We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for holiday,friendly staff,great snorkeling guide”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Redang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Redang Kalong Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great place for holiday,friendly staff,great snorkeling guide”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Traveled over there with friends on 24-26th April 2013. Overall, it was a great place for family or friend trip. And the most impressive one is the snorkeling guide, they were great! They brought us snorkeling for almost hour for the 3 snorkeling session and never say tired. During snorkeling, they told us what is this, what is that, like 'sea christmas tree?' , sea cucumber, some ‘weird’ marine organisms that we never seen before. And they said we were the lucky one because we saw quite a big black eel. For first timer, It was a great experience for us. Thanks them so much.!
The food, the room, bathroom can give them a 4 star rating :)
However, during night time, there were not much activities. As i went there with friends, so we just decided to walk to Laguna Resort there to have some beers.
The staff told us there was turtle lay eggs just beside the resort. It was too bad the time we were over Laguna Resort there. If you are the lucky one, you may eyewitness to turtle lay eggs in your coming trip to redang ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gyvee725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    124
    22
    8
    11
See reviews for
61
68
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
CHINA
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very like in comfortable kalong, their boss and the staff are very friendly!
The hotel facilities are simple but very complete, although there is no TV, but every day over a very full very interesting.
Early every day to get up a good wash and then eat breakfast, While there is little appetite (because I love spicy food, O (∩ _ ∩) O to), but every meal eat very happy to have to eat belly full , and then to begin the most beautiful activities it! Of course, is the snorkeling you for this. . . And then every night listening to the sound of the waves slowly fell asleep, the wife too enjoy!
The best part is snorkeling it! On the island these days almost all of TIM and A Guo took us to go snorkeling, they were good, but also took us to see the sea turtles, sharks, clown fish, there are big groupers and eels lucky I saw said to attack people do not know that what a huge fish. The snorkeling in kalong these days think the most interesting thing is me and my friends. Thank you very much the TIM and A Guo let us spend a pleasant holiday! , That long hair Myanmar guy? Is also very interesting, thank you!
5 days 4 nights, flash over, you do not want to leave, will go, must still live in the cozy kalong!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZOU Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We are taking 3D/2N package from 9-11 May 2013. Resort is great, not crowded, so can enjoy and relax with beach atmosphere. Room is clean, but as the room made from plywood, the noise of next room can be heard clearly, very annoying especially at night time when we need good sleep.
Food is great, salute to the Chef. Especially the BBQ, I love it very much.

The bad point is: when we are going to snorkling, the guide say anything nothing during the trip. Just keep silent. When the boat stopped at snorkling location, most of us do not know what to do, the guide do not say anything until some of us try to do the snorkling by ourself. For first timer, this must be confusing thing. Do not know how to use the mask and snorkle.
At the last day, there is no information that we have to bring the marine park enterence ticket which we purchase at Merang Jetty, so when we reach the assemble point, the guide ask to hand over the ticket, very annoying. Have to walk back to room and bring the ticket.
From Kalong Resort to Marine park it takes about 20 minutes, so we could only enjoy the park in limited time. They should arrange longer time for us to enjour marine park. The Park is really beatiful.

If you wish to visit Laguna Resort, you can walk and it takes about 10 minutes. But you will missed your snorkling trip.

Room Tip: Sea View is best, but usually sold out. Choose room far from Karaoke Room, otherwise you have to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SutedjaTjandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Went there on 8th - 10th May 2013. Got the seaview room. The view was great, the beach just right in front of the room. Electricity 24/7, A/C in room, hot shower.

Staffs were so nice (especially Hasam who assist me to find my way to the Long Beach) Receptionist also nice. Tho i am not a diver but AB also was nice. I can see by the look of the divers when they came back from their dives..satisfying.

Nightlife is quite boring except karaokes and board games but you can just walk to the Long Beach for entertainment. TV at the dining hall. Good snorkelling guide, saw turtles and blacktip sharks.

Give it a try, you wont regret. WIll be back someday.

My name is Khairie and I approved this feedback. ;)

Room Tip: Try the seaview room. the view is damn nice in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Khairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The resort is simple and clean, so if you are looking for a 5 star resort stay, this may not be the place for you. But if you are looking for a quiet resort and diving, Kalong resort would be a good recommendation.

Me and hubby had walked to the long beach where other resorts including Laguna Resort are and were immediately put off by the crowd there (especially just outside the Kalong Beach Resort where groups of people snorkeling at the beach front).

As for the dives, we were impressed by the professionalism and hard core-ness of the instructors (Tim, Jon, Deb, Lorenz). They were friendly and fun to be with. They are also very knowledgeable and are always excited to share their dive experience and the dive sites.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are better. One thing to note is that the walls are thin, so it can be noisy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abikoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you are looking for friendly, professional and sometimes eccentric dive instructors, then this is the place for you. Overall, the dive experience was superb because of the instructors (Tim, AB, Jon, Lorenzo and the rest) and the wonderful visibility (14++ meters).

The accommodation is clean, cosy and comfortable. The staff at the resort are ever ready to help out. They have your keys standing by when you came back from the dive. Quite thoughtful of them.

As for food wise, nothing is perfect in the world. If you don't expect a feast, then you will be contented. Try the peanut butter toast, but never toast the bread together the peanut butter in the toaster. It is not me.

Recommended.

Room Tip: Choose the seaview, close to the DC and the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DingYifei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Rooms are clean complete with air-cond and attached bathroom. You get hot water and electricity all day/night. Spacious enough even for triple sharing. Doesn't feel cramped. Thin walls tho. Sea view rooms are worth it.

Meals are buffet style - BBQ night on alternate nights. Not much choices but yummy never the less. Am usually a picky eater but have never had any problems with food during all my visits there (stayed here at least 5 trips).

Dive centre is good - well equipped and equipments are well maintained. Dive boats are well kept too and not too small. In-house dive instructors (AB and Tim) can be fierce and curt but I normally learn something new from them eventhough I'm not signed up for a course.

Nightlife - nothing exciting. There's a karaoke set, games area and tv at the dining hall. If you're looking for parties etc, take a walk to the other side of the island. Bring a torch.

Resort and package offered is good value for money. Not a fancy place but a favourite with divers.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Redang hotels
1.7 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Laguna Redang Island Resort
#1 of 12 in Pulau Redang
982 reviews
1.8 mi away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Pulau Redang
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
0.8 mi away
Redang Pelangi Resort
Redang Pelangi Resort
#5 of 12 in Pulau Redang
197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Redang Beach Resort
Redang Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Pulau Redang
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redang Kalong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redang Kalong Resort

Property: Redang Kalong Resort
Address: Teluk Kalong Beach, Pulau Redang, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Redang Kalong Hotel Pulau Redang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing