We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking beach, friendly people, the perfect getaway!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bubbles Dive Centre and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I'm not much of a diver myself. Didn't even pull myself to go snorkeling. It was my first time in Perhentian and boy, am I impressed with Bubbles!

People are friendly, decent rooms, AMAZING food (was totally surprised tbh).
And the view, simply breathtaking!

The beach is very well kept. And the best part is since Bubbles was the only resort on that particular part of the island, we basically got the ENTIRE beach to ourselves.
Hammocks everywhere. Which was a plus. Spent whole mornings just laying around with a book, falling in and out of sleep. Simply amazing.

Bubbles is the perfect getaway from all the hustle and bustle of the busy city. No crowds, no crazy parties. Just peace, serenity, and friendly people.

Oh, and they got a great turtle conservation programme as well. Managed to see one up on shore laying its egg on the 2nd night. Real lucky.

Totally recommended! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 306 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived at Bubbles a night early due to having rats in our room in another resort on the island and turned up hoping they would be able to accomodate us, and couldn't believe how much the staff go out of their way to help you. The rooms are very spacious, clean and the open roof shower is awesome. Compared with other places we stayed on the perhentians Bubbles is in a league of its own. The rooms were cleaned daily, and it was great that you can put everything on tab in the restaurant so you don't have to worry about taking money with you whenever you need anything. We also felt incredibly safe leaving things in our room (again very different to other places we stayed on the island!). I would give it 5 stars but the only thing I felt let it down was that the food was so much more expensive, in fact it worked out cheaper to get a water taxi to the other side of the island and have lunch there. Whilst I appreciate that the resort is remote and so may warrant a slightly higher price you can't help but feel that they take advantage of this. Overall though it was an amazing place to stay and I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We had room three which overlooked the jungle area, take a torch though as we came back to see a pyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a1anya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peiseehw, Owner at Bubbles Dive Centre and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, and it is our pleasure to hear about your stay. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We did our open water PADI at Bubbles and stayed on the 4 day/4 night package. Everything exceeded our wildest expectations. The accommodation and facilities were great - I've never had such a clean and tidy room in my life! The food was delicious and there were always loads of options. The staff, both in the restaurant and resort and in the dive shop were, however, far and away the best thing about the place. The atmosphere is extremely relaxed and couldn't be friendlier or more welcoming. After only 4 nights we shed a tear when we left. Such a special place and we'll certainly be going back. A special thank you to Garth, Mike, Dolla and Sharna.

Room Tip: Deluxe double bed was great. There were only two of us but it could certainly sleep three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peiseehw, Owner at Bubbles Dive Centre and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your review and it is always lovely to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our crew are delighted and motivated by your positive feed back. Hope to see you again on our lovely beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

#1 Go to bubbles if you want to stay somewhere beautiful, with friendly people, and in a place where they actually care about trying to sustain this piece of paradise unlike much of the rest of the perhentian islands.

We stayed at bubbles for 8 nights and did not want to leave. We are a family with 2 children (5 and 3) and we all had such a wonderful time.

Ronnie, Peisee, Libby and all the other staff do such a fantastic job at creating the most friendly atmosphere at Bubbles whether you are a family, couple or whoever. It's a small place but has everything you could want.

The dive shop guys were all great, friendly, knowledgeable, welcoming and it's great value to dive. Although the diving is what a lot of people come for, if you are not diving then you'd never feel like the diving impinged in any way on what you wanted to do.

Similarly the turtle conservation project is a really big part of bubbles but if you chose not to be interested in it, then you can just do whatever you want with no worries. You really should look into it though as we had the amazing opportunity to see both a female green turtle lay her eggs one night and another night to see the release of 23 baby turtles into the sea. Amy and Gareth and their volunteers taught us a lot about turtles and their efforts are really fantastic given the extremely steep uphill battle they have to help Malaysia's turtles.

Of course the beach is just perfect and there are excellent rocks to scramble over at either end and a stream leading into the sea to play in especially for the youngest visitors.

Then there is the jungle, with monkeys, lemurs, monitor lizards and the like all around - wow.

And I've not even mentioned the fish yet. Such a plethora of shapes and colours, truly breathtaking. Not to forget the sharks, turtles and stingrays too. Our 5 year old still can't believe he snorkeled with sharks (black tip reef sharks).

And again even our 3 year old was able to see colourful fish by paddling out ankle deep in the water.

The coral reef begins just a few metres off shore. It is not the best reef you will ever see but go out a bit further or to other sites around the island and the colours improve. That said, it's still pretty special and provides for the fish.

The accommodation is not the traditional wooden bungalows along the beach but is instead recently built concrete units grouped together about 50 yards back from the beach. They are pleasant looking, have air con and fan, hot water shower, lots of plug sockets, plenty of water, very clean, fresh linen and towels. Amazing really given where you are. The accommodation is back off the beach so the turtles have the beach to nest on in the evenings and the tree line is left undisturbed to protect the beach itself. Basically it's accommodation to sustain the land rather than possibly more picturesque but short termist huts on the beach.

I could go on and on here about Bubbles but I don't suppose anyone has even read this far!

I came to the Perhentians in 1995 and had been talking about it ever since. Bubbles allowed me to see and experience this wonderful part of the world as I remembered it, not bad given almost 20 years of development. We went to the little island for 2 hours and were horrified at the way it has been ruined. Thank goodness for Bubbles!

Plus, last point, Bubbles is on the furthest round beach on the island and has the whole bay to itself so nobody but the people staying there come by. This keeps it quiet, safe and friendly.

Thanks everyone at Bubbles. We really hope to be back sometime soon.

Simon, Rosalind, Barney and Felix

Room Tip: I think room 6 might have had the best view. You might not want to have the front rooms as there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zoomcat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peiseehw, Manager at Bubbles Dive Centre and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we wish to continue our effort towards the turtles and the environment. Hope that when your kids come back one day and everything still the way they remembered it! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My cousins from Canada visit us in Malaysia, i spent a lot of time looking for a place to stay in Perhentian, a place where they can bring back lots of beautiful memories. I am so glad that i found Bubbles Resort.

They enjoyed the 4 day 3 nights stay, They told their mom, this is the best Malaysia trip they have ever had.

Some people may find the food and accomodation is a bit pricey compare to other places in Perhentian, to me, good memories are priceless. i appreciate the effort of every staff in Bubbles to make my trip a memorable one.

Thank you.

我很慶幸選擇了 Bubbles Resort,它超越了我的預期,給了我們一行十一人一個難忘的假期。包括我來自加拿大的混血表弟倆,直呼這是他們多次的馬來西亞回鄉之旅中,最難忘的一次。我4歲的小外甥女也和老闆娘的同齡孩子們玩得不亦樂乎。

也許有人覺得他們有點小貴,但我覺得美好回憶無價。曾經給家庭成員安排旅行,為了省點小錢而換來後悔的人,應該能體會我的意思。我並不富裕,生活也樸素,但多花這點錢我認為值。

謝謝你們。我們一定會再回來!

Room Tip: Room no 6 is huge, can fit 5 adults. Room 11 and 12 is linked together. 6號房可以住5個大人。 11及12號相通的,相...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SooWei76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peiseehw, Manager at Bubbles Dive Centre and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you very much for such a lovely review, nothing is more satisfying than seeing happy guest, and we are glad that we part of your beautiful memories!
Also thanks so the bilingual review! Hope to see you again! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The resort is understated but beautiful. Food is brilliant and plenty of it! Staff are fantastic and always happy to chat - Libby in particular is amazing. The diving was fantastic with lots of variety including reef sharks and beautiful turtles- the dive centre are very focused on safety which is very reassuring and Wayne our dive master made us feel very safe.
The room was great with comfortable beds, lovely outdoor shower with hot water and cleaned daily. This is not a sandals style resort and all the better for it. We were there for 4 nights and felt totally at home and would go back in a heartbeat. A fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimi79Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Accesible only by boat, this place is ideal if you want some isolation and peace. The beach is very nice, with good snorkelling opportunities close to land. We saw plenty of colorful fish, and a few small sharks as well. On our snorkelling trip we also got to see a few turtles, as well as beautiful corals. Kinda wish we could dive as well, but we're not qualified and didn't have time for a course...

Bubbles' turtle project is really a great bonus, and though we didn't see any turtles coming ashore while we were there, we joined when newly-hatched babies found their way to the ocean one night.

Food was quite good, and while it wasn't the cheapest, the selection was broad enough for us to eat varied through our 4 days at Bubbles. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable.

Another bonus is the animal life surrounding Bubbles. On two days, a group of small monkeys climbed the trees around the resort, and there's also plenty of big monitor lizards around that are pretty cool to watch (they'll shy away when they se you).

Would easily spend time here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stesath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peiseehw, Manager at Bubbles Dive Centre and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us. And we will continue to work hard to make all your holidays enjoyable. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
2.1 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
660 reviews
2.0 mi away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#2 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
1,003 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#8 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
921 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
343 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#3 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bubbles Dive Centre and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bubbles Dive Centre and Resort

Address: Tanjung Tukas, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A eco-friendly, family friendly resort location on it's own beach. Running an Turtle and Reef conservation project on site to spread awareness about the sea turtles and their environment ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bubbles Dive Centre Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing