We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent diving”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Redang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Redang Kalong Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Certificate of Excellence
KL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent diving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

This resort is on its own private beach, well away from the hustle of Long Beach. I stayed in a standard seaview room and it was very clean and comfortable, with a balcony overlooking the sea. It's not luxury, but who needs luxury with that view? The food is fairly basic but overall fine, and the dining area is spotlessly clean, with a lovely view over the water. I found the staff to be helpful and hardworking and the divermaster (Tim) to be very experienced and a great teacher, generous with his time and knowledge. The dive school's commitment to safety is impressive and I would definitely recommend this place. Oh, and the diving was great!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueWrenKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    124
    22
    8
    11
See reviews for
61
68
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Their package is most value for money and the resort comes with private beach. The moment you arrive at the resort jetty, whether you just arrived from kuala Terengganu or back from snorkeling or diving, you WILL be greeted by helpful staffs and their sunny smiles. The dive masters (Tim and AB) are very experienced and loves to share their experience. They took good care of us during dive trips. The room is very clean, please note that there is no daily housekeeping for a better environment. Food is decent, and beers are sold in the resort. This is the only resort on this side of the island hence the private beach and it is peaceful and quiet at night. Sitting by the beach at night, listening to the sound of the wave hitting the shoreline, a clear sky with stars, and the cool breeze, so pleasant to enjoy especially if you come from the bustling city.
We got a sea view room and it immediately brightens your day the moment you open the door in the morning, a panoramic view of the clear blue ocean! Overall, a very pleasant stay, with great service, decent food, all these with a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Sea view room. Try to get away from rooms that are above the Karaok room, unless you like to sing al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Redang Kalong was one of the first few options since I have not been to Redang before. Some of my friends who dive have given good remarks. So my journey began on 28th March, taking a midnight bus ride from KL - Kuala Terengganu which took me about 8 hours. I reached the island at about 10am++ . Did a quick check in, freshen up and shortly after that I hit the dive centre to catch my first dive of the day at Cik Isa. Of all the dive sites which I managed to go (S.P Lime, Batu Chupak, Paku Kecil, Kalong Paradise) my favourite dive site is at Cik Isa. Full of stuff and live actions to be seen such as big ball of yellow fin tail and juvenile barracuda.There are about 27 dive sites available at Redang Island.

There are few things which make the trip worthy
* Private beach with clean surroundings
* Wooden beach chairs and 3 hammocks by the shore, though personally I wish for a bigger hammock
* Staffs are really friendly and ready to greet you with their megawatts smile
*Great diving facility and run by experienced and light hearted siblings (Tim & AB)
* Local Malaysian food served in the resort is pretty similar like home cooked food especially the soup. Every meal is well balanced diet with chicken, fish, vege and fruits. The chef will always be standing at one corner observing the patrons consuming their meal and see what could be improved further
* Clean and neat surroundings
* Running warm water is available all the time
* I love the soft and clean bed sheet!!! (Golden moments)
* Provide a good and user friendly underwater camera (Olympus T9) for rental
* You could bump into regular divers who dive frequently with Redang Kalong. Great to know first hand story on the dive sites available at the area
* Well structured resort equipped with entertainments and games perfect for family getaway
* Value for money!

For those who have not been here before, do yourself a favour and just come! Remember to take flight instead

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the seaview if you personally enjoy sea view. Try to get rooms further away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChianMing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

the resort is relaxing, private beach, very friendly staff.
Very experienced dive master, and experience sharing section.
The room is clean and the equipment is in good condition.
Very calm and pleasant beach and not crowded with people.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jin_Jun_Lam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malays
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Got my diving course with them ( basic technique from PJ)
Staff were very polite, respectable. It made our stay very memorable. I would strongly recommend visitors, as this place shows lots of potential.
Thank you for taking good care of us.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Redang Kalong really deserve a thumb up. I booked 3 quad sharing room for 7 adults, 3 children and 1 infant. Everyone was satisfied with my decision to book Redang Kalong Resort. The seaview is just plain awesome and perfect. The bed, pillow and comforter is so clean that my mum who had a sensitive nose, me, my son (infant) and my sister who had skin allergy had no problem with their beds at all. Their food is above average which is fine to me because I'm not expecting much. Snorkelling experience is perfect. Their staff is very helpful and polite. Great service. Great experience. Just perfect.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kean Jun N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Not luxury, but a good option if the hotels are fully booked. Perfect for the divers. The lunches and dinners are included, local food , but very tasty and the staff is helpful. Nice trip boats near by, the beach isn't to good especially at low tide. But overall a reasonable good option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bzh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Redang hotels
1.7 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Laguna Redang Island Resort
#1 of 12 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
1.8 mi away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#9 of 12 in Pulau Redang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
0.7 mi away
Redang Beach Resort
Redang Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Pulau Redang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Redang Pelangi Resort
Redang Pelangi Resort
#5 of 12 in Pulau Redang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redang Kalong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redang Kalong Resort

Property: Redang Kalong Resort
Address: Teluk Kalong Beach, Pulau Redang, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Redang Kalong Hotel Pulau Redang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing