We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Before and after”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Redang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coral Redang Island Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We last visited Coral Redang in 1999 for our honeymoon. Back then, we had the beach to ourselves, enjoyed amazing snorkelling on the house reef, and stayed in very tired wooden huts. We loved it and have always wanted to return.

This year we took the kids with us on our second honeymoon. The area has certainly changed, mainly because of the Hong Kong movie 'Summer Holiday' which was filmed there, and brings in twice daily herds of lifejacket-clad tourists hoping to visit their favourite film locations. There are numerous new resorts, and the beach has a pontoon jetty with numerous boats coming and going. The house reef still has plenty of life, but has been pretty trashed by the changes. The beach has plenty of tractors and diggers coming and going.

But it's not all bad. I didn't recognise other reviewers' claims that the beach is filthy - it's not groomed in the way one would expect of a private 5-star resort, but it's far from dirty. The tractors are certainly around, but I rather enjoyed watching the comings and goings. We came here from the Danna in Langkawi, and their beach is so quiet that the kids got bored there. The Coral Redang dive instructors are immensely efficient, friendly and professional, and run twice daily snorkelling trips to reefs that are very much alive and well.

Coral Redang's new rooms were basic but clean and comfortable. The bed could have been a little bigger (4'6" feels a little small for westerners) and the toilet could only be accessed by a skilled contortionist, but the A/C worked very well, and the rooms were quiet. The bar and restaurant are the same as they always were, with basic but tasty food, and a friendly welcome from the bar team.

The best bit was the diving. My 11 year old son qualified as an open water diver, and I felt he was completely safe under Phill's expert tuition. We dived together, seeing turtles, sharks, rays and eels, and loved it.

Coral Redang isn't a 5-star resort, and doesn't charge 5-star fees: comparing like for like, it was just over a quarter the price of the Danna. It's fantastic value for money, and we had a wonderful time there, much more fun than the 5-star venue. We're hoping to be back in less than 13 years this time...

Room Tip: The rooms to the south side adjoin a noisy bar in the neighbouring resort, and are worth avoiding. L...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HammockDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Coral Redang Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 341 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Lovely tranquil setting. Helpful relaxed staff. Love this place! The revamp is good and facilities are much improved. Food still leaves a bit to be desired, but all is forgiven as the sea is warm and the fish are friendly.Boat boys very good and keep an eye out for safety issues.
Accommodation is fine. Toilet cubicle is crazy small, built for Asians, not Causcasians. Bed is comfy. If you want beach, sea, snorkelling,small pool bar, with fun atmosphere during the Olympics and small swimming pool then this is for you!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Coral redang island resort:
We arrived here after our trip to Borneo and since the land & sea transport would consume lots of our tight scheduled time we paid some more and flew from KL on an hour flight with Berjaya air. Everything went smoothly after landing and in 15 min we were transported first by car to marina and then with boat to the resort on Pasir Panjang beach. We checked in in superior room with extra bed which was not big, but we all fitted in (3+child of 3). Our son slept with us in bed, friend slept on extra bed. The rooms are one year old and they are sufficient for the needs on such a small asian island. But the mosquitoes are really pain in the ... The room was full of them and you can forget about sitting on the porch at the evenings if you don't want to get eaten alive. One thing we really missed was more seafood dishes on the menu and BBQ, because this is sty we can't wait to eat while on the islands.
The staff is really a big plus here; they went all the way when my wife needed to be transported to the mainland due the medical emergency. They've found a boat in few minutes and also arranged the land transfer to hospital in KT since the ambulance was late. One of the staff personal was with us all the time, even in the doctor’s waiting room. Since we had to stay in KT (there was no ferry back to the island that afternoon) he also took us to a nice hotel where we spent a night and then arranged the return to the island next morning. He picked us up from the hotel and went with us back to the island. And at the end they didn't charged us for any of this transportation. We are extremely grateful for all the help they have provided.
Redang itself is full of chines couples and groups on snorkeling trips and most of westerns are in laguna resort&berjaya resort. But this didn't bothered us since this is Asia after all :) we were little disappointed of all the garbage lying on the beach (even big pieces of broken glass!!!) and in the water. There is also all day long beach traffic of tractors carrying all sort of things up and down and a lot of boats scattered through the entire beach which can easily make you forget that you are actually laying on one of the most beautiful beaches in this part of the world. Otherwise the waters around are really crystal clear, azure, warm and full of marine life so kids will enjoy it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Coral Redang fronts Long Beach, where most of the hotels and resorts are located. Unlike places such as Phuket, there is not a well developed infrastructure in terms of roads, restaurants, etc, so there is no motorized traffic, no roads, and no pier – the ferry drops you off at the beach.

The beach is quite stunning, with fine powdery white sand. The sea off the beach is shallow and sandy-bottomed, so it is quite the perfect picture of your tropical island paradise.

The Coral Redang is a low-key resort with double-storey accommodation in a new section with nice, brick buildings and an older section with rooms in a two-storey block. There is a small swimming pool and all meals are taken in the open-sided wooden restaurant which overlooks the beach. There is a small dive centre beside the restaurant.

This is a family-oriented resort, and is suitable for a quiet family holiday. I say this because there are other resorts on the beach which provide a holiday for large tourist groups, featuring live bands at night, and lots lights and night-life, so it depends on what you’re looking for.

The Coral Redang, by comparison is, relatively rustic and unsophisticated, although that’s not a bad thing in itself, with muted lighting and peace and quiet at night. The nearest thing to night-life at the resort is a TV above the bar by the pool.

My room was a Standard room in the old block – although old, it was basic but adequate, with a relatively recently-refurbished bathroom and airconditiong but no TV. Room service was generally good, with room cleanliness being well maintained. There’s an in-room safe, a fridge, clothes hangers and a desk and chair by means of furniture. In other words, the room was fine for sleeping in but not a place you’d spend a lot of time in.

The buffet meals in the restaurant were nothing to shout about, but at least there was a decent variety. The restaurant does have a striking location with a view of the beach. One thing the resort could improve is access to drinks – other than meal times, even drinking water has to be purchased – surely a free availability of water, coffee or tea isn’t too much to ask?

This is particularly felt in the dive center - most dive centers provide nourishment after a dive, at least in the form of hot drinks and some biscuits, but here, you need to buy your own, so there’s definitely room for improvement.

Commendably, the resort is partially powered by solar-power and is experimenting with wind power and eventually hopes to do away with diesel generators in the future. This is in keeping with its overall low-profile as a place from which to enjoy the sheer beauty of the island.

Thankfully, other than a makeshift floating pier on pontoons, there are no structures to mar the beach. The jungle at the back of all the resorts is relatively untouched, and I think of the resorts as a necessary evil to enjoy the stunning natural beauty of Pulau Redang.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very nice small resort with excellent food! We liked the buffet every day and the well organised snorkeling trips. We enjoyed the superioir room, very nice, we recommend this place, nice and helpfull staff, snorkeling /diving facilities are good but honestly you can snorkle (without expensive trip) just in front of the hotel, there is a super reef with lots of sealife.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelvdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My partner and I travel back to Coral Redang Island Resort every year from Australia. Fell in love with it on first visit. Malaysian style resort on beach with great staff and atmosphere. Fall out of your room onto white sand then into clear blue warm water.
My partner dives and rates it very high. Daily snorkelling trips out off a boat is available for the non-diver.
Seen lots of changes and are returning in a few months for our first stay in new bungalows.
Even ferry then boat trip is part of the adventure to get to the Island.
Then there is the friendly poolside bar which comes to life in the evenings. It has everything we need.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdelaideMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed at one of the villas.The room was adequate, yes there were no tea/ coffee making facilities as many have complained, but everything else was fine. The rooms were failry large, there was a balcony from where you could see the sea, the beach was your own and the food was excellent. We had a snorkelling package which allowed us to go snorkelling thrice. The boat took us to lovely locations where snorkeling was a pleasure. The guide also went out of the way to show us the turtles which were shy and not so easily seen.
Only one caveat. The restaurant did not function out of the meal hours. Perhaps they felt that with such gargantiuan meals we should not need any snacks, but I could have done with an evening cuppa which I missed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akdcts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Redang
1.4 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Laguna Redang Island Resort
#1 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,026 reviews
2.5 mi away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Pulau Redang
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
0.1 mi away
Redang Pelangi Resort
Redang Pelangi Resort
#4 of 12 in Pulau Redang
204 reviews
22.0 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Redang Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Redang Island Resort

Address: 9 Jalan Kampong Dalam, Pulau Redang 20000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Redang
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Redang Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Coral Redang Island Hotel Kuala Terengganu
Hotel Coral Redang Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing