We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“My Favourite Beach Resort So Far!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“My Favourite Beach Resort So Far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We just came back from 2 nights stay at The Taaras. What a place! This is truly heaven on earth. PARADISE!! We almost booked Laguna Redang but we were very pleased we chose The Taaras. Other resorts had a lot of tour groups which was a bit unpleasant (we were in the same aeroplane w those guests, very noisy with me first attitude).

Since it's still beginning of the season, the resort was fairly quiet with probably less than 40 guests, which we actually enjoyed. We flew in w Berjaya Air departed Subang. We were welcomed by resort's pick up van & at the resort we were served welcomed drinks & cold towels. Remember to pay your conservation fee RM5/person at the airport.

We initially booked garden room but we asked if we could get complimentary upgrade & we got upgraded to hill deluxe. Our booking also came w breakfast & lunch. Since we arrived early we went for lunch while waiting for our room to be ready. You can choose between set menu or ala carte. While having lunch, the chef approached & talked to us. Very friendly & nice staffs. After lunch, our room was ready. Although it was a hill room, it wasn't a problem because buggy was always available. It was a nice walk from the room to the beach too. Not far & beautiful view. You can see the sea from hill deluxe room. Beautiful room, spacious & w bathtub. Wifi is free throughout the resort.

This resort is suitable for any type of holiday goers. We pretty much spent our time at the beach, body boarding & swam at the sea. There were other facilities & recreational activities available for family, kids, couples, singles or groups. We also went for snorkeling trip, RM60/person. This trip is recommended because you get to enjoy the trip in comfort. We were asked to be at the dive center 15 mins before departure. We were given our own kits, proper ones & then we took hotel van to the jetty. The resort has its own private boat to the snorkeling site. This was a nice trip throughout & unlike other resorts they probably squeezed their guests with other hotel guests in 1 boat. Plus we had the snorkeling site to ourselves. When we left, only then the other boats probably 10 of them, packed w passengers arrived at the site.

For dining, we got to enjoy delicious foods at the restaurant & brasserie. Nice selection at breakfast buffet spread. I've been to a few beach resorts & this is by far my personal favorite. I don't usually give rate 5 stars (excellent) easily but I think this resort deserves it. The staffs were extremely friendly & helpful, beautiful location, delicious foods, what more could you ask for. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Hill Deluxe is good enough as you can see the sea from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cahayapagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your wonderful experience here on TripAdvisor. It was indeed a great pleasure to host you.

The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort is a private bespoke luxury resort that caters to all leisure travelers who are looking to unwind, relax and enjoy the calm, peaceful serenity on the tropical East coast of Malaysia. Surrounded by azure waters and powdered beaches, our beach resort offers a unique ambiance to our patrons combined with luxurious services and modern amenities. We are pleased to know that all our services and facilities were at par with your expectations making your trip a memorable one.

Once again, we are delighted for your valuable feedback and making it to your favorite beach resort list. Look forward to hosting you again on your next vacation.

Thanks and Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    399
    130
    71
    28
See reviews for
266
546
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have stayed here 5 times over a period of 10 years, and I must say this is paradise on earth. Secluded hotel with a private beach with white and super crystal clear water, diving and snorkeling is out of this world. We always book a bungalow in the garden. please do this because it has the best atmosphere (tropical) Restaurant has buffet lunch and dinner, taste very good. 10 years ago it cost a fraction of what it does today. unfortunately it has become very expensive to stay here....but it is worth it

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Appelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us yet again and boosting our confidence with your positive words. It is indeed a pleasure to know that our exotic location, luxurious suites and dexterously prepared delicacies have met your satisfaction.

Taaras Beach& Spa Resort is a private beach resident nestled on a small island that is found just off the East Coast of tropical Malaysia and is surrounded by cobalt waters and pristine sand beaches. The island boasts of more than thirty dive locations that are home to beautiful hard and soft corals as well as a rich variety of marine life, which can be seen by snorkeling or in more detail by diving. Our professional dive team will guide our guests to an unforgettable underwater trip. In the lap of nature complemented by superlative amenities and warm hospitality, our resort makes for an ideal holiday getaway.

Once again, thank you for your custom and we hope that you will continue to be our esteemed guest.

Thanks and Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Words cannot describe how much I loved this holiday! After arriving by propeller-plane (gasp) operated by Berjaya air, we were met at the airport by a driver from Taaras, who took us promptly to the resort. As there are not many flights into Redang Island each week chances are there would be other passengers also going to the same place. As we waited to check in we were given a welcome drink. We were then taken to our room by one of their special buggies. Whole process was fast and efficient.

We had a garden double room and it was very nice - comfortable bed, cable tv, bathroom looked spanking new and whole place was very clean. We even had a squirrel visitor on our balcony!

Breakfast and dinner were included with our package and the buffet for both were great with lots of variety in the dishes. There was also plenty of live music during and after dinner, which was fantastic. We also had most of our lunches at the resort out of convenience - the resort is quite far away from the Long Beach area and there are not many other food choices around. We did walk out of the resort and down the main street leading to Taaras to have a look - there appeared to be some places that were offering food nearby but for comfort and perception of cleanliness we ultimately decided to stay in and ate at the resort.

The resort also has a games room which has two pool tables, chess and other games as well as a selection of books, so there was plenty to keep us busy after dinner.

But of course the selling point is their absolutely gorgeous private beach - white sand, blue skies, clear warm water, and you don't even need to swim out very far before you will be joined by various fish! Notably we saw a titan, quite a few parrot fish and a small swordfish, as well as a gigantic jellyfish (bigger than my face) from our snorkelling ventures just off the beach. The resort offered daily activities, diving and snorkelling trips to nearby islands which you can sign-up for, but for greater flexibility on timing we decided to charter a private boat for a 5-stop snorkel trip from a company that has a desk in the resort. This is apparently a separate company from the resort and you may wish to compare prices and/or times of each before booking. I would recommend doing this as soon as you have checked in, particularly if you wished to go out to the nearby islands on the same day.

As mentioned the resort is quite secluded so you will not be able to get to other sights or places on foot quickly - to go to the more populous Long Beach the only options are either by private boat or maybe their transport (but either way it will cost money). But the seclusion comes with the benefit of the beautiful private beach and you won't have hoards and hoards of tourist who are not even staying at the resort "invading" like you would if you were staying on Long Beach, so in many ways it felt a lot more exclusive, peaceful and safe.

Service was also without a doubt first class - all the staff were incredibly professional, helpful and very friendly, and all done with a smile :)

I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePilgrim168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed staying with us at Taaras Beach& Spa Resort. We are a luxury resort that caters primarily to guests that are looking for personalized relaxation amidst a super luxurious stay. We make sure that our guests spend their valuable time in relaxing and making the most out of the resort, keeping this in mind we have tuned our services and amenities for faster processing. The ultimate aim of the resort is to provide our patrons with an ultimate vacation, something that they can remember and take home with them. We are pleased to know that we have succeeded in making your vacation a memorable one. Once again, thank you for choosing us, and we hope to welcome you again.

Thanks and Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We've been back only for a day, and we're both already missing Taaras beach badly! Definitely one of the best quality beaches we've been in Asia. We were immediately in a better mood the moment we set eyes on the turquoise water, whilst enjoying the caress of sand almost as fine as flour!

We couldn't have asked for better weather given its the tail end of the monsoon ... For those planning a more active beach adventure, March onwards will be perfect!

We were lucky to get a free upgrade, with our balcony view opening to the glorious ocean and a cute jacuzzi tub sharing the same gorgeous view!

What I personally appreciated was the genuine friendliness of their staff, the promptness of housekeeping and the much thought after architecture to bring out the best of nature right into our living space! We've not slept sooooo well in such a long time, thanks to the excellent fresh air, ventilation and calming lullaby of the waves.

One pain point I share with the rest of the reviewers is their food. It's not so much the price, but rather the appalling quality and taste that comes with it. We didn't have any variations in choices of restaurants... There was only 1 dining area, with the same limited ala carte menu everyday for both lunch and dinner. We really wanted to extend our stay, but the thought of another bad meal was really enough to make us leave for KL. Pool is also nothing much to shout about and some good soft music would've really been better than the live band they hired.

All in all. If they can improve the food ( by a great measure), and make the pool area more inviting, Taaras offers a great getaway to sun & sea lovers ;)

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view and more privacy, the cliff/ocean suites are really lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kakipanjang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday with The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your short break with us.

The best part of our resort is our location, tucked away and hidden from the outside world on the small Island of Redang, found just off the unspoilt East Coast of tropical Malaysia surrounded by azure waters and sugary sand beaches. We are glad that the weather was just perfect during your stay here offering you a calm and serene environment. We are also delighted to know that your free upgrade added value to your experience and you enjoyed the beautiful vistas of the ocean and the area around. Our suites offer patrons an added privacy due to the availability of a private verandah which is so close to the ocean, you can almost hear the sweet sound of waves breaking in and out.

Our private luxury resort in Malaysia is a ‘home away from home’, where a full team of dedicated and interesting staff does their best to assist you in a ‘personally professional’ way. It’s nice to know that you found them friendly and efficient.

However, we regret that the dining amenities and the pool area at our private bespoke resort didn’t fall at par with your expectations. We have noted your concerns and assure you that corrective measures will be taken on both.

Thank you once again for sharing your constructive feedback with us and look forward to hosting you again at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort with a perfect stay.


Thanks and Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed for four nights in June. Our stay was wonderful in every way. The food was fantastic, the beach was great, the lodging was great, and the staff very friendly and helpful. Be prepared for sticker shock as all the wonderful things carry a cost. We booked the lodging that included breakfast. We usually ate breakfast late, skipped lunch, and then ate dinner. There are not really any other places to eat that are convenient. While the food is pricey, it represents a good value because of the quality. The meats were flown in from New Zealand and Australia with local seafood. The beachfront BBQ is not to be missed, very romantic, and excellent food.

The room was standard but very nice. We had a King size bed that was comfortable, a couch, dresser, and a TV. We had a lanai but did not use it as it was simply too hot. The bathroom was very spacious. The shower door leaked but we had plenty of towels so not a big deal. The air conditioner worked great at keeping us cool. The wi-fi was very spotty and not always working. We had a hillside room which gave us a view of the water. We either walked the five minute path and stairs between our room and the beach or called for a golf cart.

The staff were very friendly. The chef from the kitchen stopped by our table to chat with us. He has a great sense of humor and had us in stitches several times from the stories he told. Most of the staff have limited English skills but enough skill to handle basic communication. He even hand wrote the recipe to the Satay Peanut Sauce for us.

The beach was gorgeous. The sand white and powdery. There were plenty of beach shade structures and the lounge chairs had 4 inch foam pads so they were nice and comfy. The resort provides big fluffy beach towels to use at the beach. We would lay the towel over the foam pad in the shade and read one of the books we brought. When we got hot we would go for a dip in the water. If you have kids this would be a great place because the beach is in a cove and there is no surf. The water is very shallow for a long ways and crystal clear.

We didn't experience any issues with mosquitoes or ants. We did not use the spa services. We also did not book any activities except for the jungle hike. The hike was hot and humid but it was interesting and I am glad I did it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timgindav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and writing about your experience at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort. We are delighted to learn that you made the most of our unique location and that your overall experience was up to your expectations.

The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort is a stylish property on a small Island just off the East Coast of tropical Malaysia. We feature a spa that offers ultimate relaxation through various treatments. We recommend you to try our Taaras Signature Massage on your next visit. The approach of the treatment is suited differently and we are sure you’ll appreciate the Organic Lifting Facial as well.

Once again, we would like to thank you for the acknowledgement of our staff and resort. You will find us consistent with our standards every time you visit The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort. We look forward to hosting you again with a perfect stay.

Thanks and Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

i've been at The Taaras in may 2012 for my honey moon - my wife and I only have one word to say : Wonderful (expect the price !!) - when we arrived at the jetty a men took our lugguage - we have recovered them in our bedroom. at the reception we had a buggy to go to our room and everytime when we would like to go to the beach or restaurant just a quick call and the buggy come to take wherever you want.
The room was beautiful and clean , we just had a problem with the air conditioning which was too strong - but at everytime our bed was clean ( big up to the cleaning ladies ).
for the restaurant we had lor of choice : Italian, Asian or Barbecue
the food is exceptionnal for a little island ( better than most of the country where i've been)
the beach is one of the most beautiful in the world - it's the place to be if you are fed up with Thailande, Mauritius and other classical.
the hotel is very quiet - no child, no club nothing expect the sound of the birds and the sea.
the workers are so helpful ( even those who wear the headscarf i don't undersand why you mention it - i assume that nobody told why you were wearing a bikini there )
a big thanks to all the staff - my honey moon was like a dream and i'm planning to come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Salem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Salem,

Thank you for providing us with a review following you honey moon in 2012. We really appreciate your great comments and are happy to know that the special arrangements at our property met all of your honey moon needs. Your idea of visiting our property once again has brought a sense of satiation and great pleasure to us.
For your information, we have one hundred and ninety one stylish suites and rooms, as well as stunning 5 bedrooms Private Villa supported by serenity and soothing silence of the sea. With highly dedicated and well trained staff there is no end of fun at The Taaras, be it a honeymoon or a casual tour.
We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and your opinion of the property is testimony to us being on the right track.
Thank you once again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one!

Thanks and Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Taraas.
My partner and I decided on going to Peninsular Malaysia, as we read everywhere that this is where all the beautiful islands and beaches were. After much research we decided on The Taraas Resort & Spa on Redang Island. The rate we paid per night for a standard garden view room was EUR 220+ per night incl breafast and dinner for 2 of the 5 nights. We had high expectations, especially as I work in the hospitality industry myself.
Getting there was quite difficult, as there are only very few flights that go to Redang Island. We flew to Terengganu.. and luckily found a Chinese tour group and guide and asked if we could get a lift . We worked out a deal and off we went to a small marina at Marang where by speedboat we went to Redang. We informed the hotel of the time we would arrive so they could pick us up at the Marina. This was a very exciting and fun way to arrive at the Island. But The Taraas’ option was way too expensive; EUR 350 pfor a private boat. Once we arrived, we had to wait another 10 minutes for them to arrive. A mini bus picked us up and a very nice young man helped us with the luggage and explained a little bit about the Island. The Island has a hilly, lush, green look about it with a local (fishing village) village. Once we arrived at the Teraas (after 5 min drive) we were escorted to the reception. Our check in went smoothly, we received a welcome drink. It would have looked more professional and would have been nicer if the drinks were a fresh juice instead of a sweet juice from a packet and served with a tray instead of handed to us. The ladies at the reception were very welcoming and seemed very kind and professional. We noticed that all the women at the resort were wearing head scarves; either this was part of the uniform or it was due to the fact that this part of Malaysia is very Muslim.
We are very open people and do not mind conservative societies, but we did notice that the mentality was more warm and open in Bornean Malaysia. Since we only spent most of our time there, and only went to Redang for the beautiful Island, it was quite a contrast for us.
We had to walk to the room ourselves. The room was beautifully set-up, a bit small but it looked nice. A few things that did annoy us, firstly was the smell. It smelt of mould (perhaps coming from the AC unit). We did mention this to the reception, but no one ever did anything about it. Another thing we did not like were the squashed bugs on the walls everywhere. If housekeeping did not clean this, we were wondering how clean the rest of the room was. One more thing we had expected in the resort was a bathtub. We had a small bathroom with a shower. Perhaps we should have requested this separately, but for us a bath is one of the necessities for the romantic resort feel. For the rest the room was comfortable.
The resort has two restaurants and one beach bar. The restaurants have good food, but a bit expensive. The quality of the food was good; a mix of western and Malaysian. Also the presentation of the food was nice. Here is what we did not like: We did not like that when we decided to have dinner at the buffet restaurant one night, there was a function going on that we did not know about. We were shooed away in a distasteful manner. They should have rather informed us about it beforehand. What we also did not like is when we ordered a bottle of wine for around EUR 40 as we did not want the Chardonnay house wine; they did not have our choice in stock. Then we chose another one, which was around EUR 65, only to find out that they did not have this wine either. The only wines left were much more expensive (the gap between the prices of the wines were huge). We did not want to spend this much on a bottle of wine. Finally we made a compromise with the waiter (it felt like haggling which made us a bit uncomfortable) and he allowed us to choose a wine for the rate of EUR 65 (we believe it must have been a more expensive one). If you do not have the products mentioned on your menu you should replace it with something of equal price. I also felt that it was so busy at the restaurant. Something that could really be noticed in and around the buffet. people waiting in line at the live cooking stations. Honestly this is not what I expected of this resort. And around the buffet the waiters seemed so stressed and annoyed by the fact that it was hectic at the restaurant. You ever saw a smile, only attitude.
The beach was a nice stretch of white sand, which was kept clean and tidy by one of the gardeners once a day. The sea was turquoise green. We were lucky to have nice weather, though some days it was a bit cloudy. The surroundings are so beautiful, that I was saddened by the fact that a lot of boats were anchored on the bay distorting the beautiful view of the sea in my opinion (I did not understand the reason for this as there is a Marina at a less than 5 minute drive from the resort).
As an excursion we went to a bay next to ours for a few hours for snorkelling. This was quite nice, but not fantastic. I suppose the water was not as clear. There was a lot of evidence of coral bleaching. It was also quite choppy making us feel seasick quickly. It was not worth going, as we saw plenty of people snorkelling in the bay of the hotel where the water was more calm.
On one of the cloudy / rainy days I decided on a massage. It was very enjoyable. Unfortunately the steam room was out of order (I did request to use it before my massage). My therapist was not aware of this and she left me there, me having to figure it out myself, until realising much later it just did not work.
Overall, I feel I enjoyed myself, as I tried as much as possible to focus on our romantic holiday and not the small mishaps. If you worry too much about these things you’ll ruin your holiday. But I would not go here again. I would look for more value for money, and something smaller and more intimate. Next time. I advise people that were travelling in Borneo, like we were, to rather stay there as the beaches (which are less talked about) are just as beautiful and the people more friendly.

Room Tip: If you want a bathtub, make sure to ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LinLin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us.
We, at Taaras Beach Resort & Spa take pride in our location, luxurious accommodation and superb services. We regret the inconvenience caused to you, and would launch a proper investigation to determine the root cause of the problem. Our resort has been widely awarded and appreciated for its service quality, and we leave no stone unturned in achieving high guest satisfaction. We thank you sharing your candid feedback as guest reviews go a long way in raising the bar of our service.
Once again, thank you for the feedback. We hope to welcome you again.

Thanks and Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Redang
1.6 mi away
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Laguna Redang Island Resort
#2 of 13 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 stars 909 reviews
2.1 mi away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#10 of 13 in Pulau Redang
3.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Redang Derimba
Redang Derimba
#3 of 15 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
20.4 mi away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
4.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
20.3 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#3 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.0 of 5 stars 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort

Property: The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Address: | PO Box 126, Main Post Office, Pulau Redang 20928, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Redang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘The Taaras’ is a bespoke Private Beach Residence, tucked away and hidden from the outside world on a small Island found just off the unspoilt East Coast of tropical Malaysia. Considered to be one of the most beautiful Island locations in the South China Sea, the Isle of Redang is home to our natural, yet stylish resort found on one of the most spectacular bays surrounded by one of the bluest oceans on earth. The resorts ethos is to provide a contemporary, barefoot luxury experience with warm Asian hospitality, remembered with a smile long into the future. The name of the property is derived from the Sanskrit word ‘TAARA’, meaning ‘Star or Apple of my eye’ as well as ‘Goddess of the Sea’ which are all represented and epitomised by our mermaid figurehead. The resort is managed by The Taaras Luxury Group, and was formerly known as Berjaya Redang Resort managed by Berjaya Hotels and Resorts. With the stylish suites and rooms, as well as a stunning five bedroom Private Villa perched high up on the cliff overlooking the ocean and resort below. The resort boasts commissioned furniture and bespoke photography of Redang Island and the landscapes of Malaysia. Each suite or room contains oversized beds and hand-picked linens and fabrics for your comfort. Most rooms and all suites have larger washrooms containing both bath tub and separate rain or monsoon shower (some with spa bathtubs looking out over the rainforest or the bay). Most residences have an outdoor balcony or verandah and our suites at the top of the cliff summit have spectacular views over the beach and ocean below. For clients who prefer or require further privacy ‘The Cliff Private Villa Bay & Sea View’, our private five bedroom residence perched high up on the cliff more than meets the requirements; private access, a Villa Host at your ‘beck and call’ as well as twenty four hour security; should it be a necessary requirement. The residence also enjoys a sixteen meter Infinity swimming pool, personal fitness room and both interior and exterior lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Redang Resort - Malaysia Hotel Pulau Redang
Berjaya Redang Beach Hotel
Berjaya Redang Beach Resort
Hotel Berjaya Redang Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing