We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Lodging”
Review of Senja Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Senja Bay Resort
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Senja Bay is definitely on the nicer side of the accommodations on Coral Bay. However, for a higher end rate you would expect top end amenities. I can only speak from my experiences in the 3rd level rooms at the very top of the resort with fans. The first room we went into was beautiful until you went into the bathroom. It was disgusting! We asked to move and were instructed over to the other side. This room was better but our fan wasn't working and took about 3 hours for maintenance to come fix it. Another downer was the wifi barely if ever worked. At all other restaurants though it worked. Lastly, there isn't much of an atmosphere there. In the evenings the other restaurants and barbecues are packed and Senja had about 1 or 2 tables. This all being said, the staff were incredibly kind and generous and the view from our room was great. The food we had there was also quite tasty. Hopefully during high season the atmosphere picks up at bit though or else it's lacking the charm of other accommodations on the beach.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Alexis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Senja Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 374 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Resort rooms are very basic/ not very clean and some bathroom issues/ very good strong AC and location is great / they also take care of the beach in front of the resort, sweeping and cleaning in the early hours/ food basic but ok/ dinner i only went to beach BBQs for the fresh fish, but u need to be careful as some operators are pushing fish that are days old!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Theexecchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

A fantastic wiev awaits youwhen you open your door fronting the sea. And in the evening it becomes even more beautiful as the sun sets in the sea.

Prices are very fair, and the crew tries really hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

On the downside it must be mentioned that the cabins must be made of the thinest plates ever used in construction. Nothing happening next door will pass unheard. The wifi apparently currently only works at all other restaurants and the breakfast is not really worth the money. The water heater for a shower too lets something to want for, but who really needs a hot shower at these temperatures. The aircon too lets a little to want for as it drips when running.

All in all though a clear thumbs up for this place in the malaysian paradise

Room Tip: If you prefer a little quitness / privacy then drop first row cabinns
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLoegager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here after leaving Tropicana Inn in favor of anything better. We booked a cabin at the shore, adjacent to the reception. The location is excellent! Housing is pretty basic, what you would expect from a beach-shack. The walls are a bit thin, so you'd hope for quiet neighbours...

The service at the restaurant was a bit slow, but ok. There are plenty of facilities on the island to eat, swim and relax.

Not very suitable for our honeymoon, but for a few days of relaxing, the island itself is ok.

Room Tip: The cabin we booked was located beside the reception. Prepare to get woken up at around 7:00am...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoranQuinten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

After some serious backpacking in Malaysia during two weeks, we wanted to end our trip in a good resort that would give us some comfort and where we could chill out and relax. Everything about Senya Bay was a disappointment. We have been in quite some places and this was definetely the worst of all. Rooms are extremely dirty, no cleaning was done before, it smelled like piss in the bed and on the floor. We had to change room twice before we received somthing decent. Next to that, the service and the people of the resort are nonchalant and not friendly at all. On top, the food is really horrible: food is cold, bread is expired (you can see the mold on it), and the kitchen is discusting.

Room Tip: If you want to stay there, choose a room on the beach, it is more expensive but there is a good diff...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobbyG2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Ants in the water.
Frogs in the rooms
Lizards everywhere
Geckos everywhere
Good food
Very cheap
Right next to beach
Paid 130 ringit per night so was ok. Can't expect more from a place that is so cheap.
Did never clean our room in our 9 nights.
Our bed sheets were infested with something which started to itch so we think bed bugs. But good beach and everything - that's why we stayed.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Emil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed in one of the gorgeous little A-frame huts situated right on the beach. Very basic, but had private bathroom and a fan. Only have electricity from 7pm until early morning, and there is no window in the bathroom so you have to keep the door open during the day to be able to see. Lovely clean bed, sheets and towels provided but no mosquito net - you will have to burn a coil from around 4pm as there are several gaps in the wood frame. I didn't get bitten doing this, and I'm normally a beacon for the darn things.
The owner is lovely and generally around to help if you need anything. I paid RM50 a night as I was by myself and it was right at the end of the season (although they stay open all year round). As it was at the end of the season, the restaurant was closed so I can't comment on the food, service or wifi.
Perhentian Kecil itself is fantastic. They seem to have tackled the litter problem very well and I only found a small pile of it as you come off the path onto Long Beach. Long Beach had lots going on and a "thump thump thump" of music from the resorts all day long. We were glad that we stayed on Coral Bay where it was perfectly quiet at night, falling asleep to the sound of crashing waves, and only a 10 minute walk over to the livelier Long Beach. There are a couple of shops and the most AWESOME bbq restaurant on the Coral Bay side, as well as the main jetty where the ferry for the main land drops off. Ombak (near the jetty) show movies every evening in the most idyllic setting imaginable. The water is crystal clear and you can snorkle / see fish when you are only up to your ankles in the sea. I will be back!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the A-frames right on the beach if you can. Blissful.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treatgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Kecil
0.2 mi away
Shari-La Island Resort
Shari-La Island Resort
#5 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
482 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Perhentian Tropicana Inn
Perhentian Tropicana Inn
#8 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#8 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ombak Resort Perhentian Island
Ombak Resort Perhentian Island
#4 of 14 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senja Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senja Bay Resort

Address: Lot 55/56, Coral Bay, Pulau Perhentian Kecil 22300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Price Range: $38 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Senja Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 51-room beach resort consisting of 15 fan rooms on 3rd level, 26 air-conditioned rooms on the 2nd level and 10 air-conditioned rooms at beach level. All rooms are 400 sq ft, have sea view and verandah, with ensuite bathroom with hot water shower. 3 Fan A Huts on the beach. Dormitory accommodation for 24 persons. Reception, restaurant and internet cafe from 7am to 11pm. Wireless available 24/7. Free big screen movies every night at 8.30pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Senja Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senja Bay Hotel Pulau Perhentian Kecil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing