We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“its terrible”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Redang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Redang Kalong Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Certificate of Excellence
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
“its terrible”
Reviewed May 26, 2010

basic necessities are there, services from workers are ok. (sides the boss is arrogant) the location is the only horrible thing! its isolated! its like a dead place, the sea and sand is HORRIBLE.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bell1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    124
    22
    8
    11
See reviews for
61
68
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

I normally don't write reviews for any place I've ever traveled to, but I'm going to make an exception regarding Redang Kalong. I had booked the trip with my cousin without thorough research of what the place looked like or had to offer, we were just excited to be getting away. And a get-away is exactly what Redang Kalong offered. Not only were all our activities and meals taken care of, but during the down time, the staffs took it to another level and created an intimate friendship with all the guests. It felt like being home away from home. Most island resorts don't have hot water shower, but Kalong paid extra attention to this detail and equipped their rooms with a great A.C. as well as hot showers. The place had bare minimum and if you want to be distracted by technology, your only bet is to sit in the dining area where there's the whole resort's only T.V. I think this is great because it doesn't take away from interpersonal relationships with the people you went on vacation with; my cousin and I got talking into the wee hours of the night because of this. I highly recommend staying here not only for their minimum amenities and perfect beach front, but also diving with the instructors at Kalong is safe and fun. I'll definitely be back many times over in the course of my life!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viviansyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl, malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

My highlights in Redang Kalong is:

*ICE COLD beer in frosted ice cold mugs. Heaaaven on a hot, hot day!
*Super yummy grilled lamb on their BBQ dinner nites. I love their soups too!
*FUN snorkeling trips!
*Friendly staffs - Luved Angeline's sunshine cheeriness and snorkeling with Tim.
*Nice, comfy bed, plush pillows and soft duvet + super cold air cond (perfect after
spending all day in the sun!)
*Hammock under the coconut tree - greaaaat sea view at the tip of your toes!

The only setbacks are that the attached bathroom smells funny after a few flushes. Also the walls are very thin. Pray hard that the person next door isn't snoring loudly at night! ;)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michi_kayell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

People stay at this resort mainly to dive or snorkel. There are no eateries nearby so there free food and drinks provided - breakfast, lunch, tea and dinner. Soft drinks and alcoholic drinks available separately (not free). Aircon and hot water in the room. No TV in the room. TV in the dining area. I booked a sea-view room. There's a small veranda with chairs outside each room for you to sit and enjoy the sea view / breeze. I was very fortunate to witness a turtle making its way up the beach and laying its eggs. The resort owners said it's the 2nd visit by the turtle.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank working4vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

i stayed at kalong for 2 nights at it's was a great stay. the people are friendly, the place is clean, there is food all the time, water and orange juice all the time, what more can i ask for. I went diving with them and they were v professional. I will definitely recommend it to all divers to experience staying at kalong! as for non divers, i think kalong has lots to do too, you can canoe, play volleyball, swim at the sea, snorkel, relax at the hammock, play games, mahjong, cards, sing karaoke, relax at the balcony, relax at the dining area, walk around and all..... :)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveljunkieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

I stay in redang kalong from 22/8 to 26/8. And my partner stayed till 29/8. Redang kalong is a place with its own secluded bay which is Teluk Kalong.
If you are looking for quiet, budget, and outdoor activities, this is the place for you.
The room is all next to each other, like a long house, only separated by a thin wood wall. The 1st and 2nd night of our stayed, we heard the next door girls fighting, crying, foot steps. And since the rooms are connected to each other, if your neighbor is inconsiderate, everytime they open, close and SLAM the door, it just wake you up and sit right up on the bed !!! HEART ATTACK !!!!
But luckily our neighbors only stayed for 2 nights.
There aren't many people stay there, so you kinda know who is who, who is having tensions, who is fighting, who is loving. somehow i think is not much privacy.
As budget resort, with the money we paid, 4 meals a day all inclusive in our package, breakfast, lunch, tea break, dinner, for me is snorkeling inclusive, for my partner is diving inclusive. Also with air conditioner, a queen size bed, a single bed, hot shower supply. i need to rent my snorkel, mask and life jacket for i think RM20, and i use it until i check out. The kayak boat is free, I think is a good budget deal.
I went to 2 snorkeling site, it was okay. And my partner went to different dive site, he said the divemaster is professional.
But the only bad thing happened to us is, me and my partner we both bitten by the bed ticks.
I was bitten badly cause i don't go out too much into the sea water, my partner is much better, he dive everyday, somehow i think the sea water have the disinfect effect on the ticks on his skin.
It only appear on my body on the last day i left which is 26/8. The following days, my body, neck, hands, legs, even my face, keeps appear small dots bites, itchy, and redness. I went to see doctor, and doctor said i was bitten by bed ticks. It could be the bed or the blanket is dirty. Doctor said usually the ticks take 3 to 4 days to get into the skin, now it runs all over the surface of my skin. Until today my itchness just get little bit better. Some bites dries out but it leaves red bitten spots on my skin. It will take about 3 to 4 weeks to totally heal.
You see, i wouldn't know it was dirty until i was bitten. The bed, blanket, pillow case all have clean sheets. It looks clean, but it's the warm house for ticks !!!!
So I would say redang kalong is good for budget but bad for cleanliness.
By the way, the room we stay is 210. Make sure you don't stay in that room, otherwise wellcome to the ticks bite !!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fwgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EU
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

On one hand I would like to keep this place a secret... On the other hand though I want to share the great experience we have had there....
Let me put it in just a few words: a perfect place if you love being almost on your own close to exotic nature... if the view of a beach with a wall of coconut trees takes your breath away... if you are not looking for comfort, just a place to sleep, wash and eat.... if you don't like noise, crowds and over-development.
I wish somebody could tell me where other places like this are in the world... I would like to see all of them.
To all people at Redang Kalong - thanks for the great time and beautiful holidays!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sputnik-dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Redang hotels
1.7 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Laguna Redang Island Resort
#1 of 12 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
1.8 mi away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Pulau Redang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
0.7 mi away
Redang Beach Resort
Redang Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Pulau Redang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Redang Pelangi Resort
Redang Pelangi Resort
#5 of 12 in Pulau Redang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redang Kalong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redang Kalong Resort

Property: Redang Kalong Resort
Address: Teluk Kalong Beach, Pulau Redang, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Redang Kalong Hotel Pulau Redang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing