We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible experience in perhentian” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BuBu Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BuBu Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible experience in perhentian”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I and my boyfriend went to perhentian island after a very nice stay at the Tarras resort at redang because we heard that the perhentian island is amazing. However, we got totally shocked after our arrival. The beach here is terrible compared to redang. The sand is dirty. The chalet world cafe is located at the end of long beach and we need to walk there from jetty. The staff is nice to come to pick us up after our call for our luggage. However, the hotel is full of mosquitos and there is no way to keep them outside your room. The bathroom is outside the room so you could imagine the fear to go to bathroom in the night...we did not sleep at all also because there were some clubs where people singing until 3 or 4 o'clock in the morning. The good point which i found is the seafood bbq at night which is fresh and reasonable price. It is certainly the best hotel on this beach, but for sure it is not the place to go for families or for those tourists who would like to enjoy a luxury experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Superflowerting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    48
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
25
83
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Pretty impressive little spot of luxury hidden in the midst of Long Beach on Perhentian Kecil which is more famous for backpacker joints than luxurious villas. I went during the low season so only paid RM450 a night which I thought was pretty worth it though I can't see myself paying like RM700-900 during the peak season as that's just not worth it. Service from the regular staff was lacklustre but the manager Nicholas was really good and keen to help out whenever he could with a cheery disposition. We managed to check out pretty late on our last day on the island which was really great since our ferry was only at 4pm (the last ferry out from the island to the mainland). The rooms are a tad bit small and there's no fridge and television though that's ok as we were out diving most of the day and there's an electronic safe which is pretty important. The outdoor bathroom and shower were really nice and definitely a highlight. There is a club/disco next door which blasts music all night long and its especially louder on weekends. There's nothing you can really do about it and thankfully we were too tired from diving all day to be bothered though I can foresee this being an issue if you're a light sleeper. Overall I would definitely recommend this villa especially if you can get a good price during low season. Otherwise it can be really expensive and you might just consider going to stay at Bubu Long Beach which is the sister property at the other end of the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaysanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent 3 nights at The word Cafè after 3 nights at Bubu Resort already revieved by me. The facility is pretty small and clean but is located at the end of long beach very close to all resturants and bar's where, parties least since late in the morning 2.30-3.00 cousing lot of noise after 11 pm. In case i suggest to reserve the rooms at the bottom left of the area where the music less bother the sleeping hours. This side of the beach has inconveninces even during the day because of the big traffic of boats and the several stock pits of garbage that stink until their pick-up.
The chalets are very nice and modern equipped. The bed is big and the outside area with shower and wc is cosy.
The service and the breakfast are not at the level of the Bubu Resort, other facility of the group, even if the prices are higher. The staff, although improved during our staying, need to get better and better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giovanni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We rented the family chalet for 3 nights and then ended up staying for a week! The staff are amazing and yes the service is slow so we just laid back, chilled out and enjoyed the slower pace of island life. beautiful rooms and outdoor bathrooms with your picture postcard view of blue sky and palm trees as you shower. Awesome happy hour cocktails we loved the mai tai and strawberry mojito. Nice sun loungers on the beach and stunning turquoise waters. Swimming, snorkelling, diving is all out of this world. The boatmen will take you anywhere you want to see turtles and sharks or your own slice of White sand and blue waters. Special thanks to sivvy and Dennis for looking after us so well at the world cafe. Turtle divers also rocked just down the beach. The sugar wreck is a must! Also visit Lemy the boatmen just next to world cafe to show island life.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salypimienta_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

I was quite taken aback when I found out the pricing for this lovely little property, very expensive indeed. Extremely expensive considering the other accommodations on Long Beach.

For the price, you get a very nice "chalet" with a very nice outdoor bathroom & toilet. Only the monkeys on the coconut trees will be able to see you though, so nothing to worry about. Rooms are a very good size with very high ceilings.

The property only has 6 chalets, so it's very pretty private and exclusive. Breakfast is sit-down style at the World Cafe which is right in front and is pretty good (included in the rate). There are also free cocktails every evening (5-6pm), where each staying guest is entitled to two free drinks. Nice touch. The Sexy Dragon is such a delicious drink! Love it, love it! Oh and I almost forgot, the welcome drink was very refreshing too!

The beach front is relatively quiet and has deck chairs & umbrellas for inhouse guests. The hotel does not provide beach towels though. Strange.

During our stay, the property manager Desmond (I hope I remembered his name correctly) was extremely friendly and helpful to my group. Truly the kind of person that belongs in hospitality.

If you're willing to part with your well-earned money to stay here, go ahead. It is very nice. I don't think I will return though, but only because when I'm at the beach, I'm spending ALL my time on the beach or in the water and really only returning to the room in the evenings. So, this kind of luxury really isn't good value to people like me.

There are 2 main issues with the Chalets @ The World Cafe and they are:
1. The noise from the Black Tip (the disco/club/watering hole) on the beach next door to this property. You WILL be able to hear the muffled music until 3-4am every morning. I would suggest some sort of sound-proofing be done to the rooms.
2. The walk to/from the jetty is significant. I understand this can be a pro or a con, depending on the individual. Nonetheless, something to note.

I held back on the 5 rating mainly because of the noise every night. Everything else is fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TezzMezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Definitely the most expensive hotel on the island, but its located in the heart of the beach. Several bars, restaurants, snorkeling/water taxi companies all around. However, if you are bothered by background music till about 4am, don't stay here. The rooms and bathrooms (outdoor) are very clean.

The breakfast and 2 free evening cocktails are great as well! The staff was friendly and helpful, but the beach is so small that it isn't too difficult to get around without help.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuash82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We didn't stay here but spent much time at the beach outside, ordering drinks from the cafe and using their excellent wifi. We ate here several times. The staff are very friendly and helpful, especially their French manager, Remi. The cafe/bar has good shade and is cooled by large fans.
The beach outside is less crowded than elsewhere on Longbeach.

The bar has real wineglasses!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Kecil
0.3 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alunan Resort
Alunan Resort
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.7 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#3 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#2 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#4 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shari-La Island Resort
Shari-La Island Resort
#5 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BuBu Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BuBu Villa

Property: BuBu Villa
Address: Long Beach, Pulau Perhentian Kecil, Malaysia (Formerly Villa@The World Cafe)
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BuBu Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BuBu Villa is an exclusive private enclave of 6 smart villa accommodations on Long Beach of Perhentian Island Kecil (Small Island). Pristine and secluded, nestled alongside a stretch of white sandy beach, guest accommodations offer a restful, airy ambiance inspired by local architecture with tropical wood furnishings, high ceilings and roofs thatched with nipah palm leaves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your BuBu Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing