We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Perhentian Tropicana Inn
Reviewed September 16, 2011

What I loved about this budget hotel was the great value you got for the money paid. For RM40.00 (USD13.50) a night, I got my own clean private room, a comfortable bed, an attached bathroom, free wi-fi at the main lobby and 24hr electricity!

There are very few hotels in Perhentian Kecil which offers 24hr electricity, as everything is still run on generators there.

Rooms were non air-conditioned and no water heaters for your shower, but it was not a problem as the your chalets were nestled in the cool shade under the thick foliage of trees. The walls of the rooms were abit thin, but that was to be expected for the money that you paid.

What I also loved about this hotel was that is was a little aways from the beach (about a 5 minute walk) and it was nice and quiet, away from the party hustle and bustle of Long Beach. So that you had the best of both worlds, partying on Long Beach, but having a peaceful & restful sleep after. But be sure to bring a torch light with you as the pathway from the beach to the hotel is not lit, and can be pitch black on certain nights.

Would definitely go back there again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank ecmdtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Perhentian Tropicana Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 233 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2011

After looking around the island, this hostel was the best value for money we could find. It was cheaper than the rest with nice private rooms. Location was half way the two main beaches, perfect for exploring and staff friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Lizziex1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

It's really far away from the beach, around 15 mins walk. There are no lights along the path at night so bring your torch light. The path is pretty steep and certain point and it's muddy after rain.

I was charged differently - RM 25 for first two nights, RM 20 for last two nights. People I met staying at the same dorm paid RM 20 every night. There was even a guy who paid RM 15. I'm not sure how this system works but it goes to show the integrity of the management.

The only positive about this place is the dorm. 8 beds in a room with 2 bathrooms (no hot shower) and of course the great company you'll meet!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rainbowbiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Friendly staff with good clean accomodation 24 hr electricity and free wifi... Which is a big plus compared to other resorts food was pretty okay too

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Whatisavail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Tropicana inn is really basic. We paid 80 ringgit during the superpeak season for a room with shower and toilet. The room is very basic and not really clean, but I do not think this is different at other places. We stayed here for three nights and there is not much to complain. Location is good, because it is in the middle of coral bay and long beach. Both sides three minute walk. The staff is not really interested and not really friendly, but also not rude. There's free wifi for 24 hours which is unique on the island.

I find the rooms not really clean and really really basic. But for a few nights stay it is okay. Could not compare it with other place but from what I've heard, nothing is really clean!

Small tip: on te road to coral
bay, you will walk by a place called ewan's place. Really friendly family who run a restaurant and some places to stay. They've just started this year. I think you should also check out this place!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

This place is great value. It is inexpensive & clean, it also has free wifi & 24 hour electricity (both of which you would rarely see on the island). Its location is perfect in that it is a 5 minute walk from both long beach & coral bay. The staff are kind; honest & helpful - particularly the owner who is very friendly, he helped us out by generously sourcing medication for my girlfriends ear ache (there are no pharmacies on the island so this could have been quite a problem). They have both dormitory & en-suite bed rooms; I can highly recommend them for a great stay in the Perhentians!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Cathalreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We looked at every place (except Tropicana) on Perhentian and stayed in another place which was RH60 for a double room. The room was falling apart to say the least and was damp and dark (no electricity during the day. We were then told about Tropicana which is 5 mins walk from the beach, up the hill. For only RH40 this was by far the best room. Clean, good fan, mozzy net, tiled bathroom, free wifi in restaurant, 24hr electricity and such nice staff. If you're staying on Long Beach, there is no better place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank rockinupthebigstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Kecil
2.6 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#8 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shari-La Island Resort
Shari-La Island Resort
#5 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ombak Resort Perhentian Island
Ombak Resort Perhentian Island
#4 of 14 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
152 reviews
1.8 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perhentian Tropicana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perhentian Tropicana Inn

Address: Long Beach, Pulau Perhentian Kecil, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Price Range: $56 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Perhentian Tropicana Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Perhentian Tropicana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing