We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Pulau Redang
London, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Spent 3 nights here after some work in KL - what a revelation!

I'll get my negative point out of the way first: the food in the main restaurant (the one that serves Malaysian-style food, as opposed to the European Beach Bistro) isn't all that great.

It's tasty but, as is common in Malaysia, there's too much sugar everywhere - even if you take the most innocuous-looking salad items from the buffet, you'll discover that many have been pre-dressed with sugary dressing.

The very pleasant new F&B manager (French) acknowledged this and said she'd been trying to instill a more modern ethos in the kitchen, but that it's taking time to take hold.

It would be lovely to be able to eat clean, fresh, healthy food in the main restaurant.

You can do this in the bistro - but it's only open in the evenings.

Oh and the hot water in our room didn't work very reliably, even after maintenance had come to fix it. But we sort of didn't care, the place was so lovely.

Ok, that's the negative. The positives are:

1. Very pleasant, relaxed vibe. It's not a show-offy place, even if it's rather luxurious. People are there to chill out, not to strut their stuff.

2. Amazing beach. Probably the best I've been to. Gently-sloping, white sand with the finest grains, and water as clear as Evian. (Speaking of which - a side note: why was I drinking bottled Italian water on a Malaysian island? How far had the water travelled? I like San Pellegrino, but it's kind of obscene to drink it so far from its source, from an ecological point of view).

3. Great weather (mid/late August).

4. Easygoing, easy-to-arrange snorkelling trips, which were small enough to be intimate (group of 10 or so). We saw sharks (small ones), and all manner of beautiful fish.

Pointers:

Pack rubber sea shoes for the snorkeling. They don't let you wear fins in case you damage the coral (nice), but this leaves you vulnerable to cuts in the shallower areas.

If you're a bearded or stubbly snorkeller, bring some silicone to make your mask seal work - they don't have any of their own.

The "Robinson Crusoe" experience - where they take you to a secluded beach which you have to yourself for 5 hours or so, with picnic and drinks etc – was a great idea, but a bit marred in the execution. First, the beach chosen was nothing like the one at the hotel - it was rocky and slippery, hard to get on and off, hard to swim off. Actually quite dangerous given that you're there alone - what happens if/when someone slips and bangs their head on a rock? There's no cell phone coverage on the Crusoe beach, unlike the resort. Also they hadn't quite cleaned the beach properly - we found some cigarette butts, a condom wrapper and, yes, a condom. Nice. Have to say that compared to what you find on public beaches in the area, this wasn't unexpected (we found diapers on the public beach). I think the guys who prep the Crusoe trip just hadn't spotted those bits of sexual detritus - and it was frankly disgusting of whichever guests left it there to do so, so I don't blame the hotel for it, though another guest might take a different view.

Oh, and they positioned the parasol/canopy thing in the wrong spot given that we were spending the pm. It was up against a rock, such that as the sun moved, the shade provided went up the rock on not on the ground. So we huddled under towels for a while. They should consider the sunpath before setting up next time.

Finally, the Crusoe menu isn't all that astonishing - lots of fried things - so my advice is go off-menu if you're going for the Crusoe (@ around 280ukp...they could I'm sure have given us something fresher if we'd asked). Again, though, I could've anticipated this but decided to go with the flow.

Other minor tweaks they could make: the sunloungers don't have intermediate angles between 45-degrees and flat, which is a shame. And they're covered with black vinyl, which makes them very hot unless your towel covers every square inch. White vinyl would have been smarter.

The windsurfing activity looks tempting, but there was only one windsurf at the resort and it was broken.

Internet connection isn't all that fast.

You have to buy tokens to play pool or table football in the games room (for a nominal fee but it's annoying - why?).

But the rooms are nice, the bathrooms lovely, the beds comfortable, the chalets sympathetically designed in timber. There's a good gym. Didn't try the spa.

Bit of a pity that the view inland from the sea is dominated by the two large blocks of non-chalet accommodation - which could have been designed better to blend in with all the greenery.

Thing is, though, I'd go back. It's a no-brainer, so these criticisms are details, really.

One lovely thing (for a Brit) is that there weren't many other English people there - the place is full of Italians. And - for a Brit - it's so much more pleasurable and holiday-ish to hear Italian spoken on the beach, than to hear your own language.

There were plenty of other nationalities there too, but for me the preponderance of Italians was a nice touch. For the Italians themselves it may have felt more mundane, of course.

Getting on and off the island takes a bit of planning. Depending where you're going to/coming from, it may help to fly straight in/out of Redang airport (book early). Otherwise there are two hotel ferries per day to the mainland and one (I think only one) private one at 1pm. If you want to cross the water later than that (say for an evening flight out of Kuala Terranganu), you can rent the hotel boat for a lot of money (3000ringit) or ask reception to find a local guy who'll do it much more cheaply (we were taken to the mainland and driven to the airport all for around 550 ringit - albeit in a rather bumpy and basic vessel).

I'd go back to this place. It's on my top list now, along with Jade Mountain, The Ventana Inn, the Mount Nelson, Babington House......you get the picture.

Well done, Taaras.

A few tweaks and you could be approaching perfection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sparing your valuable time in writing to us about your stay at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort.

Our resort is the most preferred when it comes to location and relaxation along with options of sightseeing and recreational activities. A picnic on a deserted island, a true Robinson Crusoe moment, breakfast on your balcony overlooking the ocean, a quick snorkel and much more is The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort is all about. We are glad to know that we could leave a positive impact on you.

However we are disappointed to know of the inconveniences caused to you and have taken a note of all your concerns to avoid any future discomfort to our patrons.

Thank you once again for your support. We look forward to welcome you again during your next trip to Malaysia.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    418
    139
    71
    32
See reviews for
277
572
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The beach at this resort is absolutely stunning and potentially one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever seen. The water is clear and warm and the sand is white and soft. I'd say you are paying fairly high prices and don't really receive the type of service you would expect of other hotels in that price bracket. There are some great staff members at the Taaras who are so lovely and enthusiastic however the whole experienced probably needs to be a little more polished. The rooms are nice although we didn't spend a lot of time there opting instead for beach time. The products available in the room were gorgeous. There were a number of younger children there, luckily not too many but beware of the entitled parent with the screaming baby here. The spa treatments were lovely but again not 5 star. We had dinner outside the resort as well as within the resort. Good local food available outside the resort. Food price within the resort wasn't too bad but again not 5 star. Overall a really nice experience and the beach made it a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for opting to stay with us and for sharing your feedback. Overlooking the turquoise waters, The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort is the bespoke tourist destinations. Our guests can opt to indulge in the luxurious experience and choose from among various relaxing and recreation options. Besides spacious accommodation, our resort encompasses of exclusive diners and bars. We proffer indulgent spa treatments and top-notch services to pamper our guests. It is great to know that you admire various facets of the resort, including location, accommodation among other offerings
Once again, we thank you for staying with us and look forward to serving you again.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Taaras for 5 nights. We were upgraded and the room was amazing, a great jacuzzi bath with tv off the bedroom, brilliant bathroom and lovely lounge and balcony. The hotel is so lovely and quiet, the only one in the bay on a beautiful beach. You can kayak round to the left and there are turtles clearly visible and a beautiful private beach. The food was excellent standard, although we only used the buffet there was a great selection, different every night. Breakfast also great. Would highly recommend for a quiet getaway. The only thing I would point out is the evening entertainment is terrible, didn't much appreciate the dinner singers either. Thankfully it's short but difficult to avoid without sitting by the bar outside which is great but due to the evening rain not always possible to do. If you want nightlife this is not the place for you, but perfect for couples wanting a bit of paradise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelchick6383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We express our gratitude for checking-in with us and for your admirable comments. Tucked away from hustle-bustle, The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort is one of the popular relaxing destinations. Our resort proffers an array of options in term of accommodation, dining and recreation. Our multi-talented staff caters to various needs of the travelers and pampers the guests with various superlative services. It is a delight to know that you enjoyed staying with us and admire the location among other factors. It is great to learn that you liked various recreation and dining options. However, we noticed your concern regarding the entertainment options and we would like to inform you that we are working on that aspect.

It was a pleasure to host you and we hope to get another opportunity for serving you again with enhanced services.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We spent 6 nights at the Taraas resort on redang. The beach and water quality were exceptional and you are able to swim just off the beach to coral where there are lots of fish and the odd turtle. Overall it made for a great chill out experience.

We had read reviews that the food was over priced but were pleased to find we could get a main course for £5-6. The quality of the food was great and there was amazing choose.

The staff were super friendly and helpful and the accommodation was a good standard with everything you need.

A negative was the culture of bagging sun beds seemingly at first light. Every morning all the sun beds had towels on them before we had made it to breakfast. On a connected note, there was a really nice beach bar with a great selection of cocktails.

There did not seem to be anything to do on redang but activities connected to the resort. So 6 nights was enough before we had itchy feet. That said, we enjoyed the taaras very much and would recommend it to anyone who wants a real chilled break in a luxury location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guern_abroad84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Malaysia and for sharing your experience with us on this public platform.

Situated on an island off the East Coast of tropical Malaysia, our resort provides barefoot luxury experience with bespoke Asian hospitality. A home away from home; we endeavor to offer our guests with the best of amenities and recreational facilities. Our patrons have always appreciated us for a perfect dining experience and the efforts of our staff. Your kind words motivate us to strengthen our resolve in serving our patrons.

The team is happy to know that you enjoyed various aspects of the resort and had a memorable stay.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us and hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve you with our renewed services.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I had high expectations when I booked this resort after reading consistent glowing reviews of The Taaras. At their going room rate ( RM 1500 per night for Garden Suite), I had imagined to have the same kind of pampering as we did in the Maldives. We booked ourselves a Garden Suite for 3 nights during the Hari Raya celebration weekend ( 7-10 Aug). It was probably the wrong time to go to a Malaysian resort.

We took Berjaya Air directly from Singapore to Pulau Redang. The flight was badly delayed but that didn't bother us as we were on a holiday. After a long queue at the immigration, we got greeted by staff from The Taaras who were already waiting for their guests from this flight. We were guided to the shuttle van which left for the resort once it was filled up. The resort was barely 10 minutes from the airport and we were again greeted at the lobby of the seemingly beautiful resort. We were invited to sit in the lobby while waiting for someone to check us in. During the wait, they nicely offered us a lemon ginger drink with a cool towel. Nice touch. It was close to 4.30pm when we got into the reception for our check in. We saw random staff attending to other guests seated all around the lobby except us.

After waiting for 10 minutes, we asked the staff clearing the drink glasses if we were meant to go to the front desk to check in. She promptly replied that we were be attended to for check in. We continued to wait and saw the other people being given their keys to their rooms. After another 10 minutes, one staff walked by and asked if we have been checked in. When we said no, she gave us a form to fill out the particulars we have filled out when we booked the room. No problem. We dutifully completed the form and passed our credit card to her to process the check in. 10 minutes later, she came back to return the credit card and said that our room is not yet ready so we had to wait. I asked what time was check in, she answered 2pm and it was already 5pm. She just gave an apologetic smile and said the room was not ready. When we asked how long we needed to wait, she said she wasn't sure. We waited for another 15 minutes, seeing new arrivals of guests from the airports being served and brought to their rooms. After being fed up of wasting away in the reception for almost a good hour, we went to the staff again to ask what was the status with our room. Housekeeping could not have taken so long. It was only then that she revealed that the room was actually ready but their maintenance staff was trying to fix the air con that wasn't working. We promptly said we wanted to just check into the room and settle down while they fixed the air con. We were finally brought to our room. While we booked the Garden Suite, which was meant to be near the beach and pool area, they changed our booking to be at the Sea Cliff View Suite, which was up on the hill and almost the furthest possible room from the reception. If you don't take the buggy, it would be a 10 minute vertical climb via the stairs which is only possible if it is not raining.

We entered the beautiful suite with a staff repairing the air con. The view from the room was spectacular and we even had a jacuzzi tub right at the window looking at the beach. The bathroom was very spacious and tastefully decorated. Connecting to the big bedroom was an equally spacious living room with a balcony of the same beautiful beach view. The room took away the initial frustration of checking in.

There are only 2 main restaurants for meals in the resort. The Asean Restaurant provides both buffet and ala carte choices while the Beach Brasserie serves more expensive ala carte meals. Because there are many guests that buy dinner vouchers for the buffet, the Asean Restaurant can get crowded and noisy during the typical meal times. That said, the food at the Asean Restaurant was really good and the selection of the buffet was extensive. Food does not come cheap at the Taaras. Expect to pay premium pricing on everything. ( RM 110++ per person for buffet dinner, RM 40-50 for pasta/burger). The Executive Chef, Wayne, was a friendly face you would see at both restaurants. I have not seen any Executive Chef so smiley, friendly and humble before. He would help any of his staff to do anything when he saw that they were shorthanded. ( even frying a sunny side up). There was no airs about him and he took time to have a decent chat with guests instead of the typical formality exchange. The wait staff, like the front desk, have inconsistent levels of service. We got served iced water when we ordered warm water, we were told there was no Tiger beer available and saw several other tables being served Tiger beers after that, etc.

The beach was the highlight of the stay. It was very private and unlike the other resorts on the island, the beach was not shared with anyone else. Guests will try to head down early to the beach to book their lounger beds as they get taken up very quickly after breakfasts. The sand was powdery white and the waters were extremely clear. Even clearer than the Maldives. There is a house reef on the left side of the beach near the rocks which houses many many kinds of fish. There were spottings of a baby shark, eagle rays and turtles. There are many activities you could do: canoeing, paddle boating, paddle surfing, etc. There is also a dive centre right at the resort which makes it super convenient when we wanted to go on the dive. We went on 2 dives with the dive school. Their service was great but we didn't get to see much during both dives. A big sting ray hiding under the corals was the highlight. We saw more fish when snorkelling. It may also have been just due to the dive sites we went to.

We also booked a massage at the spa which was a pleasant experience. Again, prices are on the high side ( RM 210-280 for 50 minute massage) but the treatment rooms were really nice and service was distinctively better than the rest of the resort.

Back to the room, we made several calls to front desk to ask for help on air con repair as it never worked since we got into the room and were told it was repaired. We finally managed to get maintenance to come back the 2nd day to attempt to fix it again. This time, they concluded that the blower was spoilt so they would need 2-3 days to get the spare part. We would have checked out by then so we lived with just the ceiling fan. We also had a big spider in our room that required several calls for housekeeping help/insecticide requests before we got the insecticide to deal with the spider ourselves. While the room was fantastic, there was the smell of the sewer during the nights. Our water heater never worked so we had to take cold showers. We never bothered to inform the staff about that after the level of service standards was established from the first day.

On the final night, we went to speak to the duty manager regarding the non working air con to which he nicely offered a discount, as he put it ' I'll give you 10% discount for each night, so the total is a 30% discount'. We didn't know if he genuinely believed 3 nights of 10% discount equated to a 30% discount but we just left it as that. It has been tiring dealing with the service standards.

The duty manager was present when we were checking out. He promptly reminded his staff attending to us to include the 10% discount into our final bill which was appreciated. 2 minutes later, the staff printed out the bill with NO discount and asked us to sign and pay. I asked about the discount and she went back to her records to add that in. By that time, we were just glad we won't have to deal with this kind of service for much longer.

The shuttle back to the airport was swift and efficient. While the resort was beautiful in so many ways, the inconsistent service standards and disappointing interactions with certain staff have left us wondering how they are rated as highly as they are. Maybe it was the wrong time to come when they are at their peak or maybe we just expected certain details to be thought of when we are paying so much per night. If we return to Redang, it would be unlikely that we would come back to The Taaras. I'd rather pay a third of the price and not expect much.

Room Tip: Garden Deluxe/Suites and Ocean Front Suites are near the beach and restaurants which will have many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Junita56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing us as your host during your recent visit to Malaysia and sharing your experience with us on this public platform.

There is no end to comfort and leisure at The Taaras Beach and Spa Resort. Our rooms are designed with convenience in mind providing space to unwind. You can explore the various rooms, amenities and a place according to your requirements.

We are displeased to know about the unpleasant experience you had due to delay in services at our end. We assure you necessary measures will be taken to avoid the inconvenience in future.

Once again thank you for sharing your opinion and wish to welcome you back with our renewed services.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights from July 23- July 29.

This beach resort is as beautiful as the pictures show. Service is great, details are beautiful, the beach is WHITE, and the water is crystal blue. It truly is a little piece of paradise.

The only thing is - if your budget can JUST manage to pay the price of the room, I would not recommend you to go here. Why? Because they charge 5 times the price as the same acitivites/foods as they charge in f.ex Perhentian Islands (no kidding!). They charge 35-40 RM for a coctail, 22-28 RM for a beer, about 220 for a dive trip (incl everything) (a dive trip in Perhentian was about 60-80 RM), and 1200 RM for surf dinner. As you can see, this is extremely expensive when considering the location is in Malaysia. I am from Norway, and to find a place down there with Norwegian prices - well, i am amazed. But i guess it is what it is, a true paradise comes with a cost.

One more thing - we experienced somproblems with our room (garden view). The shower drain did not funcion properly, so the whole bathroom was flooded every time we took a shower, and there was a smell of sewage from time to time. Though, we did not complain about it, I guess they would fix it immediately if we told them, as the service provided was excellent. They even drove us with a golf car to our room should we be "too warm and lazy to walk".

The gym is excellent by the way. Make sure you use it! Beautful view of the whole beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Malaysia and for sharing your experience with us on this public platform. Situated on an island off the East Coast of tropical Malaysia, our resort provides barefoot luxury experience with bespoke Asian hospitality.

A home away from home, we endeavor to offer our guests with the best of amenities and recreational facilities. Our patrons have always appreciated us for a perfect dining experience and the efforts of our staff. Your kind words motivate us to strengthen our resolve in serving our patrons.

We have duly noted your concern about the rooms and regret the inconvenience caused.
Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us and hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve you with our renewed services.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. We got upgraded to a suite on the hillside. It was a marvelous experience. The room are highest standard. The service was brilliant and the staff highly motivated. Admittedly the hotel is also price wise high end. The price for the extra services and the restaurant correspond to the hotel category. But you get what you pay for and it is worth mentioning that many products are imported to satisfy the guests' expectations. The breakfast buffet is rich and offers something for everybody's taste. Although the hotel was fully booked the place stayed quiet and relaxing. The beach itself is fairy tale like. Note: Don't feed the monkeys! The French restaurant charges higher prices, but has excellent sea food and is less crowded. There is a coral reef immediately in the bay (on the left side) so you can have a great snorkeling experience directly from the hotel beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas-from-Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Malaysia and for sharing your experience with us on this public platform. Situated on an island off the East Coast of tropical Malaysia, our resort indeed is a perfect gateway for a tranquil and rejuvenating stay.
Rooms at The Taaras Beach and Spa Resorts have been tastefully designed for the comfort of our patrons. Whether it be a lavish buffet spread or outdoor dining, food at our resort is always hard to resist. We are glad to know that you had a satisfying experience with us.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us. We deem it a privilege to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Redang
1.6 mi away
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Laguna Redang Island Resort
#1 of 13 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
2.1 mi away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#10 of 13 in Pulau Redang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
20.5 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#2 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
21.4 mi away
Alunan Resort
Alunan Resort
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort

Property: The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Address: | PO Box 126, Main Post Office, Pulau Redang 20928, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Redang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘The Taaras’ is a bespoke Private Beach Residence, tucked away and hidden from the outside world on a small Island found just off the unspoilt East Coast of tropical Malaysia. Considered to be one of the most beautiful Island locations in the South China Sea, the Isle of Redang is home to our natural, yet stylish resort found on one of the most spectacular bays surrounded by one of the bluest oceans on earth. The resorts ethos is to provide a contemporary, barefoot luxury experience with warm Asian hospitality, remembered with a smile long into the future. The name of the property is derived from the Sanskrit word ‘TAARA’, meaning ‘Star or Apple of my eye’ as well as ‘Goddess of the Sea’ which are all represented and epitomised by our mermaid figurehead. The resort is managed by The Taaras Luxury Group, and was formerly known as Berjaya Redang Resort managed by Berjaya Hotels and Resorts. With the stylish suites and rooms, as well as a stunning five bedroom Private Villa perched high up on the cliff overlooking the ocean and resort below. The resort boasts commissioned furniture and bespoke photography of Redang Island and the landscapes of Malaysia. Each suite or room contains oversized beds and hand-picked linens and fabrics for your comfort. Most rooms and all suites have larger washrooms containing both bath tub and separate rain or monsoon shower (some with spa bathtubs looking out over the rainforest or the bay). Most residences have an outdoor balcony or verandah and our suites at the top of the cliff summit have spectacular views over the beach and ocean below. For clients who prefer or require further privacy ‘The Cliff Private Villa Bay & Sea View’, our private five bedroom residence perched high up on the cliff more than meets the requirements; private access, a Villa Host at your ‘beck and call’ as well as twenty four hour security; should it be a necessary requirement. The residence also enjoys a sixteen meter Infinity swimming pool, personal fitness room and both interior and exterior lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Redang Resort - Malaysia Hotel Pulau Redang
Berjaya Redang Beach Hotel
Berjaya Redang Beach Resort
Hotel Berjaya Redang Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing