We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & laid back Island Villas”
Review of BuBu Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BuBu Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We visited Bubu Villa as a group of six (3 chalets) and had an amazing stay there. Absolute recommendation!

+ Stylish, clean chalets with outdoor showers, AC, comfy beds and daily servicing
+ Amazing restaurant on the beach with friendly staff and great food (especially for dinner, make sure you try the cashew nut curry)
+ Smooth transportation arrangement by the local management
+ Beautiful beach right in front of the villas, nice snorkeling and great diving around the island (check out turtle Bay divers!)
+ Free Sunbeds for hotel staff on the beach
+ Daily (!) two free cocktails and canapés during the happy hour, served on the beach
+ We got to see the new Chalets which are currently being finished, we might actually come back to stay there!

o The including breakfast buffet is a bit simple compared to the overall luxurious approach. There is a wonderful Italian espresso machine for great cappuccinos and you can order fresh omelets & eggs. Other than that it's toast and jam, some fruits and salad (?).
o There is a bunch of backpackers and budget restaurants and shops on the beach. A lunch alternative at best, but not comparable to the food at bubu...
o Several tour operators in the beach offer snorkeling trips or other beach activities, we went scuba diving daily and didn't try those out.
o One of the beach bars around has daily fire shows and a little party vibe going on, now for one night or two.

- The music of the mentioned beach bar is quote loud and might be disturbing for noise sensitive folks. It was no problem for anyone in our group though...

We loved bubu, for us it was worth the money and we would be happy to come again!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank KCoookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BubuResortAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at BuBu Villa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at BuBu Villa. We are constantly listening to our guests and their valuable feedbacks. We will look into the breakfast buffet and try to improve the spread. Thank you for your recommendations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 196 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

We've been at bubu Villa (former worldcafe) already twice. On our Honeymoon (we did a round trip) we only stayed a few days. We loved it-so we came back this year for ten full days enjoying perhantians. Great an spacious rooms. Very clean and comfortable especially compared to all the other accomomodations at perhantians. Increadably kind service and awesome Food. The best restaurant on both islands. We sit at the beach enyoing perfect seafood Barbecue with good chosen wines. Bubu Villa organised an individuall trip to a secret beach for us. Two bottles of champagne, grilled seafood, white sand, clear water, beautiful nature and nobody else. It's not popular tourism (apart of many backpackers at long beack-going along with beachparties at night) - but if you search for special vacation at beautiful landscape with individuall possibilities it's perfect. Try a Cocktail at the umbrella bar and send greetings to Jimmy by Nora & Philipp (the ones that bought all the coconuts) - many thanks to the Team of bubu Villa - we will come back for sure! Entrapped in paradiese (Germany-Hamburg)

Room Tip: Chose bubu villa Not bubu Hotel/resort -best rooms (4,5,6)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BubuResortAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at BuBu Villa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are extremely glad you loved our villas enough for a second visit. We hope that your visit to the Perhentian Islands will be like a honeymoon experience each time and look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at the Villas for several nights in April having booked ahead to secure our room. We got a transfer from Kota Bharu airport and were duly met on time. After transferring to a boat at Kuala Besut we arrived at the dock at the opposite end of the beach from our resort and carried our bags to BuBu before eventually having someone guide us to the Villas. The rooms are very nice with outside showers and a lovely dark hardwood construction. The restaurant does a decent menu of Western and Malay dishes and has a nice breezy outlook to the sea. Our major complaint and disappointment was after sundown when the beach bars a few doors away start playing thumping music at high volume until the morning light (we found this happens every night, not just the weekends). Our first nights sleep was woeful - fortunately we moved rooms and so were able to retreat from the noise a little but we still needed to use some top quality ear plugs to have any chance of sleeping. We did inform the staff but of course there is very little they can do, I have to say though that had I known in advance it would have been so bad I would have probably booked accommodation on Besar rather than Kecil, certainly considering this is one of the higher priced options! It's a shame that the bars and backpackers seem to have become so entrenched here because it spoils what would otherwise be a lovely tropical beach. As many have commented the beach suffers from trash from people using the beach irresponsibly which is a real travesty, it does rather compromise the paradise beach persona. In conclusion if you don't mind boozy revellers, loud music until dawn and a bit of mess you will be fine but if you have a different agenda you may be disappointed as we were.

Room Tip: Villas 5 and 6 are furthest from the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Basemess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BubuResortAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at BuBu Villa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you for your review. We thank you for choosing BuBu Villa for your recent stay at Pulau Perhentian Kecil. The local authorities have tried to clamp down some of these illegal business operators on the beach from time to time. And we will be upgrading our premise to buffer the noise through landscaping and introducing some sound-proofing structure. We apologize for any inconvenience caused and hope that your next stay with us will be a much pleasant experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel is located at the end of the backpacker beach with loud music during the nighttime.
In the morning the breakfast was served at the sisterhotel in the opposite part of the beach.
It was a walk on a beach, filled with empty bottles, drunken sleeping people and garbage.
Of course it is not the Hotels responsibility - but honestly it is not a nice experience. And our opinion is that the Hotel is overpriced, because of the location.
Unfortunately we stayed on Village The World Cafe, while a lot of Building materials was delivered from a boat on the beach to a new construction behind the vilas. Our only view was the big ugly boat, and the workers transported materials from 6 in the morning until 6 in the evening.
The hotel offered no compensation - it really was disapointing !,
Anyway: the Vila of course was nice, wiht a outdoor bathroom.
Included in the room rate was afternoon cocktails from 17.00 - 18.00.
We had dinner in the restaurant 2 times - it was okay - but not a "waoo" experience
The staff was nice and helpfull - especially the german hostess.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BubuResortAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at BuBu Villa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are aware of the unpleasant view along the beach and are constantly working with the local authorities to preserve the beauty of the island. We are constantly trying to improve and better our facilities and services. In fact we are undergoing some upgrading work at the moment and hope you come back soon to experience & write your feedback which we highly value. We thank you for your patience and hope that your next stay will be a much more pleasant experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Nice food and good selection of wine. Fairly priced and clean rooms. You could reach to the beach in just minutes. Long beach is filled with soft white sand. At night there is party going on the beach. For partygoers this resort is a must if you happrn to visit perhentian kecil.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We only stayed at World Cafe for one night, as Bubu Resort was full. The room was amazing, and expensive! The toilet and shower are outside in the courtyard/backyard. Amazing during the day, but a little weird when you wake up in the middle of the night and need to use the bathroom. The bed was huge and everything was so clean! Big long vanity for all of my boyfriend and my toiletries. Robes in the closet, plush towels, plenty of toilet paper, coffee/tea and a hot water boiler, and even an umbrella in the room. No TV, but the bed was facing huge windows that faced the jungle like greenery of the island, amazing!

The Italian restaurant blew me away, I didn't really expect much from a risotto from a small island in Malaysia, but MAN was it good! Also the bolognese sauce was so delicious and meaty. Really wanted to try the pizza but the ovens were broken the first night, and then they ran out of cheese the second day. The breakfast is included, and same as Bubu, but instead of a buffet they bring it to you at your table (the view from the table is breathtaking). There are 12 beach chairs up front on the beach for the guests, and you also get two cocktails at 5pm with your room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently stayed here for 1 night after 2 nights at a different chalet. We were very impressed with the service rendered by the staff. Alex and his team made our (very) short stay a memorable one when they went all out of their way to accommodate our request. We had to leave on the earliest speed boat at 8am the next morning but breakfast is only served at Bubu Resort at 730am. They trekked all the way to Bubu to bring our breakfast for us so that we can leave on time. They even remembered my friend's requests for croissants and fresh orange juice when she was just saying in jest. They assured us to eat at our own pace as they will contact the boat driver to wait for us. That was really sweet of them.

We stayed at room no 1. I will not recommend this room if you are looking for peace and solitude as it is the nearest to the beach and there are night entertainment at the beach that may disrupt your rest at night although it didn't bother us much. The outdoor shower and toilet are wonderful but beware of some uninvited guests. We had a frog and a crab as our guest that night!

Overall, this is a lovely place and I will not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed at room no 1. I will not recommend this room if you are looking for peace and solitude as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SerenaSeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Kecil
0.3 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
666 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alunan Resort
Alunan Resort
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
251 reviews
1.7 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shari-La Island Resort
Shari-La Island Resort
#6 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ombak Resort Perhentian Island
Ombak Resort Perhentian Island
#4 of 14 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BuBu Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BuBu Villa

Address: Long Beach, Pulau Perhentian Kecil, Malaysia (Formerly Villa@The World Cafe)
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Price Range: $204 - $1,211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BuBu Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BuBu Villa is an exclusive private enclave of 6 smart villa accommodations on Long Beach of Perhentian Island Kecil (Small Island). Pristine and secluded, nestled alongside a stretch of white sandy beach, guest accommodations offer a restful, airy ambiance inspired by local architecture with tropical wood furnishings, high ceilings and roofs thatched with nipah palm leaves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your BuBu Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing