We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpectedly, nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redang Holiday Beach Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Redang Holiday Beach Villa
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly, nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

My mom made a last minute reservation and found out this was the only resort out of all that can offered us room, a day before our trip.
To be honest, maybe the transport to the island is one thing I do not recommend for those of you who expect to have a comfy journey. You should also prepare to be wet. Or bring along your raincoat. They have safety jacket in the boat now, so yes, you do not have to be worried.
The resort is 10-15 mins by walk, if you are drop at the jetty instead in front of the resort. Although it can be a bit tiring, but the staffs will greet you with a cold refreshing juice & a warm greeting once you step in to the resort.
The room is nice. It is rather basic. But comfortable enough for you to sleep. The washroom is okay, & clean.
The buffet is good. Although I do think the taste may not suit the tongue of many people. The staffs try to please us as much as they can, & I think it is a good effort from them. Besides, they are friendly & warm. It feel nice that you know you can ask help whenever you need it.
For me, it has the best location for sightseeing, especially they even have rooms on the hill edge, which facing the sea.
Overall I think this resort is okay for staying, but if you are considering somewhere which is more comfortable, maybe this resort is not the best option.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shahirashera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    32
    37
    25
    51
See reviews for
51
45
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

We had 4d3n package in Redang Holiday and enjoyed our stay.

Our room (standard) was very basic, like said before there was very little to nothing to put your clothes or anything to hang in there but room was clean and quiet.

Staff was really helpfull, food was good and our snorkling trips were really really nice.

We had some concern before coming about our payment but then again, here in Finland things and life style are bit different to Redang.

Scenery was amazing and we got what we wanted from our stay here.

Note for people coming here, there is really good little market in hotel next to this (not one right next but after that, the one next to pier) where you can get pretty much anything you need from sodas, smokes to swimsuits and waterproof cameras. Too bad no-one told us that when we stayed there, I saw that on day when we left.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mehilainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

Went to Redang last Sept with groups of friend and we happened to stay in this awesome resort REDANG HOLIDAY BEACH VILLA. I stayed in the semi-D bungalow seaview and the view from my room is so wonderful. As it is little high up on a small hill, I can have birdview of the long beach of the Redang Island. The resort is a wooden chalet and i can say it is very comfortable, cozy and clean. The bathroom (in which i emphasis most in every resort i stay) is so clean.

The food is nice with variety of choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Round of applause to the staff there. They were friendly and make sure everything is well arranged. Everything went so smoothly for us from airport pickup, boat transfer, check in, AWESOME snorkelling trips!

Last but not least, the location of the resort is really strategic in which at the Long Beach in Redang Island. It is not in the middle of crowded sandwiching of other resort. It offer more privacy and peace environment. Nevertheless, the bar and disco at the resort is so happening at night. I miss the time having some drinks at the sundeck which is above the sea.

My trip to Redang Holiday is really awesome and wonderful! I will definitely return to redang again and stay in the same resort!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supra_fire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

Firstly - the Boat that takes you to the Island. No life jackets. No health & Safety.
When you arrive. They go as close to the shore as possible and help you climb onto a makeshift homemade flight of steps (like an aircraft staircase) - be prepared to get wet to your knees.

Rooms are very very basic. Food is simple and - canteen self service style. If you have any special dietary needs - let them know they will do whatever they can to help you. But it IS basic, and local and after a couple of days - the same food can be tiring. Its edible and has a local flavour.

We were all vegetarians and they cooked fabulous local dishes especially for us. We were always late for breakfast and invariably missed it. Sometimes they would go into the kitchen and bring our some toast and butter for us with cups of tea (it was our fault NOT theirs). You collect your own plates and scrape them off and place the dirty dishes for washing.

Towels can be provided (expect them to be threadbare) and they will give you more if you ask. Bathroom is basic too. A shower, a sink and a toilet.

Rooms and bathrooms are not cleaned for the duration of your stay. Beds are not made.

Imagine you are going to a deserted island and have to camp...some things will be there - others aren't. If you think basic and survival mode - you will enjoy.
If you expect 3*, 4* 5* or even luxury you will be sorely disappointed. Think granddads garden shed with a bed...and an adventure - like Enid Blytons FAB Five or maybe (scouts and girld guides camping trip) and your dreams may come true.

We had spectualar sunsets, saw bats, massive moths, massive lizards basking on the rocks, colourful fish in the clear blue sea. We connected totally with nature.

We met open hearted and very friendly staff - who all have a childlike simplicity about them - and this is how the resort is run. Simply - with basic needs taken care of.

If you try and compare it with the Puteri Pacific next door (and that does look nice) -and want those facilities - then I suggest you go stay there.
We did walk up and down the beaches. tried a couple of other restaurants...

All good!

On the final day - we got drenched to the skin as we walked along the pier that sank into the water from the rising waves. We caught a smaller boat back. We were tossed around like corks in a maelstrom - and the seaspray that drenched us - was the best trip I have ever been on - think water and roller coaster...we were delighted...many weren't as they feared for their lives.

We arrived safely back on dry land.

What a trip full of vibrant and happy memories. Yes I would go again - but give me a couple of years to get over this one first...I need a couple of trips with fluffy bath robes, spas, infinity pools and massages first... Its not what I expected as a holiday - but it lets you touch base with yourself and get away from all the modern life and luxuries we so take for granted

My teenage kids by the way - LOVED this place. A back packers and young students ideal hotel and resort I think!

When we got back to 'civilisation' I have never seen my 16 year old daughter so excited and enthused by a clean toilet in an airport before (shining marble floors, clean mirrors, lights, soap, spotless toilets, toilet rolls and perfumed air!) She suggested that we could have holidayed/camped there - '''in luxury'' :-))

:-)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VivecaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

We booked through a Travel Agent - Ping Anchorage and it didn't all worked out as we were promised. The transfer by boat left us out on another beach and didn't even tell us where exactly to go, they just said, just go over the other beach, its on the other end. So we had to take all our lugguage and walk for around 10 minutes, nightmare!
When we arrived, nobody really welcomes us and the room they offered us at first, was not worth the money at all. It was way too small and noisy and in middle of the staff quarters. Took us some discussions till they upgraded us into a Bungalow with Sea View on the the Hill. But even there, the room was not very clean and the toilet didn't flush and the staff was not so helpful. The food was very basic as well, maybe it's malaysian standard, but nothing for international travelers. God thanks we just stayed there for 2 nights.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krissi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

I have been to redang 4 times in 5 years. i've stayed at laguna, berjaya, coral redang and redang holiday. I still like redang holiday best, i've never stayed at the normal rooms before so i cant say much on it, i've stayed in the seaview semi-d bungalow situated at the cliff side, the view was absolutely gorgeous, i recommend this resort to all my friends. food was okay, snorkelling is so-so as usual (cant expect much from commericialized redang island), Room is very comfy as well! :)

Only one concern, if drop off/'pick up are from laguna's jetty then you will have to walk 2 stretches of bay to get to the jetty, best if you could get them to drop off right infront of the resort, but you'll need to get your shoes wet!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citrusnobilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

The day before travel date i got message to my phone from Redang Holiday Message as below : From Redang Holiday <+6016934XXXX> at 5/6/2010 12:12 PM via XX
Our logistics personal, Mr Tan 0169388558 and Mr tengku 0139900700 will meet you.. Pls be at merang Jetty before 8 30am.. Hope you will enjoy your stay with us.. Thanks.. From Redang holiday.. We travel on 6th May night to Merang Jetty and put up a night at kembara Chalet another Worst chalet is stay rooms very dirty end up sleep in the car. Early morning after breakfast we straight head to jetty as early at 7.30 am as we are so excited for holidays. Around 8.30 most of passenger already arrived but not any personnel from Redang Holiday. We try to contact Mr Tan and Mr Tengku their phone but no body pick up the phone. We see other chalet picking their guest. We call Redang Holiday speak to Guest service they told us Low Tide big boat can go so we have to wait for high tide. Around 9.30 Mr.Tan came telling all kind excuse low tide, boat cannot come in la, this and that. Finally our boat came around 10.50 am. That time still Low tide. We wonder how can now still manage to pick up us even low tide!
After check in while we having lunch we saw a big group guests from Company came for holiday there. we Chit chat with them. They told they arrived this morning and their boat at 8.30 am. Then we realize we got cheated by Redang Holiday. They going for big group Order and ignore other Guest. Not Professional at all .Make us wait more then 3 hour in jetty.
So the all they other snorkeling activity we have to join the big company group. we feel it not like holiday but like company trip. Music so loud from beach disco from other chalet until 2.00am.
On the day we coming back after few min boat ride suddenly diesel oil leak in Boat engine. They took Black wire tape to cover the leak. Few min later we saw another boat came we taught they come to rescue but what happen is they transfer some passenger to over Boat and this Passenger without live jacket . Total Passenger for this boat is 48 but end more then 60 passenger. After they cover they leak with black wire tape. They continue their journey with every 5 min checking the engine room with Cigarette in mouth for leakage. That minute my friend start to pray. God Please bring us safely to mainland.
The Only the best thing we get in this trip is the room is the best view. we book the sea view room. i don't sharing they view from my room.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayavarmanVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Redang hotels
0.5 mi away
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Laguna Redang Island Resort
#1 of 13 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 13 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
2.7 mi away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#10 of 13 in Pulau Redang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
0.5 mi away
Redang Beach Resort
Redang Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Pulau Redang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.6 mi away
Redang Bay Resort
Redang Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Pulau Redang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redang Holiday Beach Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redang Holiday Beach Villa

Property: Redang Holiday Beach Villa
Address: 35 Jalan Bandar, Pulau Redang 20100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Redang Holiday Beach Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redang Holiday Beach Villa is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Spectacularly located at the edge of a beautiful lagoon, Redang Holiday Beach Villa is the most picturesque and charming of the resorts on Redang Island. Built of beautiful local hardwoods, the traditional rustic Malay style architecture of the resort is almost camouflaged into the island's lush green interior. Each of the air-conditioned rooms has its own private balcony and en suite bathroom. Just a stone's throw from the resort beyond the beautiful powdery white sand, you can enjoy snorkelling or scuba diving in the crystal clear warm waters teeming with rainbow coloured fish and spectacular coral. In the evenings you can sit out on the verandah over the water and enjoy a quiet, cool refreshing drink as you watch the evening sunset hues of amber melt into the darkening tropical sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Redang Holiday Beach Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redang Holiday Beach Villa Hotel Pulau Redang
Redang Holiday Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing