We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but terrible room”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panorama Chalet Resort
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at this Chalet in Aug for a 3D2N diving trip. The Panorama Chalets are right in the centre of the long beach but all their chalets are located inside near the foot hill. The rooms are not cheap and the receiption may try to charge you the premium rack rates even with advance booking so make sure to print out your email confirmation letter.

This is a backpackers hostel style and even so the rates are not cheap given the accomodation standards. Our chalets are the deluixe with two double beds, ensuite toilet and with air-con. Once we step into the Chalet, it looks totally different to the pictures on their web site. The floor is dirty with only two beds and no other furnitures for simple storage. The floor is broken and seems to colllapse at anytimes so we need to walk very slowly and lightly. There is no proper windows with glasses so once you open the window for day light, it means you are inviting others to come in. We have to close all windows during teh stay for security reason and to ensure no insects to get in. The toilet is very very simple and with very bad maintenance and smell.

The attached restaurant there is over priced in malaysian standards and the service is poor. So we spent most of our dinners outside at the main beach. There is a small local convenience store opp to the dive centre so you can shop all the basic necessities such as water , snacks, local sim card there.

We had our diving in the Panorama dive centre and it was fantastic. The dive sites are very remarkable and with very professional divemasters. We thanks to natalie and Halla to make our diving trip very enjoyable although the equipments there are a bit old!



For divers, i may recommend you to stay at other chalets but to do your diving here. Although, they had offered us with discount as we did our diving here but still the room conditions and rates are disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HKTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 124 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at this resort for 7 nights in august 2012 and we weren't impressed, there is a shop and a restaurant onsite which both have unbelievably rude staff and they are both very expensive.

We had a quad room with air con and a double room with fan, the rooms didn't get cleaned once throughout our stay, there was mosquito larvae growing outside of all of the rooms which can become illegal in Malaysia, I just don't know how this place hasn't been closed down.

I would advice not to eat the beef in the restaurant and they won't tell you about your free meals, we had three free meals which we only knew about because of the internet, they keep the free meals very quiet and the waiting time in the restaurant can be ridiculous, one night we waited 1 and a half hours for the first meal to come out.

They don't supply anything for free, you don't get any toilet paper, you don't get a kettle so you have to buy bottled water, there's also two bars at the front of the resort which blast out music until the early hours of the morning, most nights the live band went on until at least 2am, one night it lasted until 3am, and it is impossible to sleep in your chalet with the band playing as it is just so loud.

Another problem is the grounds which are just covered in sand so whenever you leave and enter your chalet you just drag a load of sand into it.

Overall we enjoyed the island but we really wish we had done some more research on the accommodation and we would definitely not return the Panorama Chalets.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomas1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed in a few places before we were able to get a room in Panorama as it gets booked up. In comparison to the other places we stayed this was the best. Not only was the accommodation good with aircon for 65ringgit, the restaurant was excellent and showed a movie every night. Right next door is Monkey Bar....a must to visit with live music every night and excellent staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Baileysblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We missed the first boat to the Perhentians and so we had to settle for this place. Its location is OK, right in the middle of Long Beach and a short walk away from sea ferries, snorkelling pickup locations and restaurants. We were sold a "chalet" 200m from the beach for RM 90, a ripoff given that the room was extremely basic : a fan, an used mosquito net, a lightbulb and a cranky bathroom whose mat looked like it had been eaten away by rodents.

Power was out most of the morning and late afternoon, but on at night. The surroundings of our bungalow were a bit dirty but OK. No real social atmosphere unless you're a diver.

The staff were unhelpful and indifferent at best with most guests. Because our room would have been ridiculously easy to break into (the window was just a wooden pane and the door lock was a joke), we wanted to store our valuables at reception to enjoy the beach, however for no reason this service closed down at 4.30 pm with no exception (our stuff would have been locked in until the next morning). It was quite inconvenient.

The restaurant area featured a few TVs and pool tables you had to pay for, not up to Asian standards.

I wouldn't recommend staying here, so arrive as early as you can to secure pleasant accomodation

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank assenac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The best part of this place is you can get cheaper accommodation when taking it along with diving packages, fun dives or courses.
Other than that i would say it's a bit expensive for the type of room you might get.
However though, if you pay original price of the room, you get ONE dinner with it, which might cause you to stuck to their restaurant and not able to try other places which is also good. and if you're travelling with a partner, you still need to buy another dinner.

I'm a regular to the island and i never tried this place until this year. it's all because I've read so many bad reviews about it i just had to try and see for myself. I end up staying for 8 days! Well not because of the room is good or what..it's just convenient location wise and i dive with them too.

The staffs might be abit cold because of language barrier, but they're not too bad. Well of course on the island you can't expect room service to clean your bed and change your sheets daily as water is quite scarce. I have no bed bug problem either. Room is quite spacious with a balcony with 2 chairs. A table is provided inside of the room which is light enough to carry outside.

I stayed at room A5 (attached bathroom) which priced at RM85 without diving package. The electricity in this place stopped 2 times in the day, between 8-11am and 4-7pm. I can't say I wouldn't mind it..coz I do..especially when i want to take a quick shower before going to the other side of the island for sunset, it's quite dark in the room as the windows are small.
NO toilet paper or soaps provided for the price you pay. which is quite unreasonable for not providing such basic and cheap things!

I had breakfast at their restaurant and it was alright..their banana pancake has like..5 thinly sliced banana for the price of RM6. They serve coffee with fresh milk and sugar separated, unlike other cafes on the island which serves coffee mixed with condensed milk and i hate that. You must remember to tell the other places to separate the milk and sugar if you don't want to end up with condensed milk!

Their shared bathroom is not to say the cleanest. they also do not provide toilet paper!!
Not really recommended unless you're really2 looking for budget place to stay (i meant their room with shared bath, it's also very basic and small. just a bed with mosquito net and that's all).

The diveshop on the other hand is a totally different experience.
They're very2 nice and friendly and i'm very happy diving with them. Very very good service.
They have free biscuits with free flow of coffee and tea for divers. Hot water and filtered water also available. Free internet for divers usage too. Just a public laptop that you have to share with their staffs and also other divers, (NO WIFI). Next to the dive shop there's a convenience/grocery shop where i always run to buy bottled water and banana from. very2 convenient.

Monkey bar is the nearest bar to this place and they are the most chilled bar on the island. I wouldn't recommend their house live band so much but other than that they're quite awesome.

Room Tip: Check the room condition, water taps and sink condition before agreeing to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We were drawn in by the reasonable diving/lodging combi. First I talked with the 'management' lady from the dive center, who was very busy and did not give me much attention even during our conversation. She basically gave me a short answer and went off to do other stuff. It got worse with the guy at the restaurant desk. We had dinner and were planning to stay the night, and I was trying to figure out what it meant that we got a meal for free. He was quite busy, but it was a simple question. He felt I was very annoying or something and literally told me that he didn't care if we would stay there or not and eventually that we should just go find another hotel to stay.

In sum the staff came over as very arrogant, not caring whether we would stay/dive with them or not. I guess they do good business and have enough customers anyway. But this is not how potential customers should be treated.

I would heavily advise not to stay here!

Eventually we stayed at Senja hotel on Coral Bay: this was a great experience!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank hnib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We arrived to Perhentian Island without any reservation. If you dont plan to stay in a pricey resort this is the only way. They all have the rule - only walk in customers, no reservations. We just knew we want to stay on Long beach, so we got down there and walked around. Panorama Chalets is located in the middle of the Long beach, just next to the Matahari Chalets. It is good place to stay if you plan to dive, because they offer good deals for divers. We got double bed chalet with fan for 85 RM with one free dinner every night. The chalets are older, but they are clean. The whole place is nice and tidy. The electricity is working during exact hours during the day and then the whole night. The shower had just cold water, but it is so hot on the island, that you dont mind. The bed was quite comfortable. The terrace is nice, though you cant really use it, unless you mind the moskytos. The staff was ok. The guy at the reception was the best, he was nice and quite helpfull. The food in the restaurant is same as everywhere, but every evening they show different movie, so it is always full. With one free dinner everyday, we mostly ended up there. In front of the Panorama Chalets is Monkey Bar with happy hour for beer and couple of liquers from 3:30 pm till 10:30 pm. The staff is nice and the atmosphere really chilled out. The beach is nice and the water clean. You can book a snorkelling trip for around 40RM. They take you to 6 places, we managed to see shark, turtle, nemo and a lot of other fishes, so I would say it is worth it. So, if you are planning to enjoy the sun and beach, meet other people, go snorkelling and party almost every night, Long beach and Panorama Chalets are the ideal place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pknet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Kecil
0.4 mi away
Shari-La Island Resort
Shari-La Island Resort
#6 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ombak Resort Perhentian Island
Ombak Resort Perhentian Island
#4 of 14 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
665 reviews
0 mi away
Perhentian Tropicana Inn
Perhentian Tropicana Inn
#8 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
BuBu Villa
BuBu Villa
#2 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Chalet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Chalet Resort

Address: Long Beach, Pulau Perhentian Kecil 22300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Panorama Chalet Hotel Pulau Perhentian Kecil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing