We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Keranji Beach
Nearby Hotels
D'Lagoon(Pulau Perhentian Kecil)
Matahari Chalet(Pulau Perhentian Kecil)
Mimpi Perhentian(Pulau Perhentian Kecil)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
BuBu Long Beach Resort(Pulau Perhentian Kecil)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Shari-La Island Resort(Pulau Perhentian Kecil)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort(Pulau Perhentian Besar)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort(Pulau Perhentian Besar)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveler rating
101
46
21
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
46
21
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomspent nights herelaid backclear watertoilet and showertaxi boattropical islandmin walkperhentian islandsazizhutparadisejungleaccommodationmalaysiasealizards
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 180 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

**The resort is now called Keranji Beach Resort**

Not sure if there are enough superlatives to describe our stay here accurately. It was hands-down one of the best holidays I have ever had. We stayed here for 6 nights and enjoyed every single minute. Days consisted of lying on the beach (and swimming when it got too hot), morning walks to Coral Bay for breakfast and hanging out in the main chalet for dinner. The beach huts are great (some with a bathroom, some without) with a fan in each room and a mosquito net to keep out the mozzies at night. It's stripped-back holidaying at its finest. There is a main chalet where food is served (breakfast, lunch and dinner) with daily lunch and dinner specials. There is no alcohol for sale but you can go to Coral Bay to buy that and Yee will happily pop it in the kitchen fridge for you.

Speaking of Yee, he's great. He manages the resort and is so helpful and friendly. We were lucky enough to have his wife Jeli there as well, who made us feel right at home as soon as we arrived. Lan, Sue and all the boys who work there are all fantastic and really made our stay so great. They offer snorkelling trips as well, which is great as it means a small group and you aren't one of 12 like the trips that go from Coral Bay and Long Beach.

Almost every person who came through from Coral Bay and Long Beach asked if there was accommodation available at Keranji Beach Resort. It's not commercialised like other areas and is very laid back. Have I mentioned Amran yet? He's the resident otter who is just gorgeous. I think I took more photos of him than of me and my boyfriend......

The beach itself is lovely - white sand and clear blue water. You can hire snorkelling gear from Yee for RM5 per person per day and snorkel right off the beach. Lots of little fish to look at and coral to swim around.

I would recommend staying here in a heartbeat. It's a wonderful place!

Room Tip: There is no pool! I dont know how to take that rating off.....
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 7 nights here at the start of June. We had just come from the Thai islands and were looking for somewhere more relaxed after the mayhem of the full moon party. Mira Beach was everything we could wish for: a quiet, sandy beach with warm, clear blue water, good snorkelling, friendly staff and a great restaurant.

We were slightly unsure whether to go for a ensuite or not. In the end we went for a beach hut without a bathroom and didn't regret it. The huts without bathrooms are literally on the beach while the ensuite huts are set back slightly. The shared bathrooms arent far and the path to them is lit at night. They're basic (cold showers but western style toilets) but everything you need. The rooms are also basic, literally just a bed, a mosquito net and a fan - but who needs anything else when there is a beach at the foot of the steps? The huts also have a small verandah with a table, chairs and a hammock.

The food is really delicious, especially the daily specials, and the prices are no more than what you pay in Coral Bay. The staff are friendly and helpful, they even managed to get a cake over from the mainland for my girlfriend's birthday. We did a snorkelling trip through the hotel which was about 10 Ringgit more than doing it through an agency in coral bay but worth it for the convenience of having it totally customised for us. Scuba diving schools on Coral Bay are happy to come and pick you up from Mira, so you dont have to walk over.

In summary, it's basic but paradise. And the pet otter is very cute!

Room Tip: Huts 1 and 2 are best because they are physically on the beach. The other non-ensuites are also right by the beach, while the ensuites are set back slightly.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BackpackerChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

my family and i spent 4 days and 3 nights at Mira Bay and it was truly a holiday. The hospitality was great... It was like living in another world as the place is so serene because Mira Bay is like a private beach and it is highly recommended to those who love to be close to nature. The rooms are very simple. I believe the owner wants his guests to discover the traditional Malay life because the furnitures are totally made up by wood and the beds are covered with "kelambu" or mosquitoes net which the Malay folks used to get rid of mosquitoes as some parts of the room are left open to allow the air to enter freely. There is also a well if you want o have a great deal of experience in Malay traditions and cultures and yes as mentioned by one one of the commenters, there is Amran, a very cute, playful and adorable otter grown as a pet by the owner of the chalet. I fell in love immediately after i met Amran. ;) You should not be worry as the place is very hygienic. The rate for the rooms are also affordable. The highest rate would be rm120 as i can remembered. There are even a camp site but it is limited. Accomodation in term of water taxi is provided but if you are a backpakers which i believe to save cost as much as possible, there are track from village to village and from one beach to another beach where you can walk and discover the place by yourself. You are suggested to visit on March as the during this month, the water current is very suitable for snorkelling and diving activities. Mira Bay is a worth place to spend your pennies. My family and i have had a very enjoyable holiday there and we even plan to have our annual holiday at Mira bay... :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fifi-beachgirl-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We loved Mira beach! Our favorite place out of the the 3 places we stayed on Kecil.
Beautiful swimming beach with great snorkelling to the left of the beach.
Anrun the resident otter, (yes you heard correct) was a real treat for us, being animal and wildlife lovers. He is very friendly, a well loved pet and loves to be scratched under his chin. Often found sleeping under your table like cat.
Lan, Sue and co were great, and there is a happy welcoming feel to this place.
We stayed 3 nights in the more expensive chalet with attached bathroom. Its more expensive than a lot of other places. Private golden sand beach to share only with the other guests staying. Food is nice and good value too. Bring your own beer or wine as like most places you can not buy from them.
They have power on from approx 7pm to 6am, so it can get rather hot during the day without a fan to hide under. Just hang out in the water, its the best place to be.
We would stay here again for sure! Stunning location!

Room Tip: The beach front chalets are the best location, right overlooking the beach. The newer more expensive ones with attached bathrooms are set back slightly. Depends on whats more important to you.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penny-chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Wow, Mira beach is fantastic. My fiancé and I spent 6 nights there at the beginning of April this year and fell in love. The White sandy beach is quiet, and the water is the most beautiful colour blue. There are only 7 beach huts, all handmade by Lan and co. The rooms are basic but very comfortable with mosquito nets and fans. Most of them do not have bathrooms but a few do and are worth the extra RM50. All you can hear at night is geckos and the sound of the sea. It pricier than other places on Kecil but there's no comparison.
The staff are so friendly and helpful and work tirelessly to keep the beach looking great and are happy for you to pitch in is sunbathing and swimming becomes a chore.
The food is all homemade and delicious but the menu is only small, and there is no alcohol but you can buy beer and rum from Coral Bay, which is a 25 minute walk away.
We got engaged whilst we were there and Ye, Lan and everyone helped to make it extra special with a bonfire and a romantic meal on the beach.
Mira beach will always be a special place for me and I can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Take a torch if you plan to co to Coral beach or Long Beach at night. Also the rooms have padlocks but take your own as they are a bit rusty.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HappyTraveler1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews