We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dive shop, awful accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panorama Chalet Resort
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here and went to reception to get a room! The diving packages seemed really good and great value with the accommodation included so we decided to stay here! BIG MISTAKE! The receptionist was really rude and not helpful at all! Our room was dark dingy and dirty! There were so many bugs flying and crawling in our room and the mosquito net was no good as it was torn! The bathroom if you could call it that was filthy with cold water! We stayed here for 2 nights as we included it in our dive package but we had to leave as it was just awful!
The dive shop was great, the staff were really friendly and welcoming so you felt really at gone and a great atmosphere for meeting and talking with other travellers! Some of the wetsuits have seen better days but you don't really mind as you don't really need a wetsuit as the water is so warm!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank total_ledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 123 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Chalets are filthy and infested with bugs and bed bugs. Horrible place to sleep and you avoid going back until you have to sleep. Would avoid at all costs.
We did the 2 night and 5 dive combo which is excellent value at 395 and the diving was good quality with good equipment and friendly guides but its a shame the accomodation is soooooo bad, after 2 nights we were told the cost per additional night would be 120 which is ridiculous so we moved to Shari La on coral bay which was similar money and so much nicer.
The lady at reception is unable to smile and of no assistance at all.
Basically diving is good, chalets are HORRIBLE !!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Arriving on the island in the evening and given that most hostels do not take any reservations,
we took an AC Room for 4 people paying 250 RMN, which is a considerable amount even on Kecil. To sum up: the place was extremely dirty and stuff was broken all over. Example of Dirty: cobweb just next to my head while lying in bed, so easy to notice and remove for even the laziest of cleaners, dirty floor, chewing gum in the sink, uncleaned toilets with remnants of previous occupiers,... Broken: when using the sink the water just went straight through the drain on to the bathroom floor, one of the two toilets never functioned and the other gave up after a couple of flushings. When we tried to get part of our money back the reception people just completely ignored our complaints saying that we could just check out (it was 22h) if we were not happy. They did send a non-communicative handyman who fixed the sink and one of the toilets in 30 minutes, which made us wonder why they could not have fixed those things BEFORE renting out the room. If I can give you any advice, then it is simply to STAY AWAY. THere is much better accommodation for less or the same price if you go just a little inland, like for example Tropicana Resort rooms (I don't know about their dorm but the new rooms are perfect).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We didn't expect luxury, we know what budget accommodation looks like but despite its location right on the beach and beautiful jungle setting this place is a dump. We stayed in a double air con room with a bathroom which was broken for 3 days until someone finally came to fix it!
We had a balcony..which was lovely until we realised te floor was covered in cigarette butts and empty medicine bottles from the previous guests. There was also a rubbish dump outside our back window.
To top it off we asked the staff for some hot water to make cup noodles, not a strange request when staying in a budget place, and they couldn't have been less helpful.
There are plenty of other places on long beach to stay for the same price that are loads better, shop around first! This is fine..as a last resort!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chlobear84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The position is good, only two steps away from the nice Long Beach, but the hotel really sucks...rooms are dirty, old and...there are mice everywhere! Our friends couldn't sleep in their room, they found a mice nest under the bed...it's unbelievable.Don't stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dariaindub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Nothing really good to say about this place. While the double rooms are cheap (65 myr) and have AC (when the electricity is on) - that is about the only good thing about em. Place is falling apart, beds are uncomfortable, and it's just generally filthy. Oh I forgot the shares toilets - some of the worst I have experienced in my entire life. Pass on this dump and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bg26892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at Panorama Chalet for 3 nights and it was a real nightmare. The place looks nice from outside, few steps away from Long Beach in a very nice location inside the forest. But when you step into, we actually realized the "real value" of the place. Garbage everywhere, old-dirty rooms made of rotten wood, creepy bathrooms and no furniture inside. "The icing on the cake" arrived the first night when we came back to sleep: after we opened the door, a couple of mice were runing inside the room, escaping using one of the few holes on the floor. After a couple of minutes, two more showed up and we decide to look under the bed where we found a real mice nest!! At the end, we counted 12 mice. We were forced to sleep in our friends's room just because it was late and nobody was at the reception. i think this could be enough to let other travellers deciding about their stay or not at this place. Better if you sleep on the beach!

Room Tip: Stay definitely away from this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Kecil
0.0 mi away
Perhentian Tropicana Inn
Perhentian Tropicana Inn
#8 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shari-La Island Resort
Shari-La Island Resort
#5 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ombak Resort Perhentian Island
Ombak Resort Perhentian Island
#4 of 14 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
BuBu Villa
BuBu Villa
#2 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Chalet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Chalet Resort

Address: Long Beach, Pulau Perhentian Kecil 22300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Panorama Chalet Hotel Pulau Perhentian Kecil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing