We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A piece of heaven...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redang Kalong Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Redang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Redang Kalong Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A piece of heaven...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

Traveling with a girlfriend, thinking that we might not enjoy this place that much since we're the minority when the rest travel in groups. But we were sooo wrong!! We had the best time of our life!
The boss, receptionist, snorkel guides and even the staff workers befriended us in no time and made us feel totally at home.
Kudos to the snorkel guide for bringing us to some awesome site, and showing us to a whole new world of marine life. Twas a great encounter with the marine life that has etched in my heart forever.
Being on the other side of the island, means that we've a private beach all for our own... and staying away from the crowds and noise... That's the reason we came to this island, to escape from the norm of city.
This resort will forever have a place in my heart, somewhere which I will come back again, be it as a traveler or as a staff. This place will be somewhere I called my second home...
Thanks to the AB, snorkel guide Tim, Angie and the rest for making the rest of my stay here enjoyable & memorable!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane_ying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    124
    22
    8
    11
See reviews for
61
68
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

i stayed here twice in 2010. my first time was in may 2010 and i enjoyed myself so much that i came back and stayed at this resort again in july 2010. the service is excellent at redang kalong resort. the staff are all very helpful and friendly. land and sea transfers were done excellently without a hitch. had some problems with the safe room but it was dealt with swiftly.

the rooms with attached baths are clean and basic. the best part is the clean sheets and fluffy pillows. some hotels and resorts that claim to be more luxurious cant even provide guests with fluffy pillows! food is yummy and with one BBQ dinner.

i stayed in long beach on my first visit to redang two years ago and found it too noisy and crowded. the private beach in redang kalong is a welcome blessing. i slept soundlessly each night i was there.

snorkeling trips were well organised and safe. the resort operators that i stayed in two years ago in long beach would overload the snorkeling boats so much that i had to stand. i am glad to report that this does not happen here. staff are professional and friendly and i had a great time and spotted clown fish, baby sharks, a million colourful fishes!

i definitely recommend this resort to anyone going to pulau redang. you will not regret it! the best place to stay in pulau redang is redang kalong resort!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nianci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

Redang Kalong (also known as Diver's Den) is a fantastic place for those who want to get back to nature and enjoy the simple island life. If you are into partying, go to the other side of the island as this is a more quiet and untouched area, as it is the only resort on this particular beach.

The rooms are quite basic, with beds, a wardrobe, safe, and a bathroom. There is also air conditioning. A broom is also available, in case you feel the need to sweep the sand away from your floor in case you forgot to rinse your feet at the taps. Each place also has a small front patio complete with chairs and a clothing rack where you can dry your clothes.

Each room is part of a long house, so if you do have noisy neighbours you may be able to hear them. However, throughout my 3D/2N trip, we hardly heard noise from our neighbours except for when they shut the door. Fortunately, the main activity at night (karaoke) ends at 11pm, so unless you are an early sleeper, you will not be woken up by people who are going to bed after karaoke. Other activities available here include table tennis, darts, board games like chess and chinese checkers, and pool/snooker.

Food and drink is inclusive in the price, are available almost all the time. Breakfast, lunch, tea time, and dinner is served. Bread/toast, jam, and peanut butter are available at other times. Water, juice, tea, and coffee is available all the time. There is also a TV with Astro (cable tv) available in the dining hall. Alternatively, you can buy food and drink from the mini-store such as ice cream, beer, soft drinks, or instant noodles.

The snorkelling trips were great fun, but the house reef is even better if you want to get away from the crowds. High tide is in the morning, so you can pretty much just swim out and see lots of fishes. When I came back (in time for lunch), I saw fish right up to the shoreline! You can even see blacktip reef sharks close to the shoreline too! But don't worry, they don't bite humans. :-)

Whether you want to get into the sun and surf, lie in a hammock and enjoy the view or read a good book, or simply get back in touch with nature, this is the place to be. The most interesting thing is that I love technology and am in that line of work, but I actually find technology boring now and would prefer just being on the island! How weird is that?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lod3st4r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

A very friendly crews from Tim running the show, Joyce at the reception and Uncle Tan the diving instructor.
You will not run hungry here, beside the usual BLD there teatime/supper and freeflow of bread/toast/drinks through the day/night.
The friendly boatman and snorkling guide gave a personal tours to the hidden underwater "treasures" something you will never get at the other resorts. Don't miss the 12noon baby shark feeding time where Tim will feed them at the jetty. Nice
Rooms are basic but fully aircon, running hot water and bed are comfortable and nice.
The wall in between the rooms however a little thin so honeymoon is not advisible,
Wi-fi at a mere MYR20 for the whole duration, a real bargain.
A great place and we will be back for sure.
Thanks guys for making our holidays memorable

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaix9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

I had an amazing time here. Rooms and surroundings were clean. Good food. Friendly staffs. Perfect location for those want a quiet and peaceful environment. we were well occupied from karaoke'ing to snorkelling. All of your needs were well taken care of.

I'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanusya_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lum[ur
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

i Love Sun..i loVe Beach...i dont care if my skin will burn..cozzz i love it... Redang kalong was my First Island destination in My Life..Believe or Not? u should.. After 3 nights, it was very hard to leave this heaven.Imagine: Our day starts at 8.30 am with me went to snorkeling: very beautiful marine life and corals. but I never get chance to go snorkeling with someone name TIM YIP :) we went as a company trip they provide us the facilities for our own activities. Redang Kalong have very friendly staff that always care about their customer..well done!!! n Redang Kalong was where i fall in Love with someone.and i had very special nite & memory that i won’t forget with TY :) If you have two days or two weeks to relax, dream, dive and pamper yourself, Redang Kalong is the place to go. Thanks again to sharon and the very friendly staff, I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

Beautiful sunsrise
nice bed+pillow
Very clean
tranqual+nice environment
safe and fun for new divers
friendly staffs
good food..yummy!

WILL DEFINATELY COME AGAIN TO REDANG KALONG!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maszuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Redang hotels
1.7 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 13 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Laguna Redang Island Resort
#1 of 13 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
1.8 mi away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#10 of 13 in Pulau Redang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
0.6 mi away
Redang Beach Resort
Redang Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Pulau Redang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Redang Bay Resort
Redang Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Pulau Redang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redang Kalong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redang Kalong Resort

Property: Redang Kalong Resort
Address: Teluk Kalong Beach, Pulau Redang, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Redang Kalong Hotel Pulau Redang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing