We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dorm really dirty and bedbugs!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shari-La Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shari-La Island Resort
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dorm really dirty and bedbugs!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We are two girls from Europe backpacking south east Asia and stayed at their dorm for one night after our desired location had no room available. From the good reviews here on tripadvisor we thought it should be ok - we have rarely been so wrong.

When we checked in at 3pm we still had to wait until 10pm for fresh sheets on our beds. Unfortunately staff didn't think of taking away the old towels and other waste of the former guests (see pictures). It was really disgusting! Moreover we returned there three days after checkout to pick up a friend and the sheets we slept in were still on the beds.

There is no protection from mosquitoes, only three working lightbulbs for the whole dorm and the AC settings can't be changed - this means it was really freezing during the night.

As if all this wasn't enough we found out later that they also had bedbugs! It was not only us. We also talked to other guests staying in the dorm and they also had the red bites all over them. We only stayed there for one night but we know from others that the reception was informed about the bedbugs and at least the next 4 days (by then we left the island) nothing was done!

The shower for the dorm is really gross (the one of the two with a door), the toilet dirty and there is no sink at all! Furthermore one of the wooden steps that you have to pass to reach the "sanitary facilities" is broken. This is really dangerous and could lead to falls and injuries especially in the dim light during the night!

They keep your passport for the length of your stay even though you pay berforehand at check-in. This is unusual in Malaysia.

The only positive thing is the location. They also have a private beach and when you pass it and go on a bit along the cost you can find nice snorkeling spots.

From all hostels we stayed at during our trip through SEA this was the most horrible one. DO NOT GO THERE! It is not worth the money and the trouble getting rid of the bedbugs!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    149
    121
    69
    46
See reviews for
53
169
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I always find the reviews on TripAdvsoir very helpful, so this time I would like to share my experience as my review may help other travellers making their decision.

I travelled to Perhentian Kecil with three friends back in July and picked a deluxe chalet at the Shari-La based on mainly positive reviews on TripAdvisor at the time. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed and after reading more recent posts (mainly negative) I have to say that I agree.

The resort advertises itself as a 3.5 star resort, but I wouldn't rate it anymore than 2.5. The main reason for that is the poor hygiene / maintenance at the resort and staff attitude which ranges from friendly to indifferent and unhelpful.

The Shari La chalets look very cute on the internet, and the decor is indeed warm and friendly. Also the grounds of the resort are very pleasant and are being well-maintained on a daily basis. But I rather have a clean room and restaurant to go to than sand being swept around trees almost to perfection outside my chalet.

Short description of the short comings in the restaurant:
Buffet Breakfast has quite a variety, but low standard of quality. More importantly, the hygiene in the restaurant is appalling! Table cloths in the buffet area as well as on the tables are dirty and sticky and I never saw them changed in the whole week I stayed there. There are ants in the coffee & tea serving area.

Short description of the short comings in the chalets:
Worn furniture, surfaces in chalet were grimy upon check, dust & dirt on the floor and in drawers, and I had to ask to clean the room again properly. The refridgerator was not working and I was told by staff that there's nothing that can be done about it. After two days they eventually changed the fridge. As mentioned in reviews by others: towels are not changed and rooms are not cleaned even when you hang the sign 'Please make up room' outside your door, you actually have to inform reception. What do you have the sign for then, I wonder?

Hence, it was no surprise to me that after the 3rd night in my chalet, I woke up with bed bug bites all over me. I have plenty of photographs of that to upload on this site, but spare you the sight of them ... It's not pretty. I immediately informed reception asking to rectify the issue. I was re-assured that the room would be sprayed, the matress would be aired and put out in the sun to get rid off the bugs, sheets be changed etc. Nothing happened at all and I had to chase and remind staff six times throughout the whole day, which meant that my day was wasted. A new mattress was finally put up in the evening but the sheets on the second bed were still not changed. Total nightmare! Worst thing of all, I asked housekeeping for my night shirt and a few other garments that had been on the bed to be washed and dried hot to make sure to get rid off any possible bugs. After two days the items were ready to be picked up, but they wanted to charge me for it. Outrageous!

All was fine for 2 nights and I finally could get some sleep again. However, during my seventh and last night at the resort the bed bugs returned ... so, the bed bug problem is obviously a re-occoring issue.

Upon check-out in the morning, I mentioned to reception that I would like to be compensated for the 2 nights where I was bitten and had hardly any sleep. I was told that this was not possible ...
I think enough said. All that for RM230 per night ... not worth it. Go elsewhere!

Unless you want to spend even more and stay in one of the VIP cottages which two friends had booked and they were very happy with it and had no bed bugs.

I seriously hope that the management of this resort reads the reviews, as they will definitely need to raise their standard and take customer's comments seriously. I will not return there and certainly don't recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try the VIP cottages if you have the budget for it. But overall I still wouldn't recommend the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pulau Perhentian Kecil hotels

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I never like to leave bad comments, truly this time I have no choice! The resort and the chalet look very pretty on the outside, once inside the suite the nightmare begins! Starting with the smelly bedlinen, furniture had upholstery full of dust from months I wouldn't touch them even with clothes on. Toilet felt like a public toilet. Forget about breakfast, we bought soya milk and canned coffee with cookies from the shop nearby and consumed in the patio outside the chalet, unless you want to eat on a tablecloths with noodles dry from few meals before, not to mention the lack of pastry and bad food overall. Feel free to add the sugar from the pot full of ants. If you really want to waste your money you'll need one night to realize the mistake, and the nice long beach with low water it's on the other side of the island anyway. Staff, no comment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicephore75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skierniewice, Poland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there 2 nights. It was quite dufficult to find something without earlier booking. Only some ugly and cheap rooms in different chalets nearby. Szari-la wasn't cheap - 250 per one night but of a good value. Food was not included.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The nice room and the beautiful view is a package given when you stayed at the chalet near the private beach.. very privacy. Suitable for honeymooners..but, the beach here are not suitable for swimming because there's a lot died coral and can cause pain on your feet just by stepping on it... to swim in the biggest swimming pool in the world, you have to cross the island and go to Long beach.. crystal clear water, white sandy beach.. what else can i say,.. its the best! Same goes at night, here in Sharila or Coral Beach offers minimum entertainment compares to the beach across the island (Long Beach) there's a beach party all night! Anyway, Shari-La still offer the relaxing, privacy, beautiful landscape and very suitable for the rushing & cramped city people like me to have a moment with the sound of the beach and the view like watching a hd beautiful landscape pictures right in front of your eyes..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azuan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
223 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Shari-la Island resort is a good hotel on the main beach of Pulau Perenthian Kecil. It's direct connected with ferry jetty.

We stayed in a 10 person apartment which was very clean and confortable with 3 bathrooms, aircon and fan in every room.

Breakfast is rich and in the hall there is free Wi-Fi connection. In the hotel there is a restaurant where you can have grilled fish ore something else but i suggest you to try restaurant along the beach. The resort includes a diving (5 star padi resort) where I had my Advance Open Wtaer course.

Don't miss the crazy night life into long beach, on the other part of the island (ten minute walk from the resort)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milano78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The surrounding was so close to the nature & they did not cut down so much trees for the construction & conserve the natural tropical environment at the resort. That makes u feel so calm & cooling as you walk along the way to your room.
Along the way, you can find a staircase that brings you to the romantic beach, where you can stright away go snorkeling without hustle bustle of the boat traffic making you worried evertime you go snorkeling. There were so many fish & it is very enjoyable.
My room was quite far from the jetty but the journey was made easy by the walkway they constructed for you to reach your room. As we reach the deluxe room, we were fascinated by the deco in the room. The room was so nice. The breakfast was good & delicious with varieties of food available. The staff was so friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shikin_Gia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Kecil
0.6 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#4 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#2 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Alunan Resort
Alunan Resort
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.0 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#3 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ombak Resort Perhentian Island
Ombak Resort Perhentian Island
#4 of 15 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shari-La Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shari-La Island Resort

Property: Shari-La Island Resort
Address: Coral Bay, Perhentian Island, Pulau Perhentian Kecil 20300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shari-La Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shari-La Island Resort located at Pulau Perhentian Kecil (Coral Bay), 8 minutes walking distance to long beach. Nice place, nice room, nice environment with natural beauty. Our rooms come with hot shower, satellite TV, mini bar, air-condition + fan and 24 hour electricity. Moderate for all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Shari-La Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shari-La Island Hotel Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Shari La Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing