We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place on the island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shari-La Island Resort
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We found the hotel by accident when we stayed on the main beach of the island. In general there is not much choice of luxury accommodation. A room with AC and breakfast or dinner is at least 150 MR on this island. We were quite impressed by the lobby, so we booked a room for the next day for the published rate of 144 MR incl. breakfast. The hotel still is a building site, but it was not a problem for us. The room was the nicest we saw on the island with 5 different kinds of wood on the walls and ceiling. The bathroom is small, but OK. There was a mini bar and sky TV. The breakfast was OK, but nothing special. Dinner was a lot better, but there are plenty of restaurants along the beach. Like in other places on the island the water from the tap can be salty. There is no freshwater pipe from the mainland. All water is bore water.
The resort is one of only a handful places with 24h electricity. Other places shut down in the morning and afternoon which is very annoying as rooms in general are pretty dark.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank msdstefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
There are newer reviews for Shari-La Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 482 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2008

Still a work in progress - Shari-la, Perhentian Island

Not sure if the first 2 reviews are genuine ones - we thought it might not be but took a chance and went with it and stayed at Shari-la for 4 nights in August 08.

It didn't start well when at check-in, we were told that they did receive our reservation request (which we did some time ago before we got there with email - no way to do it on their website as far as i can see) but they had a big group from Kula Lumpur coming that day so they had to give away our standard room!! And that meant the only room available for us the first night was the ¨Deluxe¨ at 230 ringit. They offered it to us for 170 as it was their fault. To be honest, i could not be bothered to argue and ask for the rate of standard room (which is 144 ringit) so we took the deluxe for the first night. It was awful - it smelt damp, dark and it had 1 double bed AND a single bed which we assumed is the reason why it was ¨Deluxe¨ because you get another bed hence more room - but for a couple like us, an extra bed was useless really.

We got moved to ¨standard¨ room from the next day and it was actually better - more light, still smelt damp - my g.f. had to put tiger balm every night so that it would mask the smell! Bathroom was the usual ¨island¨ setup i.e. shower and toilet next to each other which we expected - but what we didn't expect was no hot water on the first day, no water at all on the 3rd day (and when there was, it was untreated which meant insects and leaves in the water) and sea water for your shower through out. I think when it rains heavy, their drainage system can't cope that well and this is the result - again, something that might get fixed when the place is finished and built but i wouldn't count on it.

The whole resort is on the north end of Coral Bay - so the location is good. But the resort itself is still a building site. The path to your room is still being built and most of their chalets/rooms are still being built.

Staff were ok but not that competent. Breakfast was included but make sure you go early as it goes quick and does not get refilled properly by the staff.

For what we paid (144 for standard, 170 for deluxe), this place is not worth the money. I would of thought there will be other places which are more value for money on Long beach.

We've traveled all over Asia (including some of the most remote places in China) over 4 months period and for the money we paid, we were able to get a lot better so you can't say we are not used to ¨remote¨ location accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jukazu1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Brand new hotel on the island. I stayed in a chalet with aircon, shower and toilet, double bed, TV with local and English-language movie channels.

Chalets are quite good and much better that most of what you can find on the Coral beach.

Staff is smiling, helpful and discreet.

The restaurant is the finest (cuisine) and classiest (tables, service) on the island.

Coral bay is an excellent spot for Diving classes (there is an excellent 5-star PADI center on the end of the beach opposite to the hotel). It is very silent during evenings and nights - perfect for people wanting to rest.

There is a 5-7 minutes walk across the island to the Long Beach where there are bars, music and lots of partying people every night. Loud music may last till 5 am.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rustam_in_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

we arrived at the hotel at half 10 expecting to check into our room, however when we arrived we found out that they had sold our room along with about 100 other peoples, so we could not go into the room until 4, which was discusting as we could not do anything as everything was in are case which had to be in a room. we went for a walk and came back 1 hour later to find our cases were at the back of about 15 other cases so we could not get are suit cases untill 4. they finally gave us a room which takes about 10 miniutes to get to. we were a party of 4 so we had to rooms. we had booked 1 room with 2 single beds and 1 room with a double bed, however we got 2 rooms with 2 single beds. on the website it claimes newly built however it is still been built and looks a mess, all through the day you can hear banging as they are still building. we paid for a graden view however there is no garden view just a pile of wood. one morning we awoke to find a fire alight behing our hut which suprised us. when we arrived in to out room there was no towels, no cusion, we did not now how to work anything and the room had half the draws missing. my sister and her parter came with us and when they got into there room and attempted to use the bathroom, they shut the door and the handle fell or then they flushed the toilet and all ants came up. the saff are not very freindly as if you have problem they just laugh in your face. we could not be happyier to be out of the resort now and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Xxjade-bethxX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

Lovely Place like heaven...
That the first word can I say here. I write this review in Shari-La Island Resort. They have speed internet service here and also WIFI (wireless internet). So that the important thing for me. I spend with my girlfriend for 6 night here. I found trip advisor website from their website. They promote the trip advisor website here. Went we planning to go for holiday, my friend give some suggestions to go to perhentian island . I found about Shari-La from Yahoo Search Engine. The good thing about their website, I can book and pay online for confirmation booking. I’m happy because this save my time and my money to call them... Hehe. Their room very nice and the decoration very fantastic. All wooden. I never found the resort like this before. The facilities in their room very good. They have Air-Conditioner and Fan in their room, In House Telephone (Room to Room), hot shower, mini bar, satellite television, and bed. Hehe. For me, I rate this resort like 5star. The staff very friendly and helpfully. So I strongly suggest to go for holiday here… One more important thing, I like very much their double espresso and cappuccino. I Love their food!!! Hehe… I will come back for next year! Wait for me.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank battleband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

This month i spend my holiday at pulau perhentian kecil. Located towards the south of Coral bay (Teluk Aur) with a beautiful garden. We stay for a couple of nights. Friendly staff. We having our meals at sunset restaurant and they have good food (pizza, Spaghetti) and they have a private beach. Snorkeling is great! Very nice room. For me Shari-La Island Resort is boutique resort. Nice decoration. Nature Surrounding. New resort with good facilities like Hot Shower, Satellites TV in room, Mini bar, Attached bath room, Air-Conditioner and Fan in our room, In House Telephone (Room to Room), Room Service, 24 Hours Electricity. We also walk to Long Beach (10minutes through the jungle). The most important thing, rooms are cheap and I can make a online reservation!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank srsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank HandS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Kecil
0.6 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
664 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#8 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
248 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Perhentian Tropicana Inn
Perhentian Tropicana Inn
#8 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
233 reviews
2.0 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
897 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ombak Resort Perhentian Island
Ombak Resort Perhentian Island
#4 of 14 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shari-La Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shari-La Island Resort

Address: Coral Bay, Perhentian Island, Pulau Perhentian Kecil 20300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Price Range: $32 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shari-La Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shari-La Island Resort located at Pulau Perhentian Kecil (Coral Bay), 8 minutes walking distance to long beach. Nice place, nice room, nice environment with natural beauty. Our rooms come with hot shower, satellite TV, mini bar, air-condition + fan and 24 hour electricity. Moderate for all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Shari-La Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shari-La Island Hotel Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Shari La Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing