We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only that the room is as good as the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Redang Holiday Beach Villa
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The staff was kinda lovely. I remember my friend her cut by the coral in the bay and the manager urge us to the reception and get us some iodine to clean the wound. We have great talk with the staff as well. The room was below my expection. Sands everywhere. And we are not secured as people beside your room could just easily come over to your balcony because the partition was very low (knee-level). Towels were provided but not shampoo. No Tv, No Kettle.
Food was ok. like 5 meals a day. free-flow juices. Everyday meal were almost similar. If you're going to stay there like 3 days, you gonna have the same breakfast every morning. It was a distance from any convenience/grocery store. About 5-10minutes walk. It was kinda tiring walking on the sand.
They were quite helpful when comes to the snorkelling part. I have a few friends who could not swim... The staff will just assist them with their fippers and guiding them to parts with more fishes and corals. A star for this part.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3vilfr3akybabi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 174 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

About our trip to Redang...The beach was great, water was warm and
weather was simply beautiful. We had a great trip at Redang.

However, the hotel, Redang Holiday Beach Villa was very disappointing. We
could not believe our eyes when we saw the standard room for the first time.
The room was very small, the wall was stained, and the toilet
was wet and toilet paper was soaked. I had to hose down the whole
toilet to get rid of the stench coming out from the bowl. The bath
mat was a dirty moth eaten rag.The water faucet was broken and had
to be turned in a certain way in order for the water to come out.

The light switch was dangling of the wall by a few bare, dangerous
wires. The bed consisted of a couple sweaty pillows with one thin
piece of blanket that we strongly believe hasn't been washed in a long time.
Sometimes we wonder if they even change the bed sheet before a new
guest arrives.

However disgusting the hotel bathroom may have been, it seemed like
paradise compared to the hotel public toilet, which was unfortunately
located next to the cafeteria. The doors were wide open, revealing
the unsightly scene every time we walked pass the toilets to go for our meals.

To make matters worse, we were forced to remove our shoes before
entering the so-called buffet restaurant. We reluctantly agreed,
although we later on found bits of dry food plastered to the
soles of our feet from walking around barefoot on the dirty
floorboards.

Now for the food. Each meal had a choice of five fly-blown dishes.
But the food wasn't too bad for children (not so much for adult).
It was actually quite kid-friendly. We especially enjoyed the roti
canai (Indian bread) they served for breakfast. Once you get over the fact that there
are dozens of flies swarming around your food, the meal was actually okay.

We ended up spending a lot of time on the beach and went on several
snorkeling trips provided by the hotel, which were very enjoyable.
The snorkeling trips were well organized and prompt. The best thing about
the hotel was how little time we spent in it. We were all tired out
by the end of the day that we slept through the whole night.

We realized that it was the only hotel that had rooms at that time and
we did not have much choice. Overall, the trip was fun but compromised
by the condition of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you are interest in Asian-fast food of the worst kind, no service at all, mass processing and the feeling to be completely ripped off -this is your place!

While there are definitely better places to stay on the island, the island is totally overdeveloped, there are at least 3 open sewers draining from the hotels over the beach, directly into the ocean.

The nearby Marine park has beautiful corals, but unfortunately the tour operators allow their clients to throw plastic, feed the fish with bread and step on corrals.

Definitely a lost Paradise!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dotti2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Top 10 Reasons why you shouldn't stay there for the sake of your trip.

1. Superb dirty public toilet and restaurant, next to each.
2. Bad reception skills, rude, obviously double standard towards guest in terms of customer service gap between asian and western.
3. Room is dirty, dusty and never maintain.
4. Not even a towel and mineral being provided.
5. Check-in wait 2 hours for the room to be ready without a proper explanation and service level.
6. Poor location, at the end of redang bay.
7. No TV, no Internet, no kettle, no fridge, no cupboard in the room!
8. Food was horrible, fighting for food like in world war.
9. No groceries and convenient shops. Better standby.
10. Sandy beach, sandy room, sandy bed, sandy chairs, sandy floors, everywhere sands!

If you love redang and anticipated for the long awaited vacations, do not stay this so called "last resort". Go redang bay or others around the same resorts instead. They do not appreciate customers and the pony tail person in charge don't serve asian rights.

Family with kids don't go there.
Dating, Valentines, Anniversary, Honeymoon please avoid for the good of your relationship. I bet she will tells you NO! every night in the entire trip coz losing every sense of intimation with these kind of environment especially the room.
Teenager with limited budget, try look for other resort within same range. Definitely you'll get better treatment than here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AndyWang81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

In one word......manky! Stayed in many places across Malaysia over the past 10 years and this place is hands down the worst place I have ever stayed in. Quite simply, don't do it to yourself. This is the worst place on the island for the following reasons:

1- filthy dining and kitchen area
2- filthy chalets with stained and ripped bedding, termites in window frames, huge gaps under doors for mozzies and other insects
3-bathroom floods, brown water, taps come off, dirty tiles
4-caters for large groups, so the food is buffet style. When it runs out , it's out! As mentioned before, get there early and prepare to queue, but the food is not worth it.
5-snorkelling trips are done in very large groups of 30 people. If you want a smaller group you have to pay 500rm for a private trip.

As its non refundable we stayed for 2 nights, and moved as soon as another place was available on the island. We spent the previous 2 days using all the other resorts restaurants, bars and toilets. Such a shame that they are getting away with charging so much for something so bad!

I read the reviews after I booked the resort, but the island was full so decided we would manage. We made the most out of it, but spent as little time as possible and could not wait to leave. Thats not what a holiday is about. Don't do it to your self!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mudzaffarmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend recently stayed here, it is the 2nd time I have been. The island is absolutely beautiful, crystal clear water lovely beach. The snorkelling trips they organised were very good, we saw turtles, sharks etc. the guys from the hotel really got involved showing us where to go and swimming with us. The staff are very polite and helpful, John is lovely and took us out on snorkelling trips later in the evening to see more. Downsides.., the food is not great, rooms too dark, and yes there is litter which is a shame. Overall is he a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beaverairlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

And your expectations should be adjusted. No room cleaning, almost no furniture, generally dark (bungalow), bathrooms that not encourage long stays, ants/termites in the window frame.
Food (included) is OK but monotonous.

This might be perfect as a vacations camp for youngsters and backpackers, but might not be what everybody searches.

On the positive side though: Redang is a beautiful island, and the staff is positive and helpful with their limited measures.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Redang
1.4 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Laguna Redang Island Resort
#1 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,051 reviews
2.7 mi away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Pulau Redang
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
0.2 mi away
Redang Pelangi Resort
Redang Pelangi Resort
#4 of 12 in Pulau Redang
208 reviews
1.6 mi away
Redang Derimba
Redang Derimba
#5 of 31 in Kuala Terengganu
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redang Holiday Beach Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redang Holiday Beach Villa

Address: 35 Jalan Bandar, Pulau Redang 20100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range: $274 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Redang Holiday Beach Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redang Holiday Beach Villa is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Spectacularly located at the edge of a beautiful lagoon, Redang Holiday Beach Villa is the most picturesque and charming of the resorts on Redang Island. Built of beautiful local hardwoods, the traditional rustic Malay style architecture of the resort is almost camouflaged into the island's lush green interior. Each of the air-conditioned rooms has its own private balcony and en suite bathroom. Just a stone's throw from the resort beyond the beautiful powdery white sand, you can enjoy snorkelling or scuba diving in the crystal clear warm waters teeming with rainbow coloured fish and spectacular coral. In the evenings you can sit out on the verandah over the water and enjoy a quiet, cool refreshing drink as you watch the evening sunset hues of amber melt into the darkening tropical sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Redang Holiday Beach Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redang Holiday Beach Villa Hotel Pulau Redang
Redang Holiday Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing