathroom facilities, same furniture. Same food being served @ restaurant (Laguna rotates generally over 2 days, with minor variations, so the must plan in more variety for longer-stay guests.

We go for the diving, & (as always) received wonderful service from the folks at the dive centre.

Only downsides.....the same cruise ship dumps 600pax on the island on a Thursday - too noisy & busy!! and kids from a KL international school were there during our stay, 14/16 year olds with no volume control & ATTITUDE bigger than the Hollywood sign. Our room seemed to be surrounded by them & during the day, they were very noisy (& also by the pool, in the restaurant too). But at 11pm - quiet (fortunately).

Again, great staff - chatty, smiley, polite, helpful.

Wifi is RM5 for 1 hour in the lobby but (so long as you remember to log off) expires 24 hours after 1st log in, so each voucher lasted us 2 days over laptop, phone & kindle.

Already planning our next trip over!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StrayCat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon trip and were satisfied with the resort. The main selling point is that it is a diver's paradise! The beaches are pristine, the waters are warm, corals are stunning and sea life is abundant!
We had a room with a sea view and found it to be pretty standard. Our room was not cleaned for one day because they apparently had too many rooms to service (really?).
The buffet meals have a large variety of dishes, including local foods, so it was fun to try out new dishes every night. The dining area has nice views but gets very, very busy so try to beat the crowds if you can.
They had a live band playing every night, they sang in local languages mostly but would throw in a handful of English songs throughout the night.
This is a family friendly resort, so be prepared for a lot of children running and screaming around :)
Concluding Comment: If you are looking for a relaxing and luxurious vacation, this resort is not for you! But if you are looking for the best beach and diving experience, I would strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank highlyflammable31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed there for 3D2N in a group of 4. Love the room, big & cosy (all 4 of us in the same room), the food were fantastic, the service provided was great too.
Not a fan of the crowd though... 3 snorkelling trips is too much I think as we can actually enjoy the beach & other water activities near the hotel. You can go around the island at night or sing your lungs out at the Karaoke lounge. I will highly recommend this hotel if you were travelling in big groups.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CtBellaFatimah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I came to Laguna on a family holiday for 3 days, 4 nights, and we booked the 2D3N package with an extra day add on. It is quite a mission to get to this island and if you cannot make the resort jetty you will have to disembark the public ferry and arrive onto the beach of the hotel! Quite a bizarre start to say the least as we carried our luggage across the sand, but thankfully we only had hand carry! On the way back, as times permitted, we opted to use the resort’s free jetty and paid 75RM for 4 people to travel by coach to the airport- the coach felt like first class! Was extremely comfortable!
We booked a family room for 4 with a garden view, room 304, but was in fact also facing the beach so we also had a little sea view for the price we paid! The room is basic, but quite large and comfortable and I did not have many complaints except that the door can be tricky to open at times, and that the design of the shower is a little strange as there is nowhere to hang your towel or clothes before stepping out into the main room!
The package came with snorkeling trips and also three meals. First the food, it was not bad, and plentiful but would not say any of the food really blew me away. There is a BBQ dinner on every other night, and I would say that this was the more preferred choice with fresh grilled fish etc. food is more tailored to the main clientele of the resort (and island I would say!), so mostly mainland Chinese tourist, though I would say they were more well behaved and polite than mentioned in the other reviews! It may be that we arrived outside of peak season!
We rented our snorkeling equipment for 30RM for the whole duration of our trip and went to the marina park (remember to buy the conservation tickets either at the public jetty ticket counter or I think the recreational center also sells them!) on the second day. It was an amazing trip and definitely worth it, although busy I did not find it to be too overcrowding and the fishes are not shy! Remember to buy some bread (RM2 from recreational center) as this is how you can attract the most fish! The array of fish and coral is truly amazing and beautiful- it is a must see! We did not join the deep sea snorkeling trip, but was told this is more for coral than fish.
The hotel staff were wonderful and extremely helpful and I wish if I could just remember names to thank! There was a lovely man at the recreational center who was extremely helpful (I think he was the manager) and also arranged for one of his staff who worked at the pool to take us to snorkelling nearby the hotel to see some baby sharks!
The beach is full of broken pieces of coral so I would be careful when entering, in hindsight would have purchased some jelly coral shoes as these would have also been useful for scuba diving!
The only thing was the weather was temperamental but overall really enjoyed the trip!

Room Tip: A beach or garden view will be the best! And not too far from the main resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pangu_Rites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Redang
1.6 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,234 reviews
2.4 mi away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Pulau Redang
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Redang Pelangi Resort
Redang Pelangi Resort
#4 of 12 in Pulau Redang
200 reviews
23.7 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
647 reviews
21.2 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Resort
Arwana Perhentian Resort
#8 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Redang Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Redang Island Resort

Property: Laguna Redang Island Resort
Address: Pasir Panjang, Redang Island | S-5, Wisma Tenang, Jalan Sultan Sulaiman, Pulau Redang 20000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Redang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Redang Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Laguna Redang Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Redang Island Hotel Pulau Redang
Hotel Laguna Redang Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing