We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the complimentary cocktails”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BuBu Long Beach Resort
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“loved the complimentary cocktails”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

most expensive on the island, but worth every ringgit. The best are complimentary drinks from 5-6pm. Each guest has 2 free cocktails. Beware of the huge lizards just behind the resort. Clean rooms and professional stuff.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavlina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    275
    119
    35
    31
See reviews for
117
311
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Busan, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with my wife on a SCUBA certification package. Everything was completely satisfactory. We arrived at least an hour and a half before the arranged time and they checked us in early. The semi-attached SCUBA operation run by Quivers was great as well. It was more expensive both to sleep and eat here than many of the other places on the island, but the accommodations and food were far better than anything else we encountered. As for the food, the western options weren't anything to write home about, but the Asian selections were really good. We particularly like the location of Bubu in relation to the other places on the beach. It is at the northern end of long beach and thus doesn't have a lot of traffic. This means that the beach is cleaner, less crowded, there's more to look at if your snorkeling off the shore, and it's quieter. It had an international crowd that was a little older than the other places on long beach. I've read the big island is better for families but Bubu is kind of up the beach from all the guest houses so it would be a suitable options for families as well. That said, it's only a 5 minute walk from the more backpackery scene. The staff are great, not particularly quick or eager, but they're never rude. If you're thinking about doing a SCUBA package or just want to go on some dives, it's super convenient to Quivers Dive Shop and they were a pleasure to deal with. I'll end with this: don't expect a 5 star resort. Within the context of the island it is really nice, but it isn't the four seasons and makes no claim to be. The rooms are comfortable, hot showers, surprisingly nice beds, western toilets, a free in room safe, and A/C. I'd definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room and we were quite satisfied with it. I'm not sure it would be worth spring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyttelton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Position perfect - on the best part of long beach with good clean beach and perfect sea swimming just opposite the hotel. We found Bubu expensive compared to other Malaysian hotels of a better standard but soon realised this is the best accommodation available on long beach and in the best position. The room almost achieves a good standard - the bathroom (no hot water to the sink, lukewarm water to the shower, yellow water to the toilet, a faint smell of sewage) let it down, but comfortable beds, good bed linen and a good in room safe were positives. Wifi was free but poor connection. Good sunbeds on thd beach. The breakfast was good, staff efficient and friendly, restaurant menu good but not excellent. I came here thinking with first impressions that this was expensive and substandard, and in the end I was sad to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankiethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The 3d2n stay at BUBU Long Beach Resort was enjoyable.

Pros :
1) Clean and comfy room.
2) Air conditioning was working well for 3 days.
3) Buffet b'fast was decent.
4) The free cocktails from 5-6pm was totally awesome.
5) The clarity of the sea is totally brilliant!

Cons :
1) Despite that the room is clean & comfy, i couldn't help but noticed that the interior of the room was abit worn out, esp ceiling and water heater. In addition, the bed sheet was kinda sandy and my bf noticed that there were stains on towels.
2) Buffet b'fast ran out fast and didn't replenish fast enough.
3) Beach chairs were limited, couldnt get 2 chairs even at 915am.

All in all, it was still an enjoyable trip with the loved one. Wish the resort management is able to maintain the resort or refurbish so that it will look fresh.

Will definitely go back again. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a professionally-run resort with built-in efficient land and sea transfer (friendly too) to and fro from Kota Bharu Airport to Kuala Besut and onto Perhentian. It is the only decent lodging on Long Beach to be exact, the others being more sort of back-packer type of places catering largely to the diving community. Long Beach, though lovely with soft white sands and clear waters came across as a bit busy with a lot of water taxes coming and going from the bay. Food at this resort was pricey, but with reasonably good quality but there are other options on the beach.

You can snorkel right of the resort's pier, with so many types of fishes flitting about in the warm crystalline waters - even nemofish and baby swordfish. Do remember to purchase a disposable underwater camera on the island for your snorkeling trips. It is cheaper than buying it in KL RM50 vs RM60... The Perhentians are truly a marine adventure. Turtles, baby reef sharks and magnificent coral abound. Do please visit these amazing islands...

Room Tip: Go to the Panorama Padi Cafe for good Pizza Magherita
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rizby_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed booked a room in Mid-August during peak season. We booked the room for one night (wanted to stay longer but they were full). We also were able to pre-book transfers from the airport, and the jetti. The transfers went smoothly and it was nice to be able to pre-book.
The staff at the resort were unfirendly, and unhelpful the entire time we were there. Service in the restaurant and bar is extremely slow (which is not uncommon for Malaysia), however the food was pretty good.
The driver of the jet boat - both ways- seemed to be driving recklessly, and too fast, as the ocean was rough, and we were being tossed all over the place. My friend almost lost her bag off the back of the boat, where they stacked the luggage.
My friend also ended up with terrible bed bug bites from the room! She was in lots of pain, and it ruined the rest of her trip.
To top it off, it was the most expensive room on all of our trip, and it was far from the nicest. I will not stay there again.
Additionally, when we were there, all of the accomodations were full, and no staff at any of the other guesthouses were helpful at all in letting us know if people were checking out so we could grab a room. Meanwhile, boats were still brining people to the island, even though there were no accomodations left - people had to sleep on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Empidonax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiewBuBu, Manager at BuBu Long Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Greetings from BuBu Resort!

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for taking the time to write a comment of your experience with us on TripAdvisor.com.

Firstly, please accept my sincerest apology for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us.

I am deeply troubled to hear about your experience regards to bed bugs in BuBu Resort. We had inspected the room and no bed bug was found. We do not receive any further complaint on bed bug from our next guests who stay in the same room either. BuBu Resort are strictly adhere pest control exercises for all the rooms and public area to ensure all guests have a good experience with us. As highlighted also ‘unfriendly staff’ and ‘slow services’, it certainly did not represent our brand values as we at BuBu Resort understand the importance of fulfilling our guest’s expectations. Please be rest assured that I have personally followed this up with the department concerned immediate action has been taken to ensure this will not happen again in the future. However we wish to host you a complimentary night stay in BuBu Resort during next season if you wish to return as our guest.

Your constructive feedbacks are very much appreciated for our future improvement. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we looking forward to welcoming you again as our valued guest.


With best regards,
H W Siew
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Not only BUBU has the best beach on the island. Bubu is also near to the night activities but still away from the noise. Lovely place.

The food at the restaurant is fantastic, the catch of the day was fresh prawns...and the Thai Chef prepared for us the best delicacy .... Kung Cha Nam Pla... Raw Fresh Fish served with Chilly Soy Sauce with lemon, it was amazing!

Try the creme brullee... you will be amazed!...Try also the fresh Giant Clams! All the pasta dishes was fantastic. There were 7 of us ...we tried almost everything...and everything was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miharbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Kecil
0.6 mi away
Shari-La Island Resort
Shari-La Island Resort
#5 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
478 reviews
2.7 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Resort
Arwana Perhentian Resort
#8 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
234 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,239 reviews
1.9 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
860 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alunan Resort
Alunan Resort
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BuBu Long Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BuBu Long Beach Resort

Property: BuBu Long Beach Resort
Address: Pasir Panjang (Long Beach), Pulau Perhentian Kecil, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BuBu Long Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BUBU LONG BEACH RESORT, Perhentian Island Malaysia, is indeed a “trap” for the visitors who need to get away from it all. There is no escape… the blissful enjoyment and complete freedom of relaxation makes one feel entrapped… in Paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BuBu Long Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bubu Long Beach Hotel Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Hotel Bubu Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing