We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sea but dirty beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful sea but dirty beach!”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

DO:This resort in Redang Island is located on Pasir Panjang (Long Beach), offering you white sandy beaches, turquoise waters, colourful marine life and a spectacular view of the South China Sea.Yes,its from hotels website and its true.....DONT: but nobody cares to keep the beach clean!every morning i found empty plastic bottles, cans and pices of glass on the white sand,Hotel staff doesnt pay much attention about it!

DO: For your luxurious accommodation in Redang Island, Sari Pacifica Redang has 70 elegant and well-equipped villas are available to make your stay memorable.DONT: there are 12 umbrellas on the beach only and you have to wake up early(6.30) and go to the beach to get the sits and umbrella.and then you can enjoy the hit and sun!
DONT : expensive food in the restaurant and they have no idea how to serve people! .no shops in hotel! so we found nice cafe and small shop next door where we bought juice,water ,beer and crisps. Lack of servise!sometimes you could not get beach towels and they didnt clean up our room even i called to reception and ask 3 times!
DO: But at the same time we enjoyed quiet life in our hotel because of the poor servise and non operating pool bar:))

Room Tip: rooms are ok,we stay in Lily Pond.quiet beautiful spot! but villas with sea view r preferable as u c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    69
    57
    38
    38
See reviews for
62
110
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Bloody expensive and absolutely terrible! The rooms are old, the staff live their own life. If you ask for smth their faces look so [--] tired and bored. The beach could be perfect if the staff take care of it. But as I said they really don't care! The pool is dirty, yellow water. The sea is perfect but sometimes water there is also dirty and oily (from boats parking there). In the pond we saw not only fish but also huge Komodo dragon that is really dangerous for people! Also you can meet red cockroaches in the room. So, wellcome to hell.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank KatrinNakhodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Me and my husband recently stayed at Sari Pacifica Resort, Redang. We booked this trip for diving and relaxing. When we arrived at the resort at 10.30 we could not get anything to eat because breakfast was over. We went to the dive center where the staff were asleep in the office and after waking them up they still could not help us to book our diving trips because they did not speak English. We then walked over to another dive center to book our diving trips and try to get something to eat. The island does not really have any restaurants. You are supposed to eat the buffe at your resort which is more like a canteen.

When we checked out the reception staff took our luggage for delivery to the ferry when it was time for departure. That did not happen, we missed the last ferry and no one at the resort was willing to help us solve the problem. Instead we had to pay 500 Ringgit to get a private taxi boat to the jetty. The last ferry of the day leaves the island at 1PM, so it is not recommended for weekend trips!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Challan41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Villa costs about 1000myr per night, and its is basically a badly decorated hut facing some horrible looking trees which blocked our view of the ocean. The room is gritty, decor is out-dated and horrible, the bathroom and toilet are both dirty and unkempt. Housekeeping did not change our sheets, nor replace the robes or towels. Took them 2 days to replace them. They keep a pot of murky water out the front of the beach-front 'villa', so whether you stay in the beachfront "villas" or the "villa" facing the pond that is actually a swamp, you still get eaten alive by the mosquitoes. The windows and doors do not shut well, and blinds are broken, so insects get into our "villa". Our 'villa' is next to the pool, and some local kids came daily (they do not stay in the hotel) and were using the pool and facilities daily, screaming at the top of their lungs at as early as 7.30am. First day here, we asked for beef burger. Out of stock. Asked for vodka/jim beam/scotch, out of stock.

The male staff here are perverts, and stare at all the female guests, so that we feel extremely uncomfortable even sitting out the front of our "villa". On a rainy day, there is absolutely nothing to do on this island. They have a dvd player, but they do not have a dvd library that we could peruse. No board games. We asked the staff what we could do here, she stared blankly and said "nothing". Cable tv has 5 english channels, and when it rains, we don't even get cable.

Oh, btw, blackout last night. Yes, we are writing this review, whilst still trapped in this terrible hole that dare lists itself as 'five stars'.

Oh, did we mention the loud music blaring from adjacent hotels till late at night? Please AVOID this hotel at all costs!! If we could rate it ZERO, we would!!

P.S. We walked over to the other side of the island to Laguna Island Resort daily to have our meals, now THAT is a MUCH better and cheaper hotel.

Room Tip: Laguna Island Resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Dudsy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Horrible experience with Sari Pacifica boat from Merang Jetty. Boat left over 1.5 hours late, while crew struggled to get one of the two engines running. Boat was enclosed, no outdoor area, no possibility to open windows or doors, with no Air Con for the entire trip. The trip took longer than necessary due to the fact that the ONE working engine stopped working in the middle of the sea. No life jackets, no safety equipment, no engines. They managed to hold one engine on the boat while we sweated and smelled petrol fumes inside. The boat captain was in contact with hotel management during the trip, telling them the boat can not be used for passengers. When we finally arrived at the hotel, the staff claimed they had no idea what happened, that it wasn't even their boat (even though the boat had "Sari Pacifica Redang" painted on the side of it). When we asked to speak with the manager, they told us he was on leave for the entire duration of our stay. This hotel is overpriced and the staff put people's safety at risk, and don't even think twice. Avoid this hotel at all cost.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank JAHKl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

It was our 11th anniversary but hubby couldn't take time off from work so we decided to go for a weekend getaway. It should've tipped me off when nobody answered the phone when I tried to call to arrange for airport pickup when my emails went unanswered, but since it was a last minute decision to go I kept the reservation. So it was no surprise that when we arrived at the airport, there was no pick-up. As dumb luck would have it though, there was a driver from Sari Pacifica hanging around the airport so he drove us to the dock,but we had to wait for more than half an hour for a boat because the hotel didn't know we were coming, even thought they had our reservation.

Long story short: the "villa" on the beach was a hut; the decor was so dated and gawdy they'd be better off stripping it all off; service was non-existent; food was bad and expensive; and the gift shop didn't even have sun block.

I should've booked Berjaya hotel instead (it was cheaper too) but I was worried that since that's the only hotel on that beach food choices would be limited. Well, there are many hotels, dive shacks along the beach where Sari is, but the food is all the same, the only difference was the price.

Definitely the worst anniversary ever

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LynnInSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We had a long weekend at the Sari Pacifica Hotel, Redang. The tone was set when we were collected at the airport by a surly driver with an unroadworthy car that had clearly been in a car crash very recently . There were not enough seats for everybody, no seatbelts and shattered glass all over the floor from one of the rear passenger windows. The boat that transferred us to the jetty near the resort was in better condition and when we were met by the very pleasant General Manager at the jetty for the final leg of our transfer (5 minutes along the beach pulled by tractor), we hoped that the road transfer had just been a stroke of bad luck. We checked in at the lobby with a very charming receptionist. However, we could not help noticing the very cloudy swimming pool (with tiles falling off) and the rather questionable decor that was cleverly avoided by the photographer used for the hotels website photos (gold leaf paint, mould and flaking paint on the parts that were more difficult to access, multicoloured faux 'crystal' light shades etc).

Rooms
Whilst acceptable for a budget hotel, the room decor is old fashioned and certainly not in keeping with the room rates. They are reasonably well equipped with TV, DVD players, air conditioning, safe etc, and bottled water is provided every day. However some of the other facilities you would expect, e.g. coat hangers, were missing. Once we opened the doors of our rooms, we realised that the hotel must have paid a lot more money for the photographer than they spent on the refurbishment of the property. The assault on our senses continued. Apart from the occasional whiff of sewage from outside our room, we were greeted by what could well have been your great grandmother's living room; clashing patterns, furniture lined up against walls like in a student dormitory, the same faux crystal light shades. The hotel put its logo on the TV and air conditioner, as if it would otherwise expect guests to try to steal them. There were no hangers in the wardrobe; perhaps they thought that they would be taken as 'souvenirs' too? The bathroom had ample toiletries and a decent shower but hooks had fallen off the walls, bits of plastic broken off shower trays etc. The bath looks nothing like the one on the website; it is tiny and the grouting around it is filthy. I cannot imagine that an interior designer has ever been employed by the hotel company. I'm guessing that when the property opened earlier this year they decided to use as many of the existing furnishings as possible, regardless of how cluttered and shabby the effect would be. Finally, the free in room wifi, as promised by the hotel's website does not exist unless you happen to be in a room next door to the reception area. The staff at the reception just laughed when I brought this to their attention.

Restaurant
The 'Fawlty Towers' theme comes into its own in the restaurant, however. The decor is truly shocking. As with other parts of the hotel, they start to get it right with simple cushions, mostly in bright primary colours. The effect is lost though with the clash with the dark carved furniture, gold leaf paint, plastic chandeliers and hideous table linen. The service is almost comic. We started to play a game, to see who could order food that was on the menu AND in stock. Usually we would order about half an hour after sitting down and about 20 minutes after that, the waiter would return to tell us that a certain item was not available, 5 minutes later we would learn that something else was out of stock etc. etc. The quality of the food, with the exception of a couple of noodle dishes was truly awful . Our children resorted to eating cereal for dinner on the final evening to avoid deep fried food. In fact our last evening capped it off for us, the noodle dish we had ordered never arrived, because the waiter had forgotten, we left before it came when the chefs sat down at the table next to us and started smoking.

Fortunately, the Laguna Redang Resort is only a few minutes away and serves some delicious local and western food. The major mistake made by the Sari Pacifica is its over ambitious menu. If they had a few fresh specials, that the chef knew how to cook and had ingredients in stock, the effect would be much better. I can never understand why some hotels choose to cook Western dishes badly rather than cooking local dishes well. The neighbouring hotel's Beef Rendang was truly superb, while the Sari Pacifica's pasta dishes tasted like cardboard.

Management and staff
Since the hotel that markets itself as 'luxurious', it is doomed to fail. It seems to have adopted a very myopic marketing strategy of over promising and under delivering. The only thing luxurious about this property is its pricing. All that happens is that guests get lured by the website photos and the fantastic location and never return. They would have some hope of survival if they (i) aimed at the low to mid range market, (ii) trained their staff, (iii) improved their restaurant and (iv) invested in the property. It was no surprise that only 6 rooms were occupied.

Even the reservations staff failed to do their job properly. As we were traveling with very young children, I asked if the hotel had any 2 bedroom villas that I could book. I was told that there was no such thing but that they would endeavour to find us 2 adjacent rooms, which they did. It turned out that they do indeed have a 2 bedroom 'Royal Villa' which was vacant during our stay.

The management was virtually invisible. One of the managers did ask us on the first evening how our meal had been, and when we started to give a fairly honest report, he swiftly made excuses about just covering for the F&B manager who was away until Saturday and disappeared for the rest of our stay. When she returned, she saw me checking out and never even took the time to ask how our visit had been. The charming GM, who met us on arrival, was never seen again.

By contrast, the main receptionist was delightful, the lady who cleaned the rooms was charming and very thorough, the independently run dive centre was extremely professional. There was one waiter (very short hair) who was extremely accommodating and helpful. Unfortunately. nobody wears name badges so it is difficult to compliment the few excellent members of staff.

Location
The location of the Sari Pacifica in Redang is truly superb. The beachfront villas open onto a stunning beach with white sand and turquoise waters filled with fish. Fellow guests saw sharks and turtles when snorkeling just off the beach. This make it all the more shameful that the hotel is so badly run. A Banyan Tree, YTL or Four Seasons property on this site could be unbeatable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Trunkix4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Redang
1.4 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Laguna Redang Island Resort
#1 of 12 in Pulau Redang
981 reviews
2.6 mi away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Pulau Redang
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Lang Tengah
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Sp...
#2 of 3 in Pulau Lang Tengah
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redang Pelangi Resort
Redang Pelangi Resort
#5 of 12 in Pulau Redang
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Redang Beach Resort
Redang Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Pulau Redang
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island

Property: Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
Address: Lot 87 & 88, | Pantai Pasir Panjang, Pulau Redang 21090, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Redang
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Redang Island gives you access to some of the best diving and snorkeling sites in this part of the world.This boutique resort with zero start itself is located on Pasir Panjang (Long Beach), offering you white sandy beaches, turquoise waters, colourful marine life and spectacular view of the South China Sea.Our resort is just re-opened it's business from End of April 2013 onwards. Highly appreciated not to focus us as a 4-5 star resort. Everyday we are improvise towards the services to satisfy our guest. We strongly believe & inform our guest not to have a high expectation on us. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenient cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort And Spa - Redang Island
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island Hotel Pulau Redang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing