We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amore a prima vista”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BuBu Long Beach Resort
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amore a prima vista”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just giving some feedback about this beautiful resort, where I was in summer 2010 and still I remember every detail. The place is simply amazing. The first day you arrive on the beach u might see a dark sky and sea if it is really hot in summer - august, but no worries the sun will come out and with the sun amazing sea.
Aperitivo at the sunset and romantic dinner on the beach. Great fish and great cocktails.
A place to be with chill out music and relaxed smiling people.
Love it.
Maddalena

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddalena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    275
    118
    35
    31
See reviews for
116
311
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Bubu is probably the only resort on Perhentian Kecil that offers the full package; great accommodation, spa facilities, great food, and tour packages. Upon arrival we received a nice mocktail and every evening between 5-6pm we got 2 free cocktails each which was a lovely touch. Our room was on the ground floor, just a hop skip and a jump from the beach front. The room had 2 double beds, an en suite and both were nice and clean. However there was a window in the bathroom that didn't close properly and let quite a lot of mosquito's in, so be sure to take an anti-mosquito plug in just in case.

All of the staff were so friendly and helpful. We went on a snorkeling trip which was great. I also used the spa facilities and got the "after sun burn massage" - wow, it definitely helped the situation but wasn't the most relaxing of massages!

Also the location of Bubu is great as slightly further up the beach it gets quite busy in the evening with pop up bars and music ( great fun), but as Bubu is further down the beach once you get back to your room you don't hear any of the noise and get a good nights sleep.

All in all a great stay, great food, great people, great beach, great drinks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

That's truly a little piece of heaven on earth!
Very efficient shuttle & speedy boat service and wonderful welcome cocktail on arrival :)
The resort is located on the smaller island, on a long white sandy beach, very quiet.
Nice and clean room with sea view and bottles of cool water for us.
The staff is very helpful and the resort offers many activities (trekking in the jungle, boat trips, snorkeling...) and has a nice canopy on the beach for massage service.
Great food service, rich breakfast, fresh and fruity cocktails both for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zingy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights, deluxe garden room, 2nd floor.

Pros:

- Best location on Pulau Kecil, beach-wise, position-wise
- Friendly and genuinely nice staff
- Decent breakfast buffet spread
- Good cocktails, 2 free ones between 5pm and 6pm every day.

Contras:

- Expensive accomodation given the mediocre rooms, yet it's still the best lodging option on the island
- Food is really expensive: 15-20 EUR for a main dish
- Power generator noise at night

Overall If I had to return to Pulau Kecil, I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psychoactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Let me preface this review by saying that I would definitely stay here again. The staff are friendly and very helpful and the food in the restaurant is great. If you go here, nothing that I mention will stop you from having a good time; the location is great and the sea views from most of the rooms are lovely. The Perhentian Islands are definitely one of the best places to go for a relaxing holiday and a beautiful location.

However although the hotel looks nice on the surface, if you look closely there are some things that could definitely be improved. For example the double rooms are quite small for two people, they could also do with an refresh. The bathrooms look modern, but I don't think I had a real hot shower in the entire time I was there. Also the daily towel replacements that we got never seemed to be really clean, we used them, but compared to other hotels in the Perhentian's they weren't as white as you would expect.

When we were there, there was quite a big storm which lasted for a few days, this made the water in the toilet and that coming from the taps brown. Although I'm sure there isn't much that could be done about this, I would have hoped for a better response once we had reported it.
Ok so final negative thing; behind the hotel they keep all the rubbish, which if you are in certain rooms, you see each time you come in and out of your main room door. Although you can't see this once inside your rooms, it's still an eyesore and attracts local monitor lizards.

However, lets finish on a positive note; one of the best things about Bubu was the fact that during cocktail hour 5-6pm, every guest receives up to two free cocktails. They take your order and bring them out to you on your sun loungers or in the restaurant, and during the storm they even brought ours up our room - as I said, great staff. Oh and the sun loungers are very nice, wide and comfy. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllAboutTheHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Came here in a group of 7. The hotel was near the jetty which was good so that we wont have to walk too far to get on the boat. The room was basic. The breakfast spread was average. The room had a small balcony facing the sea which was great. However, they messed up our boat trip back to the mainland which forced us to only partially finish our breakfast as we had to board the 1st boad out when we had informed that that we were to board the 2nd boat out. Would definitely return to the Island but may try another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloryredstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Excellent place to stay on long beach. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms a good size with balconies and sea views. Very good restaurant with a varied menu, not cheap but good value.

Complimentary trek is a pleasant stroll along an easy path up to the centre of the island giving good views in all directions.

Easy stroll down the beach for restaurants and a couple of small shops with basic supplies. A 10 min walk takes you across the island to Coral bay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom_cross_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Kecil
0.6 mi away
Shari-La Island Resort
Shari-La Island Resort
#5 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
476 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
636 reviews
2.7 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Resort
Arwana Perhentian Resort
#8 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,232 reviews
1.9 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
852 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alunan Resort
Alunan Resort
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BuBu Long Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BuBu Long Beach Resort

Property: BuBu Long Beach Resort
Address: Pasir Panjang (Long Beach), Pulau Perhentian Kecil, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BuBu Long Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BUBU LONG BEACH RESORT, Perhentian Island Malaysia, is indeed a “trap” for the visitors who need to get away from it all. There is no escape… the blissful enjoyment and complete freedom of relaxation makes one feel entrapped… in Paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BuBu Long Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bubu Long Beach Hotel Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Hotel Bubu Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing