We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama's

Mama's
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Reading
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Little Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

All the food we tried here was really nice, it sometimes takes a long time to get what you order but when it comes it's good. Try the Snickers milk shake, a revelation!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank oulondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    51
    25
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Try their mango lassi!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had the BBQ on our last day and was well prepared for the wait. The BBQ was OK but we loved their milkshake and mango lassi! i had another mango lassi before i left the island just because it was really yummy and refreshing! mama's is crowded every night so service was a bit slow but during breakfast/lunch service was good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank keiliiliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome food but slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Dined here several times and still had to wait like forever to get food. Of course, the food are awesome - try their lassi (yummy!!!). Price wise - a bit high than the other restaurants on the village area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Makiko_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent tasting Malay meals and tasty fresh fruit juices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Mama's is located next to the Ombak Cafe and of course located in between these two restaurants is the path which runs from Coral Bay to Long Beach. Mama's is another restaurant where you will find your typical tourist fare including local Malay style food as well as Chinese options and Western food choices. They also have a nightly BBQ. Beer and rum can be purchased from the sellers set up between with their little orange eskies/cooler boxes and a can of Tiger is MYR8 which you can take back to your table. The meals are cheap and well priced.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food by the beach, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

The food and drinks here are awesome and dining with candle light right on the beach is just great. My wait for my BBQ food was barely half and hour and the friendly server by the name of Cola was really chatty and recommended this Coconut Lassi drink which was really good! Not too bad for food on the island and compared to what my resort was serving, this certainly gives more bang for my buck. Most of the time, its the taste of the food that matters more than the ambience but this place has both!

Look for Cola when you're there and say hi!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arai33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's also viewed

Pulau Perhentian Kecil, Terengganu
Pulau Perhentian Besar, Terengganu
 
Pulau Perhentian Kecil, Terengganu
Pulau Perhentian Kecil, Terengganu
 
Pulau Perhentian Besar, Terengganu
Pulau Perhentian Kecil, Terengganu
 

Been to Mama's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing