We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible service- didn't even get to stay”
Review of Keranji Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keranji Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“terrible service- didn't even get to stay”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

about a week before arriving we tried emailing Mira from the address on their website to make a reservation- we got no reply. so then the day before we were due to arrive we rang them and were informed they only take reservations for the next day and they were full. we decided to stay a couple of nights on coral bay then go in person and reserve a room.

we walked to Mira bay at 11am and reserved our room for the following day, we were informed we would have room 1 right on the beach. we were asked for a deposit but we had no money with us, we were told 'no problem'. However when we arrived by water taxi the next day at 11 the same person that had said we would have a beach room directed us to a room behind the reception virtually in the jungle with no view of the beach, also aside from the mosquito net the room was completely open allowing all the jungle creatures and insects to come and sleep with you at night (which there are a lot of here). when we asked why we had this room not number 1 as we had reserved we were told that someone else had booked yesterday from the mainland and they had also been informed they would have this room. no apology was given and no other explanation was given as to why the place had been double booked or why the reservation from the mainland had priority over us despite the fact we arrived first.

extremely upset we had to get a taxi boat back using the mira bay service to coral bay- which they made us pay for on top of everything else.

if you do get to stay the beach is prettier and there are far less people than coral bay. the beachfront shacks looked basic but nice and had beautiful views. room 8 (jungle room) is best avoided unless you are on very friendly terms with nature. also shared bathroom is very primitive squat toilet only.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    45
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
18
80
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2011

If you like the simple life this is it - just a few basic cabins on stilts in a beautiful little bay, hemmed in by jungle. We spent five lazy days there - swimming, snorkelling, lying in the hammock on our verandah watching the monitor lizards and sea eagles, and Lan [the owner] has an otter, rescued as a pup, that frolicks on the beach and gently nibbles your toes. I had never seen an otter before, and there it was snuggling up to my feet. The grub's good - my favourite = muesli and yoghurt for breakfast, and there's a decent menu in the evenings, and beers until late under the stars in perfect quiet. Paradise! In fact there's a paved path to Coral Beach [20 minutes -take a torch if coming back at night] if paradise isn't enough We paid 50RM a night. Our cabin was No. 1, right next to the beach; and had a mosquito net, and fan for at night [which we didn't bother with] The lads running the place were a great laugh too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiloJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed at Mira for three nights in hut number 2 for 40RM per night.

As others have said, you cannot fault the setting.. An unspolit tropical paradise, unique in the perhentians (as far as we could tell & at the time of writing). The swallows which appear at sunset, swooping to feast on insects is something we will always remember.

The staff are friendly and really try to make you feel welcome. The two young members of the team were the best cooks we'd encountered on the islands, able to assemble delicous meals from limited ingredients.

We love the fact that things are kept basic. Overall the experience is akin to camping (but not all travellers will like this); a laid back attitude to the outdoors plus a torch is essential!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Diddy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

I would really love to have given this a better rating, because the location is incredible. There is only a few 'shacks' and so you essentially share the beautiful little beach with only a few other people. It's perfect if you just want to escape from everything and everyone. We could walk from our balcony to the sand to the water in just a few short steps. But yes, there was little to no food available while we were there as it was the end of the season and as others have said, the lodgings are very basic. Shared cold showers and not particularly clean bathrooms. But i will still recommend it in a second for that beach!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyHapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

As you can guess from the title the location is wonderfull. The cabins however are very basic, the (shared) showers are cold but what can you expect from 10 US a night. So no complaining from my side. The food was very good, the staff was friendly (played some football with them). Overall it's a laidback place with a good vibe.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janneman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We have been here with 2 couples in September this year. The place looks really beautiful. The view is magnific! However we were booked in hut that was also the home of some animals. Squirls, bats and......... a rat. Also the bathroom was very basic and not very clean.
The food is great and I would certainly recommend this place to all people seeking for adventure and a beautiful place to stay. If however you require a bit more higer standards and want to have a bit more activity around than you probably feel unhappy there.
We stayed 1 night (intention 3 or 4) and moved to the other end of the island where we stayed for 4 more nights (Matahari).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsipu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Mira Beach Chalets are truly paradise. The Chalet's are basic but really charming. There is only a cold shower and the electricity is only on between 7pm to 7am. But I did not mind since a cold shower was nice after a hot day at the beach, and the chalets have a lot of windows so you do not need electricity during the day anyway.

Mira Beach Chalets are located at Perhentian Kecil and is the only chalet-operator at that beach, which makes this a quiet location compare to Long Beach and Coral Bay. You can still go to Coral Beach and Long Beach trough a jungle walk trail (about 20 min. to Coral Beach and 40 min to Long Beach) or by boat taxi.

The staff here is very friendly which makes you feel at home right away. And if you are lucky they will make a bonfire at the beach in the evening. The beach is also very nice since it has a nice sandy beach but with corals at the left to the beach so you also can go snorkel.

Chalets prices are around 50RM with shared bathroom. They also have a dorm and Chalet with bathroom.

I would definitely recommend this place to people who wants a relaxed escape to paradise:)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraLinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Kecil
1.7 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
615 reviews
1.6 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
625 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alunan Resort
Alunan Resort
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ombak Resort Perhentian Island
Ombak Resort Perhentian Island
#4 of 14 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
129 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shari-La Island Resort
Shari-La Island Resort
#5 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
466 reviews
0.9 mi away
Senja Bay Resort
Senja Bay Resort
#7 of 14 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keranji Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keranji Beach

Property: Keranji Beach
Address: Pulau Perhentian Kecil 22300, Malaysia (Formerly Mira Beach)
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keranji Beach currently operates 10 unique beach huts located on the beachfront, all beautifully made from natural building materials promoting itself as an Eco-Friendly Resort. - To provide a relaxing holiday retreat for tourists in the freedom of nature, away from the pressures of everyday life. - To promote living harmoniously in nature through the unique combination of our natural built environment and the Islands' beautiful tropical environment. Besides the accommodation, we also provide other associated services to guests such as food & beverage in our own restaurant with a stunning beach view, airport transfers, boat transfers and snorkeling trips. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing